We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So amazing we extended our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bombyx Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 178 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So amazing we extended our stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here with my family in September. Originally our intent was to spend one night in Bergamo and then the next two in Milan. We had been on a long vacation already, and we loved this place so much we decided to stay three nights here instead of one. The rooms and common area are extremely comfortable and there is plenty of room. The town is nice and the lady that runs the place lent us her GPS and advised us that the drive to Belagio was incredibly beautiful. We did it, and it was the highlight of our trip, and that included nine countries.
When we saw the rate of 90 Euro's we weren't expecting much, but when we were shown the property we were just stunned. The owner showed us around, and while giving a tour of the bottom floor she presses this one button on the wall. Suddenly, the wall swings in and poof, there's a secret hallway leading to a secluded and beautiful pool area as well as a billiards room.

Can't recommend this hotel enough. This place alone makes me want to go back to Bergamo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kornuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
404 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

we know where to book when coming back to bergamo.
the owners are super-nice and helpful, the apartment/rooms huge and extra-clean well decorated.
we didn't get a chance to go to the pool but the patio is also superb.
very handy for both city and airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billie_birilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We chose this place for its proximity to the airport, but it is a shame to use it as a one-night stopover. It is a charming place, a carefully restored historical building with a beautiful garden. There seemed to be two rooms only which makes this place very private. There was also a nice a living room and a kitchen, I think it would be a perfect base for travelling with two families or friends. Every single detail has been considered - if you travel with Ryanair, you can weigh your luggage or print out your boarding pass. The only drawback is that it is so close to the airport and you can hear the airplanes. Do not forget your earplugs!
The hosts are most helpful - they helped us with our problems with refueling the car and finding the ATM etc. What a wonderful family!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were absolutely charmed by Bombyx as well as the city of Bergamo. We highly recommend both as places to visit for a fun or romantic getaway, away from the crowded tourist cities.

The property of Bombyx is beautiful, although it is a surrounded by a private gate that hides its beauty from the street view. It is a large farmhouse that has been in the family for several generations. They own beautiful rose gardens and a manicured lawn where you can sit out and read a book in the sun.

The suite itself (The Romantic Room) is on the top floor (so please prepare yourself for stairs). The top floor has a communal living room and kitchen area, although we had the place all to ourselves the first day! The living room is full of books and games and makes for a great evening inside.

The hosts are very sweet and helpful. When we mentioned that we enjoyed wine, we were delighted to return home from a day-long adventure to find that they had hand-picked a bottle of wine from their cellars and left it in our bedroom with two glasses! How sweet! And the wine was excellent.

The suite was kept very clean. It has a beautiful bathroom with a shower and a hot tub.

Every morning, we were greeted with a table fully-lined with breakfast items and Italian meats and cookies (and yes, Nutella!). Breakfast can be eaten indoors, or outside on the balcony that overlooks the magnificent garden.

On the second night we were there, there were new guests with children. The children were a bit disruptive and made a mess of the breakfast table and covered it with cereal. However, the staff of Bombyx had paid attention to when the family left and prepared a separate breakfast table for us. We thought this was a very kind and attentive gesture.

There is a pool in the basement, although it was under renovation when we visited in May 2011.

Bombyx is pretty easy to get to and from the airport, as long as you take proper notes about your bus stops. You can get a ride to the airport arranged with the inn for a fee, but it's so close that you might as well leave early and take the bus.

Bergamo Center is also very easy to get to from the inn. There is a local bus that goes straight to it. But PICK UP A BUS SCHEDULE. The bus schedule ends earlier on some nights, and we had been stranded twice because of our own mistake. Fortunately, it's not too bad of a walk. You can walk to the inn in under an hour. The city of Bergamo is really beautiful. Make sure to explore it thoroughly, and then see "part Two" which is Citta Alta, a historical part with magnificent views.


IMPORTANT: There are two locations of Bombyx. There is one newer location that is closer to Lake Garda. This review is for the one in Bergamo, at least an hour away from Lake Garda.

Room Tip: The "Romantic Room" is excellent for couples. Very beautiful and private. Do ask the innke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A shuttle was at the airport to bring us to the B&B. Very kind people. The B&B was a nie walled place in lower Bergamo. The beautiful living and kitchen were very nice to relax. We had a beautiful room with a large bathroom with jacuzzi.
We certainly recommend this B&B for a stay in Bergamo. Ronald, the Netherlands

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This is an ideal place in so many ways. It is modern, airy and clean, and the staff is very helpful. The bathroom has a large shower, the kitchen is easy, and the eating area is cozy. There were even beautiful wine glasses.
Our daughter slept well on the sofa-bed, but unfortunately the master bed in the loft was like padded granite and we had a difficult time sleeping. The openness and airiness of the room that is so attractive in the day, can give a sense of lack of privacy (lights, sounds) at night.
If only the bed had been a little softer, we would love to give this a 5!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GodReise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.8 mi away
Residenza Il Fiore
Residenza Il Fiore
#19 of 34 in Bergamo
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
#15 of 34 in Bergamo
42 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Rosa Scarlatta Broseta
La Rosa Scarlatta Broseta
#67 of 178 in Bergamo
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
B&B La Torre della Meridiana
2.1 mi away
A Casa Mia
A Casa Mia
#31 of 178 in Bergamo
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cece e Simo B&B
Cece e Simo B&B
#43 of 178 in Bergamo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bombyx Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bombyx Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bombyx Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Vittorio Gasparini 8, 24125 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Bombyx Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bombyx Hotel Bergamo
Bombyx Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing