We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

SCAM! Rooms are not renovated! If receptionist try to sell you a more expensive room, promising better quality and renovated rooms don't believe that! If you go back and ask they tell you it is renovated but they didn't tell you when. This is clearly scam!!! By the way even the non-smoking floor was smelly.. Made me fell uncomfortable in terms of hygiene.They clearly need a change upstairs where tge guests are really staying you can not have a better hotel by just renovating the reception area. Breakfast reviews for this hotel was 5stars! I cab't believe who can rate it that high! It was not fresh at all. Only good thing was personel at breakfast area. Friendly, helpful and trying their best in given conditions...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Irmak Gamze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Customer, We apologise profusely that your room did not meet your expectation.
We’re apologise for any inconvenience you have suffered.
We don' t have references to understand what type of room stayed (standard, superior, deluxe), but I assure you that there is NO SCAM!!!!!. We have different types and all photographs are published on the websites so without modification or scams. Anyone can see photos before and the receptionist has just done its job by offering our different product. Our Hotel is open for 60 years and have never cheated anyone. If you have not been happy in our hotel, please drop your impressions but not accused of fraud who tries to do his job to the fullest. Our breakfast is recognized as good by our guests, we are always willing to accept suggestions to improve if he wants to give them to us. Thank you for the compliments on the staff, the kindness and courtesy are the basis of our work.
Have a nice day
The Manager
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior San Marco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

As part of a business trip to Bergamo our group stayed at this hotel. I was travelling with my wife as well on this trip.

Our first time in Italy and I thought this hotel and area was a great introduction to Italy without actually going to any major city.

The hotel is a multi storey building at the foot of the hill (below the old town) next to a park - great location.

Check in was simple and efficient, a couple of keys, internet access info and we're off to our room.

We had a nice room with a view of the old town. Room had AC, nice comfortable bed, nice bathroom with the usual amenities, wireless access seems fine but a bit on the slow side - all-in-all we were really happy with this room.

For me, one of the best features was the motorised blackout shutters - finally a hotel that understands the need for a dark room at night......

We stayed during a weekend and although there was plenty of action outside we hardly noticed any noise in the room.

The hotel breakfast was a nice buffet selection with a bunch of staff to look after coffee (very important in Italy) and orders. There a plenty of other breakfast options a short walk away of you don't want to do the buffet.

I'm sure there's plenty of other hotels in Bergamo, but based on this stay I'd go back here anytime.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor with a view of the old town
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Customer,
Thanks for your enthusiastic review.
Having been chosen for your first trip in Italy was an honour and we’re happy we met your expectations.
We know our location is very convenient for our guests, but we are especially pleased to notice that you were pleasantly surprised by all our services.
Looking forward to having you back.
Best regards
Pubblic Relaction Office - Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was at this hotel for a conference in the Upper City (Alte Cita) and the hotel was perfect for this. The rooms were clean and comforatable; the front desk staff were polite, helpful and professional; the WiFi worked well; and the buffet breakfast was very good (and opens at 0630). I didn't have time to check out the fitness facility.
I had a group dinner in the roof top restaurant - the view of the Upper City was wonderful (ie. bring your camera) and the food was of high quality with good service.
One pleasant thing that I notice different from other hotels was that the hotel did not fly the Russian Federation flag, but instead, flew the Ukrainian flag along with the other dozen international flags. I tremendously respect the integrety of the Hotel Management who recognizes that even symbolic measures are important during periods of political instability.

Room Tip: The views of the walled Upper City are best seen from the 5th and 6th floor rooms facing the Upper C...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Wbscalgars,

We thank you for your warm review, which our all staff will be proud of.
We’re happy you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and you spent a nice evening at our restaurant enjoying the food and the suggestive atmosphere.
We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Pubblic Relaction Office
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The great reviews I found on tripadvisor led me to book this hotel, confident to find a good 4 stars. I am not sure if I got in the worst chamber they have or there is something wrong with the other reviews, however my expectactions were reset once inside the room. I asked myself if that was for real, and I stayed there just because I booked a short stay of 2 nights. If I had stayed more than 2 nights, I would have opted for an alternative solution no matter the fees! I enclose some pictures just for other travellers to see what they might find there! The experience went from bad to worst once I realized that the basic toiletries were missing (first time ever for a 4 stars). How would you consider a hotel where you have to go three times to the reception to ask shampoo and toilet paper? Definetely the most unpleasant hotel I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Mr Andrea,
We're sorry your experience wasn't as good as we aim for.
A few years ago, we started a plan to renovate our rooms and is still undergoing, which means there are still some rooms that need renovating.
We'll take note of your review as we continue to improve our offering and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Best regards,
Pubblic Relaction Office
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night only twice in April on our way to other destinations in Italy. The service we encountered was just great. Both times they upgraded our rooms. The rooms were large, with a balcony view of the Citta Alta in Bergamo. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast wss included and there was a good and varied selection there. We needed a taxi for the airport both times, and the front desk ordered this, gave us a receipt with the number of the taxi and a fixed price of 17 euro.. Bus no.1 to the airport stops just outside the hotel if you are on a tighter budget.
Another good thing is that the Funicular to Citta Alta is only a short distance from the hotel.

We can recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Bergamo. The service, staff and loctaion are top notch!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Paul W,
Our whole staff is ecstatic about your review.
We thank you for noting all the good things our hotel has to offer.
The rooms, the service and our staff's kindness met your expectations and that's something everyone doing our job takes a lot of pride in.
Our location, as you underlined, is central but at the same time quiet and convenient to get both to beautiful Città Alta and to the airport, which by itself would be a good enough reason to choose our hotel. That said, we are happy you noticed how much we try to take care of our customers.
We hope to have you back in our hotel very soon.
Best Regards
Pubblic Relaction Office Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Excelsior with my mother from 23-27 April. The hotel is very peaceful as it is set back from the main road behind a small park. It is on the bus route to Bergamo Airport, Città Alta and Bassa and is a short walk from the funicular.

The location, breakfast and Roof Garden Restaurant are what make this hotel stand out.

We stayed in a Deluxe Twin room on the 5th floor with a balcony with a spectacular view of the Old Town. If you like listening to the pealing of church bells, watching swifts dipping and diving over historical buildings and mature trees, this is the place for you!

Our room was very spacious, clean and well-furnished although slightly worn in places. The mattresses were comfortable but you may need to request a softer pillow. The bathroom was a good size but lacked shelving for toiletries.

Breakfast was excellent in range, quality and staff service.

We had dinner one night in the Roof Garden Restaurant on the 8th floor. It was a magical experience with delicious food and wine, a breathtaking view and unobtrusive, efficient service. We were also pleasantly surprised by the bill.

On the whole, the staff were friendly and professional but some of the reception staff need to be more welcoming and interested in their guests.

We had a lovely time and plan to return. Bergamo itself is a little jewel and is well-placed for a day-trip to Milan (50 minutes by train). Please note that train tickets to Milan and the Milan Metro can be bought at the tobacconist's on platform 1 on Bergamo railway station should there be a long queue at the ticket office.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are much more spacious than standard. Ask for a room with a balcony and view of th...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank attiaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was well-located, just a five-minute walk to the funicular to the old town of Bergamo and a 15-minute walk to the train station (which links to Milan (50 mins) and Lecco on Lake Como (45 mins)). The room was spacious and comfortable (with Sky digital, mini bar, balcony and decent-sized bathroom). Everything was spotlessly clean although the decor was a little dated. The lack of a clothes iron was a problem (the ironing/laundry service was unavailable as it was Easter weekend). The Michelin Star roof-top restaurant was closed on Easter Sunday and Easter Monday. The lobby was bright, modern and clean. The "gym" (hidden on the second floor with poor signage) was a disappointment, comprising a tiny room with a broken exercise bike, a treadmill and one weights machine. The breakfast was delicious and in a spacious and airy room. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location, friendly staff and comfort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorSanMarco, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Excelsior San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Mr Shane N,

thank you very much for having stayed in our Hotel, and above all we’re very happy that you enjoyed our location in the center of the City, a few steps from the funicular for “ Città Alta” and the Airport Bus-Stop.
Many thanks also for you compliments about the cleanlintess, of the Hotel, our comfort and our Breakfast which we about a lot.
Can we assure you that we’ll evaluate everything you have written. The suggestion of our customers are extremely important to us.
About the Ironing service , we confirm that in the future, we’ll be able to offer to our guest a special iron area with all the security that the Italian law requires us , Unfortunately many Hotels provide irons in the rooms, but it is forbidden by the rules extinguishers. However, in addition to laundry facilities, soon we will take this iron area self-service.
About out fantastic Roof Garden Restaurant we apologise profusely if he could not find a place, the next opportunity to reserve the best seat in the front row on the panoramic Windows.
About to our fitness point on the second floor, we provide free charge to our guests: a Finnish sauna, a cyclette, a machine weights and a tapis rouland. For a very Gym , next to our hotel we have a fantastic gym with pool and spa. Our guests can access by paying a special extra rate.
See you next time!!!
From the Pubblic Relaction Office
Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.5 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
0.6 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior San Marco

Address: Piazzale della Repubblica 6, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#4 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range: £76 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central residential area of Bergamo, Hotel Excelsior San Marco offers its Guests ideal reception and atmosphere for any kind of stay. The Hotel distinguishes itself for its refined cordial service, enhanced by the beauty and convenience of its position. Facing an elegant square with a garden, far from the traffic yet very near the most exclusive streets of the city, Hotel Excelsior San Marco is a few steps away from the suggestive funicular that goes to the historical Upper Town inside the Medieval Walls. Provided with a Congressional Center with a multi-functional hall, it offers excellent personalized services for conferences, meetings and events with ensured success. Free WiFi Internet in the entire structure. Free Sky Vision Gold package in all the rooms. SHARED LOUNGE/TV AREA available with UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE/premium - FREE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Excelsior San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior San Marco Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing