We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropole
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here 4 nights and it is a good place to stay in the Santa Margherita/Portofino area. Grounds are impeccable and you can swim in the nice pool or they have lounge chairs for rent on the beach. The rooms are very nice and we were lucky enough to have a beautiful water view.The breakfast was a disappointment as I expected something better from a hotel of this stature, mostly pre cooked and packaged items. We chose to walk to Portofino and it is a beautiful walk along the water and flat it is about 4 miles and if your able I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    243
    59
    18
    7
See reviews for
130
388
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were disappointed that our travel agent could not get us into another hotel of our choice but we should not have worried because this hotel has everything we want and more. It's fabulous.
We love our room which has a small balcony overlooking the most fabulous view of the sea the garden and the pool. The maid service is excellent and the rooms are cleaned whilst we are at breakfast every morning. The guests are mature but that may be because it's not holiday time. We are happy with the old fashion style service and the clientele. We have half board and we eat either lunch or dinner here. The meals are good but we want to eat at the local restaurants also.
The pool is great but again we prefer the beach which is lively with all amenities close by. There us a restaurant down at the beach and the attendants at the beach look after your every need.
We will return here as often as we can despite the fact we travelled by train from Rome to get here. Suggest flying into Milan.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

For the last 14 years my husband and I have been going every year to Santa Margherita from Australia. Sometimes there are the two of us and sometimes we go with my family and the nieces. The hotel gives us the same rooms every year and we just love it. It has become our home away from home. We feel we are treated a little like extended family and often when you go back to a place you are a little disappointed but every time we come back we are more excited to be there. Now I am back in Melbourne I dream about the breakfasts - the yummy croissant with jam and the great cappuccino with full rich crema and that spectacular view from the balcony. When we first started going the kids would complain can't we go somewhere else, but now they ask us when are we going back. There favourite thing is swimming out to the platform in the water. To show how fantastic the hotel is I believe the staff have mostly been there for as long as we have been going and that says a lot. S. Ciana and staff thank you for the amazing few days we just spent at your hotel and we look forward to next year. I forgot to mention the stunning gardens down to the water.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susannahMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of our Italian sojourn to rest and relax. It was a good choice for us. The hotel itself is just down the street from the train station which made it very convenient, as we arrived from Milano by train. The hotel is comprised of several buildings. We stayed in the main hotel building, which had the reception desk, restaurant and overlooked the swimming pool. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a view of the pool, gardens and the sea in the distance. Rooms facing the pool or sea are quieter, as the main road in and out of town runs in front of the hotel. With our double glazed french doors closed, we could not hear anything. However, with them open, we could hear some traffic, though much less than if we had been on the front side. The rooms themselves are not huge, but of a good size. The floors are hardwood and the furniture is blonde or honey wood, as are all the doors and trim. The bathroom was of a good size, with black marble floors and the tub/shower combination had a carrera marble tile surround. The hotel's breakfast buffet was large, with dozens of items of every kind, from delicious fresh fruit, lots of cereal to choose from, as well as breads, pastries, juices, eggs (scrambled and hard boiled,) pears-in-wine sauce, baked apples, stewed prunes and whatever coffee or tea you might want. The setting was either inside, in a lovely dining room or out on the main terrace with a large awning, on days when rain wasn't threatening. All the hotel's personnel, from the front desk staff, to the pool boy, were gracious and helpful. Luigi, in particular was always pleasant, attentive, and professional at breakfast and at the lovely bar, in the evening. Our only complaint was that the Wi-Fi reception in our room and out on the terrace, wasn't strong. Sometimes it worked well, but most times, it was maddeningly slow. If management 'fixes' the Wi-Fi, this then would be an almost perfect place to spend time at on the Italian Riviera.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David49b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in what was called a "garden sea-front" room which overlooked the hotel's in-ground pool & gardens and out over the water

The room was of a good size with a small balcony having 2 fold-up chairs and a small lift up table top. Within the room was a very large wardrobe with loads of hanging space. I was surprised by the number of power point outlets in the room itself, I counted 7 of them! The bathroom was very good, plenty of hot water with good pressure for showering.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful in advising how to to get around with train, bus & ferry timetables.Breakfast each morning was out on the terrace with a wide selection of choices and good coffee!

From the hotel it was a short 5-10 walk down into the main section of Santa Margherita to catch ferries and find restaurants. The hotel is extremely well located to the train station, simply cross over the road, turn the corner and walk up the road for 5 minutes and its there.

If self-driving to the hotel parking is available in the forecourt for 14 Euros a day. We did not have a rental car for the time we were there in Santa Marhgerita as we had mainly planned to travel around using ferries and use the train. to get to nearby Portofino on the ferry took about 15 minutes. On leaving the hotel we picked up a rental car in nearby Rapallo.

All in all a very enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: We had requested a room away from the elevator which the hotel was able to honor on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

While I would rate this old world hotel very good with white coated waiters, the proximity of neighborhood barking dogs early in the morning, into the day and night detracts from the experience. A picturesque balcony and the smell of flowered terraces cannot make up for the traffic you here from your balcony that faces the sea but is adjacent to the main road leading in and out of this city. Motorcycles, buses, and those dogs all detract from the experience.
It is no wonder why they have installed 2 sets of floor to ceiling double doors to keep out the noise, and they do.
Next time we' ll return to Portofino, just up the road but so much more quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have a family holiday most years at santa margherita, and always stay at the Metropole. It's right in town, close to the station, on the water. Rooms are a good size, clean and some have new bathrooms. Breakfast includes prosecco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Property: Metropole
Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing