We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny and great location”
Review of Albergo Il Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Il Sole
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth every penny and great location”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome as soon as we entered the hotel on the corner of piazza vecchia - fantastic location - right in the centre of the main attraction of Bergamo yet it isn't too busy.

The rooms are excellent - proper Italian. I think this hotel is 2 stars but knocks socks off some 5 stars I've stayed in.

It's a restaurant with a hotel as opposed to the other way around so eating in is top class and not too expensive (around €25 for three courses).

I would recommend this hotel to anybody coming to Bergamo as I will certainly stay here again if we came back to Bergamo.

Free wifi was essential to helping us start a new life in Italy and it was actually a really good connection.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CEGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    63
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
55
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not only in a fantastic location but unlike a lot of Italian hotels / restaurants the staff our so friendly ! As soon as we arrived our suitcases where taken to our room and we where greeted with a very warm welcome, it has a quirky feel to it and makes you want
To experience the italian life, especially hearing the church bells ring outside your window !

Not only does it have free wifi but the rooms are extremely spacious and clean, like most italians we don't want to be in the hotel room for the whole holiday which brings me to the location, it's perfect ! Right in the centre surrounded by hussle and bussle local shops and restaurants and fantastic views, What can i say, i came here 7 years ago, came back and it still has the same magical feeling, if not better !

The food in the restaurant is stunning and great value. The breakfast was just what we needed to keep going on our travels around Italy.

Would advise anyone to stay here if they want to experience the beauty of Italy !

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I must first admit that Bergamo is one of my favorite places in Italy! I had not previously stayed at Il Sole, situated on the main street, right next to the Piazza Vecchia - one of the most atmospheric places that I know - especially on a wet evening when all the tourists have departed.

The hotel is a traditional Albergo, with a good restaurant. It is small, but has perfectly adequate rooms, with small balconies looking out on the courtyard and restaurant below. The staff, some of whom speak good English, were unbelievably helpful and accommodating, energetically helping with baggage (there is no lift), and guidance of the way to get into the hotel, when the restaurant was closed. There is no air-conditioning, which when we visited was not a problem.

Reaching Albergo Il Sole in a car is a "challenge", but quite possible with patience. Free car parking is available within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsimonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daresbury UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a typical Albergo - a restaurant with rooms. Not a hotel with a restaurant. Don't get me wrong our room was very large and very clean, if a little out dated, particularly the bathroom, not complaining. The restaurant makes up for everything, the choice, quality and service was tremendous don't eat anywhere else in the area!
It's location in the old city is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Location is great, in the middle of the citta Alta,but difficult to access with a car. Fortunately the staff will explain where to park. Hotel is a funny maze, with nice large rooms. Negative points are the bathroom, very small, with poor light, and separated by a thin sliding door from the room. And no airco. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapache_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 by accident and had a wonderful time, in part because of the hotel and its staff. I was in Bolzano with a few days to kill and the tourist office there suggested Bergamo among a number of Northern Italian older cities. What a discovery! I wish I had had more time; Bergamo was one of my favorite cities for its shopping, elegance, and food.

The hotel staff were very, very helpful with city information and they gave me a room with a huge bed. It's perfectly located in the old city. The room and bathroom were clean, the TV worked, the place was quiet-- all great for the price. Whoever complained about lack of air conditioning may not have travelled much in Italy. Most hotels at this price don't seem to have it. So I opened the window and turned on the fan...

The restaurant was really terrific, too. I'd absolutely recommend it again-- charming place and reasonable price for the old city.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is average at best. It plays on its location in bergamo which i have to admit is superb on the main square in the old town. Unfortunately it is not superb in other ways. The room was quite large but was dimly lit and bed was past its best. The hotel excelled itself at breakfast with some dry croissants and jam. We wont be staying there again, it was the same price as we paid for a 4 star in the new town and no where near as good.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
1.0 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#21 of 34 in Bergamo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#11 of 34 in Bergamo
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Sole

Property: Albergo Il Sole
Address: Via Bartolomeo Colleoni 1 | Piazza Vecchia, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Il Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo Il Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Sole Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing