We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible all around”
Review of Park Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Overpriced, very old, air conditioning broken in BOTH of our rooms, Lucia and others at front desk extremely rude. Pool is salt water and very dirty. Hotel is very old and outdated. Especially bad for kids. Terrible all around, can't believe I paid 250 euro per night/per room at this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great location and lovely sea views. However, it also had the most rude, unhelpful reception staff we have ever encountered. In addition, breakfast times was supposed to be until 10.30, on 2 occasions when we came for breakfast at 10.15, much of the food had been put away and it was not taken out again. No evidence of any manager/manageress around to whom we could complain. We will never stay again or recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel would have been 4 star when built in the 1950's. Rooms haven't been touched since then.
Clean and great view from our room.
Hot water sometimes very hot (with no cold available) or cold (with no hot avail) and a shower curtain that was trying to attack you.
Wireless Internet only available in lobby and need a new password each time you want to use (their system for providing this password didn't work for 50% of our stay)
Friendly enough staff but no tourist info avail.
Santa Margehita a beautiful location to visit but will never stay or recommend the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelD05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Originally booked and suggested to friends and relatives for its supposed quietness (12 rooms+) all wedding guests. Does not deserve 4 stars rating. Experienced great confusion with reception with similar guest surnames but different (provided) initials. This had to be asked to be rectified several times. Several guests experienced after midnight loud noise which was only rectified after direct and personal interventions of three guests.

Room Tip: In this time of crisis, this "4 stars" hotel offers "family" Rooms on 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaGr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I am Italian (living in London) and feel sorry for my country as we don't do any good to ourselves rating hotels as we currently do. I have been in Park Hotel Suisse last week end (14 April 2012) and my experience has been poor. The hotel was built up in the '60s/'70s and I guess nothing has changes since then: very old infrastructure and furnishing, small and old rooms, very poor bathrooms with no water pressure. Nothing has changed since Woodstock in the hotel. While bed linen were clean and the overall hotel was clean, it is not a comfortable place to stay. I must say that it is well positioned and the parking (costing 15 euros per night) is quite comfortable in a town where there's no parking. We paid only 74 euros (or 61 pounds) per night and that was cheap for the location. Breakfast was poor but ok quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Two of my friends and I decided to go to Italy because one of my friends wanted to visit his grandma who was in the hospital :(. We wanted to go to support him and to have a nice change of environment for the weekend. We saw this "4 star" hotel online and thought it was a good choice since it was right near the small town center and it was a good price.

We arrived at 10:30 PM only to be greeted by a receptionist who had the personality of a zombie. She was very monotone and had no personality. We went up to our rooms and found that they were outdated and dirty. The walls have marks, there was no conditioner, and the ELECTRICITY DIDN'T WORK. I mean come on, I want to relax and go to sleep! We went down to reception and told the zombie receptionist that the power didn't work, and she acted like she didn't care. She strolled over to the maintenance room and called the a man into our room so he could fix the power. After 15 minutes he managed to fix the power, but only to have it fail 10 seconds after he walked out of our room. The beds are mediocre because they are made of cheap fabrics and have no comforting appeal at all.

The next morning we went down to the breakfast and they had an average selection of food. It was rather cheap and oily. After we went out for the afternoon and explored the town and had a nice lunch. I love the small town of Santa Margherita though!

For those of you who want to have a nice little weekend in this small town, I STRONGLY advise you not to come this hotel! It is has a cold, eerie feeling at night as though someone is always watching you and the staff makes it even worse because they aren't attentive.

Room Tip: Just dont come here if you want a good experience and a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel the last weekend in November. Our room was very large and easily accommodated our family of four. The bathroom was good size and everything was clean. We had a beautiful view of the bay from our room. My kids loved that the pool was heated so they could swim even in November. My only complaint was that there was an extra charge for parking and finding a spot and getting in and out were difficult. Otherwise great stay. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoutredtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#5 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#9 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#13 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse

Address: Via Favale 31, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range: £111 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing