We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”
Review of Hotel Calypso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Calypso
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at this delightful hotel in September for 3 nights and we were so happy with our room, spotlessly clean and spacious and the bathroom was very large. Great location a few minutes walk to the beach and easy walking distance from the train station. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is served in a pleasant room with the usual variety. The markets are on almost right outside the hotel on a Sunday and there are a huge amount of stalls. I would definitely recommend this hotel in beautiful Ventimiglia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno89, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Ventimiglia and look forward to hosting you again the next time you're in the area.
We appreciate your kind comments,
HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
67
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Fantastic location, near the station and just down the road from the beach. Lovely, clean room and shared bathroom, but that was no problem. Friendly staff at the reception, for the price I think this is a great deal. Ventimiglia surprised me, although it is not a touristy place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of an interrailing holiday round Europe. The hotel was in a nice street, about a 3 minute walk to the beach. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was suffice (croissants, spreads, coffee, juice). We had one of the twin rooms with a shared bathroom - both were spotlessly clean. The room was very basic and the beds looked a little like army camp beds, which my husband and I found hilarious! All in all a decent place to stay for a couple of nights. Whilst we were there a heatwave hit Europe and there was no air-con in the room. This was its biggest downfall for us. We had nowhere to escape from the relentless heat. The cafe bars along the beach also do not have air-con. If I was staying in Ventimiglia again I would probably try to find a hotel with air-con but that might just be because we are from Scotland and can't handle the heat!!

Ventimiglia itself is also very basic. A few streets with old-fashioned shops and some nice cafe/bars. The main street along the beach is filled with restaurants. We ate at the same on both nights. I can't remember its name but if you are standing with your back to the sea, it is the one on the furthest left corner (this is the street you would walk up to get to the Calypso). The lady who owned the place was lovely and she made fantastic lasagne and a tasty octopus salad!

The beach is not a sandy one, lots of tiny stones, a bit like Brighton.

Room Tip: Maybe check if your room has air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H00dz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno89, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It's a pity the heat wave came at such an inopportune time; we'd be happy to show you our accommodation options including our air-conditioned rooms the next time you find yourself in Ventimiglia.
HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We arrived late at night and found the hotel from the train station with little difficulty. When we arrived we checked in and asked about train times to Pisa, the receptionist was unbelievably helpful and knew the train times. We had to leave very early, so she had made a packed breakfast for us to eat. The room itself was light and cool with a lovely balcony. It was very clean, the bathroom facilities were amazing. Although we only stayed for one night the location was perfect, close to the train station and very close to the beach (shamefully we could not check it out though) . I cannot fault anything about the hotel, the staff were fantastic, the location was brilliant and the room was lovely. Overall, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno89, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for your exquisite review, we are pleased to hear we had the honor to be the first ones to host you in our beautiful country. We try to do our best day by day to provide our customers the perfect stay and it's assuring to receive comments such as yours.
We definitely hope to welcome you again if passing by our Riviera.
HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This off-the-itinerary stay was necessitated by last-minute train changes. I booked easily on line. and wondered what my first night ever in Italy would provide. Bliss! After a short zig-zag walk from the train station, from the front door, I could see the Mediterranena one block away, just past a lush park. Warm front desk welcome despite my limited Italian, a beautiful room with hardwood floors and view of the sun setting over the mountains. I could sit on the balcony and soak it in. Sparkling well-appointed bath, bidet included. My entire suite so clean you could eat off the floor. The manager recommended a lovely place for dinner. The next morning, I found a generous buffet breakfast and the best coffee I've ever had. Many fruits, breads, cheeses, cereals, yogurt...excellent start for a day, except I didn't want to leave! I'll be back, for sure.

Room Tip: Lovely sunset views from back rooms; light streams into the bath, as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We are just about to leave this hotel, when we first arrived I was horrified to find there was no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan. This I thought would be horrible as the weather was warm to hot. I was very wrong. Our room had opening french doors with a roller shutter that allowed opening slots for air flow, so we had the doors open and the shutter down with the slots open for privacy plus the fan going. Not a problem at one point we got cold and had to close the doors.
This hotel is clean, well maintained and the hosts are very good at their jobs. They provide a very good breakfast, It is a short walk to the foreshore and a short walk to the rail station which will take you anywhere along the coast in France. It also has a garage which is handy if you pick up a hire car or are traveling with a car. All up this hotel is good value.

Room Tip: Want to go to Monaco with no hassles, stay at this hotel and take the train into Monaco, it is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Me and My wife have visited Ventimiglia for jus on night in July 2012. I was on crutches at that time and had a hard time grabing a cab to go to the Trains station right after checking-out. The owner saw our hurry and bad time and physical conditions and didn't even cared to call a cab for us, once he had a few contacts. And also, we booked it for being so close to the trains statios, as the website said, but no way it was only 50 meters. If we weren't with any physical issues, no problem at all, but we hope this information is corrected for people who count on a short walk distance. One other thing is that There was no Bellman at late night to carry our heavy bags to the 1st floor. My wife had to do it once I wasn't able to, but we knew there was one set of stairs when we booked. However, the breakfast was really good as we felt cosy and conforted with good options of food. On the Beach street, following down the hotel street and taking the left, after passing a bar, there's a small pizzeria/trattoria with 3 old ladies that were fabulous. The food was great and they went all the way to the hotel helping me carryong the take-out food. The pasta was incredible and this experience with the proprieter made Ventimiglia be not only a one-night stop, but a good one-shotplace to be. Being so close to Cote d'azur is also a good point.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osodrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno89, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Calypso, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Osldrac,
Thank you for having chosen the Hotel Calypso. We are really sorry to hear that when you've visited us, you've been stressed and with bad physical conditions. Of course we always try to do the best for our clients: if you just had asked to the reception to call a taxi, we would have done it with pleasure. Calling a taxi is one of the many things we do everyday, but unfortunately sometimes we got a lot of work and we can't catch our customers' thoughts, if they don't help us explaining their needs.
We are also sorry about the wrong indication you've found, but on our official website it's not written anywhere we are close just 50 meters to the city's train station. Maybe you've found this imprecision on an other website which we'll try to find and proceed to change it.
However we are glad you've enjoyed your stay and we thank you for having reminded us, after a whole year, writing this review.
Best regards,
HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventimiglia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 11 in Ventimiglia
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
#1 of 11 in Ventimiglia
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
#3 of 11 in Ventimiglia
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#6 of 11 in Ventimiglia
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giuseppe
Hotel Giuseppe
#9 of 11 in Ventimiglia
25 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Eva Restaurant and Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso

Property: Hotel Calypso
Address: Via Giacomo Matteotti 8, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ventimiglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Calypso 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Really close by the Mediterranean sea, next to the town gardens and located in the city centre, Hotel Calypso welcomes you to explore the wonderful Riviera dei Fiori (the Italian riviera specially known for its colourful flowers). On the border between France and Italy, just 30 minutes driving from Nice Airport and only 3 km from the worldwide famous Hanbury Botanical Gardens, Hotel Calypso is inviting you to discover the visit every Friday one of the biggest European markets which take place all around the city and admire the picturesque landscape of the region Liguria. Hotel Calypso will offer you a cozy room to enjoy your delicious buffet breakfast, an american bar, 24hours Free Wi-Fi in all the rooms, free Internet Point Computer, garage (free for your bicycles) and a night porter service. Hospitality, courtesy and cleanness are our moto. The owners will be pleased to offer the most suitable type of room you prefer, all with hairdryers, satellite TV, phone, Free Wi-Fi and ventilators (air-conditioning if available) for all your summer and winter holidays, during the Formula One GP or whenever you wish to visit our magical Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing