We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Bergamo, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Bergamo, central location”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ideal central location. Walking distance from new town to the funicular to old town. Quiet bedrooms, extra large bathroom. Good standard of breakfast and helpful staff. Free wifi and English film station. Walking distance also to train station and bus stop outside for 15 journey to airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinytears8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear tinytears8,
thank you for sharing your good impressions.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience in Bergamo and at BW Cappello D'Oro.
If you are planning another trip to Bergamo, we would like to be your choice again!

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    350
    110
    24
    13
See reviews for
150
274
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Excellent position, very central and very close to all attractions. There is also a bus stop exactly 10 mtrs away from the hotel if you want to catch a bus when coming back from citta alta. Also some good restaurants near the hotel . Totally recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIBS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear HIBS2010,
thank you for appreciation.
If you are planning to visit Bergamo, we will be glad to be your choice again!

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Although the hotel name translates to the "Golden Hat" there is very little evidence of one here.
I try to stay whenever possible at Best Western hotels, being a member usually helps whilst travelling. This property is very convenient to all that Bergamo offers and the staff are pleasant and accomodating. The rooms ( we paid for deluxe twin ) and hooray the beds were large and comfortable twin beds. We did not have to seperate them as one is often forced to do in Italy.
The room was reasonably large but the bathroom was small with no bath. No iron ( Italy seems to have a shortage of irons..pity.) Tea\coffee, inroom safe..Aircon' was turned off during our stay the reason simply autumn so open window if air is needed..a bit difficult considering the street noise was deafening and it was pouring with rain not to mention the flys. Breakfast dull. very little variety and repetitve.. Who was the decorator? In our room was a picture of a 1900's horse &jockey, a print of some kind of herbal flora and a pseudo plaster replica of a naked Greco Athlete receiving his Laurels. Golden Hat guys..Golden Hat. Look at The Oreloggio in Florence to get the idea . Presentation goes with Location . Bergamo is a Charming city and the upper city is worth a visit but not conducive for long stays as it is a bit on the prententious side and can be a bit dull. For a real Italian experience try Genoa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Martin B,
GRAZIE for your detaild review. Your opinion is important to know the level of our Service and to improve it. We are glad to know that you appreciated the professionality and the kindness of our Staff that works with passion everyday to meet Guests expectations.
I catch the opportunity to inform you that in Italy the fire prevention law does not allow any kind of iron in the room. The Housekeeping offer the ironing service.
If you are travelling to Bergamo in the future, we will be glad to host you again!

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Capello d'Oro in Bergamo for 5 nights in the middle of September while I attended an international meeting. The service was excellent, hotel very clean, a great breakfast with the room, and an apple/fruit barrel in the lobby. We enjoyed the apples, as it added an extra touch to being in a first class hotel. Thanks for a great stay. AND, we enjoyed Bergamo upper and lower cities.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the front street and it was not noisy at all. A good view of the church ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrockerGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear CrockerGem,
we are glad to know you enjoy the BW Cappello D'Oro experience and our beautiful city.
Your words motivate our Team, that works every day to offer a high quality Service and to satisfy our guest needs.
We hope to meet you soon !

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. I got a package that included parking, breakfast, free minibar and free premium movies. Their parking is a private car park a little distance down the road and this could be tricky if arriving alone because you need to go inside and get a porter to come out and open up and there is nowhere to leave the car while you do this. Its one of those times when a wife comes in handy. The room was small but OK and the bathroom was very nice. There was a balcony with a table and chairs and it was bigger than the room. This is not such a good feature as it sounds because all the rooms had balconies and the people next door were out there partying until late. TV was hopeless with only CNN in English. The 'premium' channels were only 2 in English and one was a cartoon. Breakfast was no better than OK and the cooked eggs/bacon/etc. were stone cold. They had some particularly disgusting sausages. The free minibar is something I have never had before. It had beer, water, orange etc. and a selection of sweets, pringles etc. This doesn't cost the hotel much but it's a nice gesture. My total experience was good and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Other reviewers have moaned about bad Wi-Fi reception. Mine was OK on the top floor at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear NorthSimon,
thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comments help us to improve our Service and give us the chance to know better our guests needs.
Glad to know you appreciated the room with the balcony (that is a great value), even if the neighborhood was not so pleseant. Unfortunately we are not able to control any aspect but in case like this informing the reception could be the right action.
We regret to know we were not able to offer you a breakfast up to your expectations. Your comments will be shared with the involved department to assure that facts as the one you mentioned won't happen again in the future.
We hope you will give us the chance to host you again in the future!

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Thank goodness for the Best Western Hotel in Bergamo. After a bad start to a weekend break we booked into the Best Western it was lovely with a nice room. Staff were very helpful I only wish I had booked for full weekend. I will definitely book Best Western for future trips to Bergamo.

Room Tip: I don't think travellers could go wrong with any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Colin,
thank you for your beautiful words. If Best Western Cappello D'Oro is a Heaven, our Guests are the Angels! Proud to be your choice again in your next trip to Bergamo.
We wait for you!

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is almost in the heart of Bergamo’s new town and is conveniently situated allowing for easy and enjoyable exploration of the city. Firstly, the airport is only 15-20 minutes away, with the bus stop for both arriving and departing Bergamo enthusiasts located in front of the hotel. The funicular is a mere 10 minute stroll up a slight gradient and is a quick and novel way of being transported to the old town, offering a quick panoramic view on the way. Should you want to travel to Milan, the train station is 5 minutes’ walk in the opposite direction and the journey itself takes 50 minutes. The city itself (especially the old town) is beautiful and packed with bars, cafés and quality restaurants with affordable menus.

The Cappello Doro itself is cute, clean and has classy staff whose’ grasp of English is impressive. Our bedroom was very comfortable, a good size and had a mini bar and immaculate bathroom which all contributed to a very comfortable stay. The breakfast looked varied and fresh (although we ate out every morning) and the restaurant offered typical Italian dishes next to a small, trendy looking bar.

The beauty of this simple and adequate hotel, as formerly mentioned, is its location and relaxed comfortable feel. For a short city break, the Cappello Doro allows you to explore this wonderful city from a convenient and welcoming base.

Room Tip: Remember the city tax can fluctuate, we were 3 euros a day (18 euros) on checking out and the mini b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekjunkie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Trekjunkie5,
thank you for the precious review you posted.
Your description about the location is absolutely perfect! Our location is unique.
We are glad to know that the location is not the only factor you appreciated.
The comfort offered by the hotel, the Staff attitude, the atmosphere and the food experience made your trip to Bergamo a success. We are glad to realize it and we are excited to share your words with the entire Team. Thank you!
We hope to see you soon!

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.1 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
0.4 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arli Hotel
Arli Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bergamo
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro

Property: Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Address: 12 Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 24121 Bergamo, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Cappello D'Oro)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#10 Business Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff and the hotel's enviable position. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Cappello d`Oro Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Bergamo
Bergamo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing