We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Helios
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

As everyone has said, this hotel is the only one with a private beach in Santa Margherita Ligure, and has a lovely sea-water swimming pool as well. We didn't use these as the weather was too cool. But the view from this hotel is amazing, of the whole harbour of SML curving around. We had an excellent room with sea view, balcony, fridge for storing food rather than for mini-bar which is excellent, and there was a parking spot in the garage under the hotel (limited number, must be reserved in advance). Breakfast was very good, cappuccino or other hot drinks made to order and an excellent selection of food. On the last day it was warm enough to sit on the terrace for breakfast and that was wonderful. Monica in reception was so kind and friendly and helpful in every way--drawing maps, and explaining everything about how to get to Portofino, San Fruttuoso etc. The only flaw was that the hot water in our room was not quite hot enough and the pressure was poor. However, we liked the hotel so much otherwise, we didn't say anything until check-out when we mentioned it just to let them know. I think if we'd said something earlier an effort would have been made to fix this. Anyway, this is a lovely place to stay, and as has been said, has that personal touch that you don't find in most of the chains.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zita940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    54
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel location is the best in the town. It is the only one hotel with the private beach in S-Margherita. The second "plus" is the swimmig pool with sea water. The hotel has the garrage . But the standart double room was very small for the familly ( 2 adult+ 7year-old child) aprox. 15 sq.m. including the toilette and therefore much expensive. The restaurant in the evening is quite good, but you need to make the reservation and in the town you can eat better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kensington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel room was spacious and light, the air-conditioning worked well, the large buffet breakfast was amazing and the dining room overlooked the sea and the pool area which was simply glorious. Big fluffy beach towels provided that are lovely and soft.

The only very slight flaw in an otherwise perfect stay was that the best located sun-loungers were reserved for 'Beach Club' members only.

Room Tip: Poolside are definately the best rooms as they have far reaching views over the sea. First floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheParamountHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just finished a 5 night stay at Hotel Helios and our experience was incredible. We have stayed in different hotels around the world, but always prefer to stay someplace with more local character rather than a large sterile chain type hotel. The personalized service we received from the hotel couldn't be beat. The Helios is in a perfect location in Santa Margherita and very convenient to surrounding areas. It's located a very short walk from the ferry, bus stop and train station (which allowed us easy access to the Cinque Terra). The hotel owner Monica, was more than happy to help with directions and provided us the train information that we needed to make our journey just a few stops down the coast.

Our rooms were well-appointed and very clean. I used wifi in the room with no problem and there were many channels on the TV (which I barely turned on, too much to do outside of the room!). They offer a small refrigerator inside the room so that you are able to store some beverages and snacks to keep cold. We purchased some local cheese and meats from the market to take with us on our day trips. Some afternoons we enjoyed lounging at the wonderful salt water pool and enjoyed the Mediterranean sun with a spectacular view.

The staff at the Hotel Helios is what made our trip so special. They were always helpful and available for whatever questions we had and Mario made a great cappuccino every morning for us while we planned our our day. We also tried the hotel restaurant one evening and we were delighted at how fresh and well-prepared the seafood dishes are. The calamari/octopus salad is a must-try, it's the freshest and most tender that I've had on the coast in Italy or France. And Roberto makes the best fresh peach bellini!

We definitely made the right choice with Hotel Helios and hope that someday we are able to come back again. Thank your or a wonderful stay!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EKWContrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent the first night in Santa Margherita at another hotel, but decided to go for Helios after a night walk along the beach which included a restaurant stop at Helios. The food was delicious, and the location was super - you can just dive into the Mediterranean from the hotel sun beds, or enjoy their outdoor swimming pool. We even got a room with a huge terrace from which we had a great ocean view. The rooms could use some renovation soon, however they were more than good enough for us. The price was a bit higher than the average, but you get what you pay for. I would definitely try this hotel if I visit Santa Margherita again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_vardv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

An excellent hotel with receptionists who really wanted to help. Our room on the second floor was delightful and although the bathroom could have been larger it didn't spoil our enjoyment overall. We were quite happy with our sunbeds by the pool, but could understand the few reviewers who were disappointed not being able to get the beds near the sea!The situation in Santa Margherita is very good and we would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a boutique hotel. Being so close to the station is a plus and the boat station is very handy. Breakfast was adequate, but there could have been a better selection of fruit. A good restaurant in the area is 48 Agnolo? in via Palestro..We look forward to returning to Santa Margherita.- a delightful area - and this hotel...

Room Tip: Front sea view with balcony should be the aim. By the road rooms we understand are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We really enjoyed a few days at this hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and it has a comfortable family type ambience. Food excellent, from breakfast to lunch to dinner at seafood restaurant. Comfortable and would go back any time.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - our daughter was street side and it was noisy with no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Property: Hotel Helios
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing