We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... Also overbooked”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Botton d'Oro B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botton d'Oro B&B
Ranked #7 of 177 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kritinia, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“... Also overbooked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Unfortunately we were also overbooked in another place with old appartments without tv, wifi, gluten free breakfast, a view, nice decoration,... Even though we had written an e-mail in the morning that we were coming on the same day, we were not informed about "their mistake". Not very 'guest-friendly'. Overbookings are not 'mistakes' but it's a choice that the owner or hotelmanager takes. Most probably our 1-night reservation with booking.com was not worth the money for the owner. As we are also in the hotel business, 1 advice : do not accept 1 night reservations if you don't want them.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank agapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    82
    14
    6
    13
See reviews for
88
129
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bulle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

At arrival (6/9/2013), rooms were NOT those pictured on the internet and of a MUCH lower standard ! Were given choice to leave immediately without having to pay (and start looking for other rooms !) or accept a rebate. Did hardly sleep as a result of very loud street noises during most of the night. Bathroom was not en-suite as promised and door of room could not be closed by key from the inside. Excuse that all other rooms were booked because of GP Monza is not acceptable for a booking of 2 rooms 4 months ahead, which was confirmed without any remark. Feel badly cheated and think it is necessary to caution those who think to book nice rooms here. You risk a bitter last minute surprise !

Room Tip: Make sure you get a written confirmation that room(s) booked are those pictured at the exact address...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Several holidays in the Italian lakes had led to us passing through Bergamo and wishing we could spend more time there. This spring we did just that, staying at the Botton d'Oro.We had an apartment in that part of the property which is in the upper city. To maximise our time there, we had booked an airport shuttle there and back with the owner, which was very efficient. The light and extremely spacious one-bedroom apartment was on the second floor of a very beautiful old building, sympathetically converted. As noted on the property website, this means no lift, but the several flights of stairs were not that steep and should cause no problem for the reasonably fit and unencumbered. The ground-floor breakfast room, with its huge exposed beams and brick-work, was particularly impressive. Breakfast was excellent: a good selection of fresh fruit, breads and pastries, as well as a selection of freshly-cut local meats and cheeses and warm cheese-and-ham piandine to order. My emphasis on freshness is deliberate: the food looked and tasted as though it had been carefully selected that morning from the local fruiterer/delicatessen/bakery.
The apartment itself was comfortable. The heating worked well (and was needed at the end of March). The kitchenette was of a good size, though rather sparsely equipped; we had to ask for a couple of saucepans to boil water for tea and cook basic pasta. For some reason, the TV was missing, a slight disappointment to our son who had hoped to watch the Italian football. As the connections etc. were there, we assumed it was absent temporarily for repair. Fortunately, the WiFi signal for the computer was fine. Ideally, it would be good to have one or two easy chairs in the ample-sized living room, as only two people can sit on the folded sofa bed, leaving the rest of the party to sit on the upright dining chairs. There were rather a lot of strongly-scented air-fresheners around, but we just put them in a cupboard, returning them to their places when we were ready to leave.
The apartment looked out onto a busy main street, so there was some noise until the restaurants and bars closed, and again when delivery vans arrived early in the morning, but it was not excessive. The church bells ringing during the day (not at night) were a very pleasant part of the holiday atmosphere, rather than a disturbance.
Location-wise, the apartment was ideal; only a couple of minutes' walk from most of the sites of interest in the Upper city and the main bus-stop for going further afield or down to the Lower city and the railway station. With several interesting museums (the archaeological one, in particular, was undeservedly deserted) and part of the Lower city art gallery temporarily housed in the Upper city, there was plenty to do indoors as well as outside, which was important given the changeable weather (our visit to Milan was memorably wet). The apartment gave us the option of simple snack meals in, as well as eating out. The Germanic influence in this area brought an added richness and variety to e.g. the cakes on offer.The lovely, wood-panelled Tasso tea-rooms offered a relaxing and informal venue for a mid-morning break or light lunch.
The Botton d'Oro was excellent in every respect and an ideal base. If returning to Bergamo, I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our very big and comfortable room in this BnB, located in an ancient historic building in the main shopping street of Citta Alta Bergamo, was on the same floor as the breakfast room. The beautiful bathroom is outside of the room, yet for private use. If you are looking for authentic accommodation in the centre of Citta Alta - this is the place ! Sabrina, our host, is helpful with information about the area, speaks English well and serves a stunning breakfast ! Thank you !
The busstop to the lower town bus station and train station is about 5 minutes walk away and easy to do with luggage.
Something to keep in mind when staying in the centre of an old town, it gets noisy. In the evenings the streets and restaurants are full and vibey, which gives it the amazing atmosphere, but also brings noise. Early morning the surrounding tennants, breakfast guests and workmen on renovation projects
tend to wake one up. That is the reality of the environment and can easily be remedied by earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The room was fine, not overpriced, and the city lovely. Unfortunately, the only directions given were coordinates, and without Internet signal in the city it took an hour to find. Furthermore, no explanation of parking was given and we were lied to about rules, resulting in a ticket. The most unfavorable part was that they refused to apologize to us or take responsibility, as they had told us explicitly that the spot was okay. Overall, acceptable rooms but be wary of the customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Hoglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bottondorobg, Proprietario at Botton d'Oro B&B, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
The Botton d'oro b&b can not take responsibility for penalties taken by the guests, especially if you park under the sign "no parking with forced removal"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We spent one night at this accommodation and it more than exceeded our expectations.The double room was extremely clean and very comfortable.The bathroom a good size with white fluffy towels, soaps and shampoo.The property is located very close to the old town with its excellent restaurants and wide variety of shops and historic sites.
The breakfast was amazing,we were offered a full english or continental,we chose the latter and were not disappointed.It was served by a lady whose name we did not get but we likened her to 'Mrs Overall' on roller skates,she was fantastic,nothing was a problem and a brilliant 'multi tasker'.Thank you so much,we will return:]

Room Tip: lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supakev10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is a wonderful B&B, reasonably-priced. The location is right in the heart of the old town of Bergamo, surrounded by historic buildings and a stone's throw from the main square. Our accommodation was spacious and clean. Particular highlights were the excellent breakfast and also a trip to the superb restaurant across the road, Mimo, suggested to us by the B&B's staff.

Stayed end of April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna_2013_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.2 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#21 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.9 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Il Sole
Albergo Il Sole
#15 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botton d'Oro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botton d'Oro B&B

Property: Botton d'Oro B&B
Address: Via Bartolomeo Colleoni 30 | Vicolo Pelabrocco 3, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Botton d'Oro B&B comes from the idea of opening our home to all world travellers with the simplicity of a wildflower. Bed and breakfast run by a family, offers 4 locations in the city of Bergamo. BOTTON D'ORO COLLEONI 30: Situated in the main street of Citta Alta, composed of 2 family-suites (maximum 6 people) and of 2 family-rooms (maximum 4 people) BOTTON D'ORO GOMBITO 3: Situated in the main street of Citta Alta, 20 meters from Piazza Vecchia, it is composed of 2 double rooms with bathroom in-suite and 1 triple room with bathroom in-suite. Completely renovated, offers services such as a kettle with a selection of tea, air conditioning and a mini-bar. BOTTON D'ORO PELABROCCO 3: Right beneath the Walls, just a few steps away from Porta di Sant'Agostino, is a strategic place to visit on foot both the beautiful Citta Alta and the lower part of the city, full of shops and centres of cultural interest. This renovated structure is composed of three rooms with private bathroom and a beautiful view on the private garden of the residence. BOTTON D'ORO SAN GIORGIO 17: Location situated in a comfortable and strategic position, born to give the maximum comfort to those who need to be close to the Bergamo airport "Il Caravaggio", to the train station, to the A4 highway, to the University of Bergamo (located in Via dei Caniana) or even to the centre of Citta Bassa. Situated in a big villa of the Forties and completely renovated, Botton d'Oro San Giorgio gives families, businessmen, commuters, couples or students the opportunity of being comfortable and having the top of all services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Botton d'Oro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botton d`Oro Bed And Breakfast
Botton d`Oro Hotel Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing