We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel with wonderful staff”
Review of Petronilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petronilla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have stayed at Petronilla twice now and each time wished we could stay longer! The hotel is in a great location with some lovely shops nearby. We dined out and were given wonderful recommendations from Uta that made for a very pleasant evening.

The hotel is very stylish and the amazing staff make for an outstanding guest experience. We felt so relaxed and our rooms on both stays were delightful and very clean. The breakfast was superb and very nicely presented. The attention to detail throughout is excellent and we really appreciated everything.

Uta is an enigmatic and warm host and really made us feel at home and like we mattered rather than just being another guest number. Our daughter absolutely adored her and really didn't want to leave!

We will definitely return in the future and are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yorks_nameless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is in a small street in the lower part of Bergamo, but within walking distance of everything, including the funicular to the upper town. The rooms are very modern with touch panels for lighting, terrific air conditioning with LED controls and automatic turn-off if you open a window! The sleek but complicated shower (controls for pressure, temperature and the choice of rain, a wand and side spritzers) is great once you figure out how to work the three spigots--until then you could have a cold rain falling with chilly squirts from the side. But Uta is the greatest! I left my backpack (with wallet) on a city bus while there, and she did all she could to get it back, making phone call after phone call. I will never forget her concern. Oh and by the way, breakfasts are great with terrific fruits, yogurts, breads, coffee and eggs any way you want them. And the snacks left in the room were a wonderful surprise! Stay at the Petronilla if you go to Bergamo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanSee173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent hotel, more than a palace : a home. Everything perfect! what can I add to say it was not perfect? maybe a bed too low? the only detail to change in this wonderful hotel, with a great location in the modern center of Bergamo, with the most charming personnel ever. The breakfast in the inner courtyard is a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are in Bergamo, I highly recommend Petronilla Hotel. It's a wonderful boutique hotel with an outstanding service. Though we booked this hotel on Booking.com, the hotel manager sent us a welcome email immediately and asked if they could be of any assistance to us prior to the arrival. Very nice touch! When we arrived, Barbara was extremely friendly and spent time with us reviewing a city map, explaining how to get to the old town and where to eat. Her restaurant recommendation turned out to be great. Uta, the owner, was super helpful to us the following morning. She spent almost an hour trying to help with an issue we had with a rental car (and a rental car agency) and also helped us pay a ticket we received (it's a long story).
The room was spotlessly clean, had great bed/linens and a wonderful rain shower in a bathroom. It felt like home! I also enjoyed their breakfast - sat outside on the patio. Overall, it was a great experience and I highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldwinery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Even though I stayed there just for one short night the manager of the hotel made me feel at home immediately. She knows how to run a boutique hotel and how to make guests feel comfortable and welcome. Don't be surprised if she comes outside personally to welcome you as soon as you cab stops to deliver you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Petronilla hotel was our first stop after a looooong flight from Texas. We couldn't have been more warmly received. Uta met us at the front desk and was the friendliest and most gracious hostess! She parked our car, helped with our luggage, and suggested some wonderful activities and restaurants for our short stay in Bergamo. Plus, the breakfast was delicious. I can't say enough positive things about the service at Petronilla - I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to be booked in this hotel on my first trip to Bergamot in 2011 and have thoroughly enjoyed each and every stay since (~10 times). The staff make you feel extremely welcome and cater to your every need. The hotel's design is modern, tasteful. The breakfast buffet is delightful and delicious. I highly recommend staying here when in Bergamot.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.4 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.8 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#9 of 34 in Bergamo
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petronilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petronilla Hotel

Address: Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range: £125 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petronilla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petronilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing