We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect spot but”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bergamo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“perfect spot but”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

perfectly situated in the middle of via gombito which is the Bergamo'high street' with all the beautiful stylish shops and wine bars(vinerias) and tratorrias, 10 min walk from porta aperto bus stop (where bus 1a from orio airport arrives) 5 mins from the funicolare.
very impressive collection of decorations on ceiling and walls at the reception and restaurant
very clean room, impressed on the daily cleaning and changing towels-sheets
i requested a room with a balcony-and got it
delicious gnochhi
but..
the ladies in the reception in the morning shift seem to be too bored to bother to the point of being annoyingly indifferent to an request-such as, can you please book a taxi for me for tomorrow, they passed me to the night shift!
breakfast is a joke- one pasty cake, plain cereal, butter-jam-honey in little packs,packaged sliced melting cheese-the cheap type,bread and brioche and crisp bread.i expected more in a so much advertised hotel-restaurant
bits in the room certainly need refreshing-such as celeing in the bathroom
no internet in rooms and in public areas they give you a code for 2 hours access!
for 73 euros b&b per night i am not sure i would go back, but difficult to find en suite in citta alta
ps doors lock at 1 am till 6 am

Room Tip: right across little bar with unexpected music(rolling atones), fantastic italian lady, birra ala spi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopysas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    114
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
105
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Myself & my husband visited Bergamo for the first time in April 2012. What a lovely surprise...... Citi Alto is full of beautiful churches & wonderful restaurants, plenty to see over a 4 day visit!! Stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights, staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean, pretty and lovely balcony overlooking Citi Alto. Location was perfect, access (along many cobbled streets) to all the wonderful restaurants, churches and sights to see.

Will definitely return to Hotel Agnello d'Oro, hopefully sooner rather than later!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annar0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I went to Agnello d'Oro restaurant and it was a nice surprise. Everything was good, a great wine selection is followed by a menù clearly oriented at typical meals but with a decent variety.
The cheeses served as appetizer were really nice, together with the Polenta with Olive cream, but very tasty.
After a simple but very well prepared Risotto with sausage and mushrooms followed, leaving all of us (we were 3) well satisfied. Finally we got a very nice dessert which concluded our meal.
The location is perfect, just the centre of Bergamo Alta (old town), the restaurant looks nice and the food is good, definitely to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizzio85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I booked the Angello d'Oro based on TripAdvsior reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is smack in the middle of the old town, ten meters from the intersection of two ancient Roman roads that the town grew up around, on a tiny square with a splashing sixteenth-century fountain. My single room was small but charmingly furnished, with a large modern bathroom and small shuttered balcony. The breakfast included rolls, breakfast cakes, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffe, and tea--and by the way, the restaurant itself is excellent: I had a risotto with pumpkin and sausage there that was fabulous.Finally a word about the helpful staff: On my last day, I had to leave at 5:15 a.m. to get to the airport. The desk person reserved a taxi for me the night before (and it was there!), and someone got up punctually at 5:00, when the hotel is still closed, to let me out. No air conditioning, but free wi-fi in the lobby and restaurant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can hear the fountain all night long in rooms on the front of the building. If you like white no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

With the fountain right outside the building you imagine yourself in a hotel right next to the Trevi. Nice, friendly, helpful staff. Good location on the Main Street in citta alta just off of piazza vecchia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

A privately owned hotel with a multi-award winning restaurant. Rather pricey for a two-starred hotel, however, the lady-owner was very pleasant as one of her young daughters who kindly showed me the room on the 4th floor before booking it. A real Italian family-run business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex_Batalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I thought that this looked a great place to stay - and it's certainly in a brilliant location - yes there's a 'but' coming. We (3 couples) stayed on our way to Verona, and again on the way home last week (July 2). Don't stay here when it's hot, and go to Albergo II Sole which is just a few metres along the street, where they were much more helpful. Whilst I don't mind there being no air conditioning, friends of mine found it extremely uncomfortable, and the hotel staff wouldn't let them have a fan. They said that 2 fans had broken that day, and only rooms on the 5th floor (attic rooms) were allowed fans. We asked if we could use the fan in the reception area during the night, but the receptionist said she would have to check with the Manager, but wouldn't know till evening - so they went to the II Sole. Surely, with prices over €90 per room they could afford to buy some fans - at least one for every bedroom, and a spare. I would think twice about staying here again, I didn't think they were at all friendly or service focused. Disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen-Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#9 of 34 in Bergamo
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#21 of 34 in Bergamo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.1 mi away
Albergo Il Sole
Albergo Il Sole
#17 of 34 in Bergamo
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agnello d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agnello d'Oro

Property: Hotel Agnello d'Oro
Address: Via Gombito 22, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agnello d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Agnello d Oro
Agnello d Oro Hotel
Agnello Doro Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing