We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was enough !!!”
Review of Park Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Suisse
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night was enough !!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed here on Boxing night 2013 as we were visiting PORTOFINO and staying in cannes, this hotel came up as a really good over night deal. On arrival we were in informed the restaurant was closed ,which was annoying as I had previously emailed them as knowing it was Boxing day and they told me it would be open, but hey we found some nice restaurants in the town which is only a 5 min walk. The room I have to say was really nice, refurbed and very clean, how ever as others have reported the walls are paper thin and you can here all sorts of noises, the tv has about 300 channels yet not one in English, when I asked the jobs worth on reception she insisted there was one, but hey I never found it. Be aware of the parking fee of 15 euro , just to park outside !!!!! ( in cannes I paid 3 euro a night for secure under ground parking with music playing) What more can I say, stunning area, fabulous coast line, will I stay again ,,,,,I don't thin so...once was enough!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane_churcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    101
    96
    102
    84
See reviews for
105
150
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
352 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is in the center of town and there are big signposts that lead you to it from the main road

My room was in a very new extension and was nice and bright. There was a large desk, small flat screen TV, large bed and a nice clean bathroom with a tub. Nice design everywhere.

Free WiFi internet did not work well in my room or not at all but according to staff this had to do with the rain. (?) There was one PC in the lobby which worked off and on with internet (slow) but failed all together at the last stage of a booking that I was making. One frustrating hour lost.

The breakfast buffet was OK with lots of sweet stuff (pies, pastries, etc), some ham and cheese, etc. The breakfast area is large with nice views from above over the town when you are close to the large windows.

The hotel has a number of very large function rooms and a nice big pool on the second floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

super hotel, loved the view over the bay. Ultra modern, renovated room - very clean & large! ask for #118. The breakfast was great, lots of choices & spotless linens on the table, real silverware! We enjoyed the heated pool (seawater) even though it was late Oct.
Walk to everything in town & over to Portofino. Lots more to see in Santa Margharita, stay here instead of Portofino.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a renovated room, very retro - ultra modern! Our room #118 was on the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our room was large and appeared to have new fittings. Every bit was perfectly clean. Even the bathroom was roomy. It was on the first floor above the breakfast terrace, which was a little loud on one morning. The breakfast terrace offered an amazing view, and their breakfast offering was delicious! It is worth it to get the room + breakfast. They also have a heated salt water pool. The location was perfect - very close to the marina/bay with a short walk of two blocks - but still quieter since it isn't directly on the main street through town and it is uphill a bit. They even have free parking, much appreciated! It's about a 10 minute walk along the bay to get to the ferry location if you are headed to Portofino. The only complaint we had was that their wifi didn't work for any of our devices, which was inconvenient. Otherwise, very happy with this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the first floor for a better view and to avoid any noise from chairs on the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenOC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Located in the center of the village of Santa Margherita you get a nice view on the mediterranean if your room is above the 3rd floor. The hotel has impressive common areas and lobby, a clear remembrance of a glorious past. The room is refurbished and well furnished, but with a dripping toilet and bedlights not functioning. No signs of apology when this was mentioned to the receptionist. Walls are so thin that you can hear the people in the other room speak even at a very low volume. Breakfast is by the pool but could be much better, I asked for an espresso and was directed to the automatic coffee machine. The pool is nice and worm and they ask you for a 20€ deposit for towels !! The lady at the reception was not welcoming at all and the only question she asked was for 15€ for the private parking in the hotel. when I complained it was too much for a motorcycle she scolede me because I had not mentioned I was on a motorcycle (dressed in leather and with a helmet in my hands) and reduced it to 8€ (open air parking). Definitly does not justify the over 200€ per night "special".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxvese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels

Eraldo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Booked one night at this place after 30 years I wasn't visiting the lovely coastal village.
They gave us a room straight out of the Overlook Hotel of Stanley Kubrik's Shining. The whole place is permeated by '50s atmosphere and quite run down to be honest. The bathroom was renovated but super small. Room large with a balcony facing the sea. The public areas are a perfect location for a ghost horror film, empty marbled rooms, a piano expected any moment to play by itself, nobody around. No minibar...no minibar in a four star. I asked to the reception and she answered "no room has minibar in this hotel but you can buy water here".
Breakfast was decent, breakfast room again another movie location for a Japanese horror story.
Our room walls had some humidity problems with paint peeling and such.
All the above for a mere 200 usd. A four star without minibar, ghosts, lost walls and mould. In a word. Avoid. At any cost.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Eraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Whilst this hotel was ok , it was only because we were given a standard room which happened to be on the floor that was renovated level 1 only. We were shown other rooms facing the sea as per Internet photos but they were absolute dives and in serious need of renovation , they stunk of mould and mildew and the hotel want to charge an extra €20 per night to HUh upgrade!
No Internet in any rooms and only available in public hallways close to stairwell.
If you can't connect do not expect any assistance from reception as they were not interested. The only way to connect is to open google italy and it will redirect you tho there server home page.i figure this out on my own.
Back to the rooms no iron or ironing board available so if you have wrinkled clothes bad luck they don't care they want you to utilize their full laundry service as ironing is not available on its own.
TV well unless you speak italian bad luck not one single channel in English , obviously none from any English speaking country visits this hotel.
No tea, coffee facilities no kettle so bad luck if you want a cuppa.
Mini bar is locked and anytime you access it it automatically charges your room for items. You have no access to a mini fridge if you want to buy some water or a drink and keep it cool. Too bad if you have medication that requires a fridge. When asked at reception I was told no to all of the above . Obviously not a very accommodating hotel at all. Not the friendly service we were told on other reviews. Would I stay here again . NO!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#12 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Suisse

Property: Park Hotel Suisse
Address: Via Favale 31, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Park Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing