We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one little shortfall”
Review of GombitHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GombitHotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just one little shortfall”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My fourth time staying in the Gombit. It is the most perfectly located hotel in Citta Alta, right in the centre of everything, steps away from the best restaurants and perfect for getting lost in the labrythine alleys of the old city. I love the hotel, the design, the comfortable rooms, nice linens but especially the location. I have a small complaint though. Each time I stayed there I have found the front of house staff to be cold and unfriendly. It's a small, 13 room hotel so it shouldn't be difficult to be nice to customers, especially regulars. It would be nice to be recognised on your 4th visit. This won't prevent a future booking but it would make each visit a lot more pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariao6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    64
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
121
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just stayed their 4 nights, for biz trip.

Though this time I didn't get around in Citta Alta since I'm in a full scheduled biz trip, I was not in Bergamo for the first time. I could see the hotel locates in a perfect place that with a short walking distance the fantastic Citta Alta's heart is in front of you.

Room is quite spacious and clean, in style. I would highlight the linen they use, very comfortable; Bathroom is also with a perfect design which is really gorgeous.

Staff there speaks good English!!

I'm fine with church ringing bell every morning, but it may happen that someone cannot sleep well in the early morning (not that early... 7.30am i suppose).

i would stay there again, for biz purpose or for holiday, both good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolutely superb.

A modern boutique hotel right in the centre of the Bergamo Alta old town.

Old building with a modern refit. Gorgeous bedrooms, lovely staff and very clean.

If I ever return to Bergamo...I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We try and stay at The Gombit whenever we visit Bergamo, although being a small hotel with only about 12 rooms it can be tricky to get a reservation. gorgeous modern hotel set in a medieval tower, it is by far the most luxurious hotel we have stayed in in Bergamo. lovely spacious rooms with a great design, the bathroom in particular is fab with a rainwater shower and lovely toiletries. the TV has a range of English news channels with sky sports and movies on request for an additional fee. Not that you will need to be staying in watching TV as the hotel is set right in the heart of it all, just off Piazza Vecchia in the Citta Alta. the funicolare (cable rail) to the Citta Bassa is a stones throw away with the Funicolare Cafe, a lovely place to have drinks and catch up with views down over the city below. The only thing that lets The Gombit down slightly is the cranky man at reception but having said that we will no doubt return here as the quality has been consistently great over all our visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Rooms and bathroom were extremely spacious and of fantastic design. Location is also great! The only issue is that the hotel has no garage and you need to find your place in the street, which is really not easy. Breakfast was good, but not 5 stars as the rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Splendia once again gave us a great tip! For a very convinient (low season) price of 110 Euros for two persons with breakfast included we could discover the heart of the old city of Bergamo. Just one block from the cathedral. Excellent situation. Very nice design rooms. A bit hard to find the first time you are in Bergamo. Make sure to ask for good instructions when you book. Breakfast is nice but no eggs. Wi Fi in the rooms. Probably the best place to stay in Bergamo!

Room Tip: Try to have a room (even the small ones are big enough and very nice) with window on the little piaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Set in a entirely renovated medieval tower, where parts of the old structure are still visible in the rooms, the hotel is very well kept, new and clean. Very well situated right next to the Piazza Vecchia. Contemporary art pervades through the entire hotel.
Didn't like the mixture of grey and orange colors used in the rooms though. Staff was helpful and adequate. Church bell enthusiasts will be very happy to know they ring every 15 minutes from various locations around the hotel as of 7am ;-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yves_alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#20 of 34 in Bergamo
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.9 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GombitHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GombitHotel

Property: GombitHotel
Address: Via Mario Lupo 6, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — GombitHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thought of for those who seek a hotel as an artistic fascination, GombitHotel is the first design hotel within the ancient walls that surround Bergamo Alta, the ancient borough of Bergamo. Next to the Torre del Gombito, a thirteenth century stone tower, between being a collection of art and a workshop, the hotel is a great experimental laboratory and gallery where young artists work together to keep the interiors alive. A place for dreamers, created by dreamers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GombitHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing