We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Riserva di Castel d'Appio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ventimiglia
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Although it is a little hard to reach to this hotel located on top of a hill through a narrow road, the view is great once you get there. The staff was very nice and helpful. The interior of the hotel needs to be updated, and perhaps a change in laundry service & get new sheets, towels etc. The food was really good at the restaurant too, but the best part was to watch fireworks of Monte Carlo from miles away, sipping our wine at the terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here with my wife and daughter and had a two room suite.This hotel has incredible views of the Mediterranean Sea. While it is a bit of an interesting drive to get there, once you are there the views are awesome and the food is great. Also, the staff were very helpful and provided excellent service. It is a quick drive to Monte-Carlo or to Nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've just got back from a week here. A spacious family room, very friendly staff, an excellent swimming pool, great views. A very relaxing place to stay although as some of the other reviews state it's a little tired looking in places but nothing that should put you off going there. Take some mosquito repellent and be ready to bash a couple of the little blighters before bed of an evening.
The drive up is an adventure but you soon get used to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_aka_Micro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I never really trust hotel reviews or photos, so it was a huge pleasure to find this hotel was even better than the blurb suggested. The room (a two room suite for the four of us) was way better than I was expecting - clean, bright, larger than average, well decorated, etc. The pool and sun terrace are fantastic, especially for children. The view from the restaurant is like low flying over the Cote d'Azur - glorious. Staff were charming. Restuarant a little pricy - we ate out in Bordighera instead - but breakfast was pretty good.

Really, can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Can only vouch for Room 18 which was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Wonderful 3 star hotel, a little tired, I presume this is why it's not a 4 star. The hotel has amazing views of the coast line. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious with 2 seperate bedrooms, a patio and garden overlooking the coast towards France, view was fabulous! The kids loved the pool, and to be honest we all had fun on the slides and diving board. The food was excellent, breakfast buffet was plentiful and had a good selection. The restaurant menu initially seems quite pricey but then you realise the portions are huge, pastas and starters can easily be shared. The waiters work from early morning to last thing at night, always friendly and helpful, they are outstanding. Good facilities including small gym, table-tennis, pool and table football.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRR026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The access to the hotel is along a narrow winding road as mentioned in other reviews, so that was no surprise. We found the slightly longer route to the hotel from the road signposted in Ventimiglia to France, better than the other from the road signposted to Ventimiglia Alta. What was a surprise was the size of the room, which was small. It was impossible for the two of us to move around comfortably together. The balcony provided extra space. The public areas are old world Italian, with a suit of armour in the entrance, flock wallpaper in the hall and tables with silver cutlery and candle sticks in one of the three dining areas. The pool is large with plenty of loungers, pool towels are provided. Breakfast was good with a large selection of hot and cold items, fruit, bakery items etc. The food at dinner is typical of the region, portions are large, and quality excellent (the best food we had in Liguria). Views from the restaurant are fabulous. The staff are fantastic and the same waiter seem to be on duty all the day, serving hot drinks at breakfast, lunch, service by the pool and dinner. I would recommend a suite to provide a reasonable size accommodation and perhaps half board to eliminate the evening drive out and to sample the delicious food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel was quite charming...but the drive to get there was something different altogether!! Be prepared for a one lane road with switchback turns. The key to it is honk your horn before coming to the turns and if you encounter a car...one of you must back up to let the other pass! NOT EVEN KIDDING!!! We were greeted by Emilio who walked us into the hotel and were very pleasantly greeted by the girl at check-in. They had upgraded us to a suite and our room was fabulous! There were three balconies! One in the bedroom from which you could see the mountains and the Mediterranean sea, one in one corner of the living room and one by the dining table which overlooked the pool. FABULOUS!!! It was too cool to enjoy the pool but it was beautiful. We didn't eat lunch before arriving (and after the frightening drive up) weren't going back down to find anything in town and they were no longer serving lunch in the restaurant at the hotel. They very graciously brought us bruschetta and prosciutto and melon. That was the best prosciutto I have ever put in my mouth!! We did have dinner in the hotel and it was delicious. The fresh fish and pasta were amazing. Emilio brought the fish tableside and deboned it with a spoon. The only negative was in the dining room décor. They are just in need of a few touch ups, but nothing to mar your stay or the service. Overall this was a great hotel and dining experience.

Room Tip: Remember to honk your horn before getting to the corners!! All the rooms were quiet because it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventimiglia
2.3 mi away
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
Suitehotel Residence Kaly
#1 of 11 in Ventimiglia
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#5 of 11 in Ventimiglia
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#4 of 11 in Ventimiglia
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Eva Restaurant and Beach
1.7 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#2 of 11 in Ventimiglia
136 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Elisa
Villa Elisa
#3 of 12 in Bordighera
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Riserva di Castel d'Appio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Riserva di Castel d'Appio

Address: Localita Peidaigo 71, 18039 Ventimiglia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Ventimiglia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ventimiglia
Price Range: £51 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Riserva di Castel d'Appio 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The antique building located on a peak about 300m above the sea and underneath the ruin of the "Castle d'Appio" is a 13th century garrison and enjoys a marvellous view of the Italian "Flower Riviera" and the French "Côte d'AzurUnder the old castle built by Roman Consul Appio Claudio in 185 B.C., in 1967 the hotel and restaurant "La Riserva di Castel d'Appio" was erected on the ruins of the old building which belonged to the same family who today is still the owner and manager of the hotel facility.A refined lounge for the winter restaurant, a flowered terrace along the swimming-pool for dinners in the candlelight, highly recommended is our fish specialities from the best traditional and international dishes. The Genoese, in the Xlll century, rediscovered the position of the castle, rising steeply 300m out of the sea, and almost totally rebuilt it. From the restaurant and the rooms you can enjoy the same magnificent view.The hotel is located between the "Riviera dei Fiori" and the "Côte d'Azur", 18 Km away from both Sanremo and Monte Carlo. To reach it you have to leave the A10 highway at Ventimiglia exit and run 1/2 mile toward the town. Then, after you cross a bridge on the Roya river, you have to turn right toward France. After 400 mt, at the traffic light, turn right and go on for 4 Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Riserva di Castel d'Appio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing