We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Helios
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“What a wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

A quiet location, but within easy reach of the center. A masterclass in how a hotel should be run. The room was elegant and stuff could not have been more charming or helpful. They have the most wonderful pool and totally free of charge for the hotel guest.
Grazie mille for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    54
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

It is a small hotel with a wonderful location - not sure how many rooms - maybe 28? We were there with two other couples a month ago and everyone loved staying there. The pool area is out standing. All front desk personnel whom we had come across were kind, helpful and speaks very good English. Nice breakfast with fresh watermelon. Great Stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel Helios is a beautiful hotel with a terrific location! Stunning views from our room, the breakfast area, the terrace outside the lounge and pool area. The staff is professional and very
helpful! Great location from the train station as well as to walk beautiful Santa Margherita. Great restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Guest rooms and public areas are clean and pleasant. Certainly I want to return! (no fitness center rating because I did not stop in to have a look) Fantastic swimming pool with many lounge chairs. The bathrooms are well stocked with amenities. There were three of us and we always had plenty of towels, shampoo, soap etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHelios, Direttore at Hotel Helios, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your great review, we are so glad when our clients leave the hotel satisfied and happy, all of this help us to continue our job to make the client's stay enjoyable with us.
Many thanks from all the staff
Kindly

Emanuele Giraudini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Their is nothing bad to say about Hotel Helios. It is clean and the staff are lovely and with a fab location you can't go wrong. Try and get a room with a sea view if you can. The bar is daylight robbery but nothing in this area is cheap.

I will stay again without question.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank itsfredlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We loved this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the budget allowed. It is well worth the extra money to stay on the seaside. The views are stunning and expansive - you look straight out to sea and see all the boats and ships coming in.

The main road is behind the hotel so rooms on this side may be noisy.

It is a boutique hotel with 20 rooms in total on three floors. The rooms on the top floor have a small balcony. The rooms one floor down on the first floor have huge balconies as big as the rooms themselves. The larger balconies even have loungers.

The rooms are a reasonable size with high stud and grandly decorated. The bed which was quite firm comprised two singles pushed together with separate duvets.The rooms have flat screen TVs and empty mini fridges but no tea or coffee maker.

A small negative was that the bathrooms are tiny and the shub (half sized bath with shower over) is so small it is difficult to stand in. Fluffy towels and a good range of toiletries were provided.

The hotel has a number of different restaurant and bar areas. We had drinks sitting on the terrace outside the bar one night. We didn't eat at the main restaurant but it looked very nice. We had a very pleasant lunch by the poolside. Hotel breakfasts were served in a room with lovely sea views - a good buffet selection - no hot items although there were hard boiled eggs. Loved the Villeroy and Boch china.

The pool was fantastic - salt water and huge with infinity edge appearing to flow into the sea. I didn't mind at all that seating was restricted. How could a boutique hotel of this size maintain a pool and gym complex like this without the financial support of the health club who have the other seats. There was even a warm jaccuzi to warm up in after your swim.

All the staff were lovely and gave us wonderful help and advice. They even allowed us a late check out as there was no one booked into our room the day we left.

Room Tip: Seaside room on first floor(not ground or second floor) for huge balcony and stunning sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAUSA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The pluses to this hotel are the pool, the spacious balcony, the glorious buffet breakfast overlooking the sea, the location by the ferry, and the garage, if needed.
The negative is the bathroom, outdated and small, with treacherous bathtubs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they have tables and chaises lounges
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanCYardleyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times, and it's always excellent.
First off, the location is incredible, especially if you have your room with a seaview. This is the only hotel in St. Margherita with a private beach. You wake up to the mediterranian waves and the amazinf atmosphere of Liguria. The busstop with busses to nearby cities is just 100 meters from the hotel and the train station is a stairway away.
The hotel is really near to the city center of St. Margherita, but not too close for it to be a disturbance. The ferries to Portofino are right next to the busstop.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and are happy to give you directions or tips for your stay. The hotel is small enough for them to remember their guest and the atmosphere in the hotel is great.
The pool and poolside area is nice and clean. You can swim in the pool or also in the mediterranian if you like. There is also a small jacuzzi and an outside gym.
The rooms are small, but not too small. They are cosy and the beds are comfortable. The balconies are quite big and, as mentioned before, have a stunning view.
I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in St. Margherita.

Room Tip: Rooms with a seaview are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotta1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Property: Hotel Helios
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing