We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second home in Santa Margherita”
Review of Hotel Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Helios
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“second home in Santa Margherita”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we stayed 6 nights, we felt like at home.. Reception has two Monica, they helped us on everything. Hotel is the only one hotel with beach at seaside. You don't need to pass the street. Only 5 minute walking way to best restaurant and coffee shops.Im sure that ım going back to Helios. All services were great. They really so warm, helpful and kind. Thanks for this great hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank didakocaomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    55
    23
    14
    13
See reviews for
31
89
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Courmayeur, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We caught up with some friends from Fort Lauderdale who were visiting Liguria. The staff was more than helpful and Monica 1 and Monica 2 are great to accomodate and help. The pool area is superb. The restaurant recommendation to Angolo 48 worked out well. The proximity of the train station made it easy to visit Cinqueterre and Genova without having to take the car. Breakfast is typically Ligurian/Italian and just what we are used to at home in Italy. All in all a great stay with a superb staff.

Room Tip: Beach front Suite is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpineHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Reasonable value hotel very close to railway station and right on the beach. Great pool and ocean position. Two Monica's on reception were excellent ambassadors for hotel. Room on level one overlooking beach had great aspect. Continental breakfast was adequate. Bathroom was somewhat small with tiny shower but had good bathroom amenities. Room and balcony needed to be a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were really friendly and the two Monica's on reception were so helpful and welcoming. The hotel was in an ideal location with the train station, bus stop and pier for catching boats all within a few minutes walk. We loved the sunbathing area and had a huge terrace off our first floor bedroom. The bathroom was very small as was the bath but we got used to it. Our only gripe was that the bed was very hard and uncomfortable other than that we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have the best terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of May. Two ladies 60 plus.
As mentioned before the two Monica's we're amazing as we're the rest of the staff.
We had already experienced the extreme helpfulness of Monica one on the phone,because we booked direct with the hotel.
Wonderful wonderful views,excellent location not to far from town and the ferries.
Breakfast was a lovely continental assortment , if you want you can request fried eggs, at a small charge. Buck's Fizz is also available. No complaints here.
There have been complaints about the size of the baths, well, the one we had was a half bath,so you just work it for how it is best for you. Stand up sit down whatever is best. If you have big feet like me ( size 8 ) then one foot in the well and one on the seat works. Ha ha.
Cannot comment on the food available from the bar , we did not sample this but what we saw looked very good. At this time of year the hotel was quiet during the week but very busy at the weekend. As was Santa Margherita.
The pools were amazing .
Room tip If you can,get a room with the large terrace,worth every penny. Two sun loungers and a table and chairs,and a parasol. Views over the bay and the harbour

Room Tip: One with a large balcony worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stringy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

While the view is superb, the room is small yet comfortable for the sea view room with large veranda. The bathroom is small and the shower a bit confing. The biggest dissapointment came on our last night when we had reserved in the restaurant we thought was associated with the hotel. The menu is only served for 2 persons for all and family style neither of which is written anywhere and you cannot charge your room (even though you enter from the hotel and breakfast is served there). The Patron and staff our nice and friendly. It was only 2nights but for over $700 one expects certain ammenties. The food in the hotel also has no contorni on the menu yet none not even a bit of parsley is served.We did receive a nice welcome of 2 glasses of proseco and a small dish of chips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Perfect location for the train station (even with luggage) and Santa Margherita totally at your disposal.
The 2 Monica's at the front desk were amazing! They were really helpful and so friendly.
We were upgraded to a room with a bigger balcony as it was low season and also our honeymoon (which was really sweet). The room was fine- really old traditional beachside Italian (weird things like bow-ties above all the framed pictures?!?!) the bathroom was so ridiculously small, it wasn't possible to dry yourself without your towel going in the toilet and the shower over the bath was actually a bit scary to use (the bath was the size of a laundry tub).
One of the Monica's suggested we have breakfast in our room each morning (not sure if this just suited them because it wasn't busy enough, but it actually really suited us) the breakfast man brought us trays every morning- he was such a delight, making sure we had everything we needed. We then took it out on the balcony and enjoyed the awesome view!
The room was always very clean, the housekeepers were lovely too!
We did have a lovely stay- great location, great staff- if you're not fussed about your room it's perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cus2merservicequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Palace Hotel
Lido Palace Hotel
#11 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Regina Elena
Best Western Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helios

Property: Hotel Helios
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 6, 16038, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing