We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Nearby Hotels
GombitHotel(Bergamo)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
NH Bergamo(Bergamo)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$376
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
295
388
126
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
388
126
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busold towncitta altaminute walklake comoairport stopshot dishesfunicular railwaystayed for nightswide choicewould stay here againgood sizecentral hotelexcellent locationbeds were comfortablethe air conditioningcable car
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location for easy access to train/ bus stations, airport bus stops, Citta Alta and Via XX Settembre the main shopping street. Our twin room 253 was clean, spacious and had a bath and shower. Although situated at the front of the hotel, road noise was minimal due to good double glazing and was very quiet after midnight when traffic was virtually nil. Good variety at breakfast. Nice outside terrace area with sofas for enjoying a nightcap. Airport bus tickets available from reception and were able to leave our luggage in the store after check out. All round good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inkybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Inkybobs,
we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Location, cleanliness, good breakfast and smart Service: you lived the full Cappello d'Oro experience. We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We booked a standard room, directly with the hotel, and were hoping for an upgrade as we were celebrating my birthday, and we've a Best Western loyalty card, but no luck there despite the hotel not being very busy.
First impressions not great. Quite an unattractive entrance. Staff were polite and business like.
The room we were given, 347 was very average. Fairly small, but fine for a short stay. we overlooked the main road so a bit of traffic noise. The air con worked and wasn't too noisy. The bathroom was ok, no bath but decent shower, soap in dispensers screwed to wall. Everything was clean. The bed was very firm as they all seem to be in Italy. Usual TV, safe, mini bar etc. Bath robes and slippers.
Breakfast wasn't bad a few hot items and a cold buffet, fruit, cereals, fruit juices, bread, croissants etc. The waiters made your coffee to order which I like.
All in all a pleasant stay, but not quite sure how it rates a 4 star. The location is good. There is an airport bus stop right outside the hotel. It's a 10 minute walk to the Railway Station. Close to the main shopping area and perhaps 15 minutes to the funicular for Citta Alta, the old town which is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear larnerdarren,
first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I read carefully your review twice and it's like I can feel tour status: just average, nice but not enough, maybe next time we will look for another solution. Well, let me say that our goal is offer the perfect stay and deliver services to fully satisfy our Guests. It seems that this not happened with you. I know we are able to do it so I immediately shared your comment with the rest of the Team to make some reflections on it. We invite you to come back to our hotel and try the real Cappello d'Oro experience, we really hope you will take it into consideration.
Best Regards
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my second visit to Bergamo, but first at the Best Western. My first visit I stayed at the Hotel Mercraue further down the street and, while I think the rooms are bigger there, I would pick the Best Western again. The rooms were small, but clean - the breakfast modest, but good. The hotel is easy to find and right on a main road. Additionally, it's a quick walk to the funicolare to head up to the upper city (which everyone must do!!). In short - the hotel is clean, easy to find and cost effective - what else would you want?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamthemorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear iamthemorg,
thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad to read your words, a beautiful recognition for our daily effort.
Good location, clean ambient, good breakfast are a very good way to describe our hotel
Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Cappello D'Oro for one night in June 2014. We chose to stay here as we were flying home from Bergamo Airport the following day.

We had stayed in Bergamo previously (about 10 years ago) so wanted to be within walking distance of the train station (no more than 10 minutes walk away) and the old city on the hill, Bergamo Alta. The hotel is perfectly situated between the two, on the main street and at the nicer end of the street. There are plenty of places to eat and drink close by and it is not noisy at all.

Our room was very big, though the bathroom was quite small (but that is no problem at all) and there was also a nice chair and foot rest.

The staff were very nice and there is a choice of different pillows available from reception if you do not like the one in your room.

The breakfast was excellent, the best we had on our whole trip, plenty to chose from and all very nice. Some great fresh fruit and a good choice of hot drinks made by the staff for you.

I would definitely stay again and I thought the hotel was well priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brown9952173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear brown9952173,
we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you will keep good memories about your trip to Bergamo. Location, Good Service, helpfull Staff, good breakfast, pillows menu, quiet room. You didn't miss anything of our Product and Service! We hope to see you soon again.
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We picked the capello for the location and expected to simply have a 4* service.

Result:

- Location is unbeatable (right in the center of the commercial part of BG)

- Arrival: from outside, the hotel doesn't look attractive at all (ground floor looks like a sex shop with absolutely NO visibility on the inside), terrible drop-off zone (no sign and just merged with a busy bus stop) and poor/dark lobby area

- Check-in: OK (efficient)

- Getting to your room: although we had several pieces of luggage, we were advised to use a tiny lift and discovered that there was a second one (bigger) on our way out (???)

- Std room (129 EUR): small, very common deco (hotel chain), old/tiny bathroom with extremely poor offer (all in one shampoo/shower gel fixed in the shower !) and last but not least: dirty room with dust all over, even spider webs hanging from the fire detecor !!!

- Service: the cleaning lady came and vacumed the room and the reception offered an upgrade for next day because immediate change was impossible although rooms available until in late evening,

- Breakfast: average (still can't uderstand why only 5* offer genuine OJ and very few 4* offer non processed cheese !!!)

- Other remarks: seems that (many) tourists use this hotel because it is simply right in front of the bus station for the airport shuttle

- Recommendation: avoid the capello and go for nicer places in the "citta alta" area or even out of BG if you have a car ...

- Message for management: OK, a solution was proposed but we refused it and decided to move to another hotel next day because we did not appreciate at all being said that we'd have to wait next day for the upgrade because no cleaning service was available to do our room before moving us to a better one which the manager on duty preferred to keep vacant overnight (revenue first, customer last)... And coming back to problem n°1: a hotel of this category needs to be 100% CLEAN. Have the gouvernante cary random checks !

Room Tip: Ask for a back room to avoid noisy boulevard (if you decide to open and get fresh air)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connaisseur_bis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCappellodOro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear connaisseur_bis,
we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews