We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Vela Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Laurin(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Metropole(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
US$475
US$429
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$259
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Continental(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$382
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Imperiale Palace Hotel(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$355
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$694
US$664
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Miramare(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$737
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Blu di Te(Santa Margherita Ligure)
US$391
US$372
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Regina Elena(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
US$327
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Minerva(Santa Margherita Ligure)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
51
86
35
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
86
35
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadequate breakfastsmall hotelhilltownbayportofinofurnitureacsea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I spent one night at the La Vella Hotel and it was lovely. The room was huge, the bathroom clean and the breakfast was fine. The driveway was terrifying, but fortunately I wasn't driving! The view is amazing, especially from the roof. It was an easy 10 minute walk into town, which is very pretty and has a big variety of restaurants. Best of all, we stayed in a castle!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Amazing town. We absolutely loved it! We rented a scooter and explored all around. Such fun and great mix of nightlife and restaurants. Beach is ok, not very nice, but way more active and fun then Portofino.
Must go to Stella Restaurant at the top of the mountain. Nicest staff and BEST meal. Would definitely go back to Santa Margherita soon, but would prefer to stay in town. La Vela is up on hill and about 15 minute walk (and up hill!) from town. Rooms were quite old fashioned, clean, but not that nice. Requested ocean view room and did not get it. Great views from hotel, but would still prefer downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Hotel is located in the hills above the town. Driveway to hotel is steep and winding and parking is minimal-probably 4-5 cars so may have to double park. We stayed in "annex" part of the hotel with no air conditioning but didn't need though it was in July. We opened the windows and let evening breeze in. Rustic furnishings and decor but that is what makes this hotel unique. Bed comfortable and room was quiet even with window open. Breakfast was great and staff friendly and helpful though not all spoke English well. View from roof deck was spectacular at night with plenty of seating. It's a 10 minute walk to train station and center of town. Stayed here two nights since we visited Cinque Terre by train one day. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: A room in annex part of hotel may be quieter than in the main part of hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2oil6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a large room with an ocean view. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but not very modern (part of the style of the hotel) and the toiletries were very basic. The bed was comfortable with very firm pillows and the room had air conditioning, but it was not super strong. The hotel had free wi-fi, but it only worked in the lobby, which was not an issue for me. There was a free breakfast buffet every morning from 8-10am and the food was average. In terms of the location, it is an uphill walk from the center of town (up some steps), which we enjoyed very much. We had to take a cab with our luggage from the train station, which was 15 euros (for less than 5 minutes). Cabs are very expensive in the Riviera. Lastly, the front desk staff was not super friendly.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

La Vela lies outside the main tourist zone, about a ten minute walk uphill and stairs. We kind of enjoyed this, but it is not for everyone.

The hotel has marvelous views, a lovely breakfast room with great views, a nice lobby (where you will spend time if you want wifi.)

There is a "solar terrace" on the roof with great views. Could be wonderful but nothing has been done to it except for a few hard plastic lounge chairs. Very uninviting!

The staff are not friendly.

In general, the place projects a "take it or leave it" attitude. But since we booked late, we were happy to get it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews