We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Gourmet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Il Gourmet
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Bergamo
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel in May 2012. The room was big and airy, and facing the garden. We woke up every morning to the birds. The breakfast was not very interesting, but we brought our own cheese and ham and then it became very nice :) The hotel is situated very close to the bus stop if you arrive with the bus from the airport, and also close to the old town. The hotel is little and we found it very charming and Italian. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but the restaurant looked very nice. Nice staff and we enjoyed having our breakfast outside under the wine leafs. Would like to stay here next time in Bergamo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
33
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

After being advised that we couldn't drive into the old walled city of Bergamo we decided to try anyway. Good thing we did. We found a park in the old city and walked to the Tourist Office for accommodation recommendations. Since we had a car we required parking and this hotel had its own car park - a huge plus when parking is at a premium. We had a corner room with spectacular views of Bergamo (the lower town) below. We were able to explore the ancient walled town and then enjoy our very pleasant accommodation within its walls. This boutique hotel has a lovely ambience and offers quality accommodation. Would highly recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The setting of this hotel sets it aside from all the others in Bergamo Città Alta (the old town up on the hill). At the foot of the steep climb up from the old town towards San Vigilio, that is a spectacular walk either late in the afternoon or early in the evening, the hotel has a wonderful shady terrace where you can sit out and have a very enjoyable breakfast or lunch. There is also a very good restaurant inside. The rooms are spacious with a good firm bed and a pleasant bathroom and I always stay here when I come to Bergamo. I have stayed elsewhere in Bergamo (in the upper and the lower town) when this was fully booked but this is always my first choice. It has its own car park, and is also within walking distance of the bus stop if you come up from the railway station or from Orio al Serio airport by bus.
I generally come here for professional reasons but it would also be my first choice if travelling as a couple or family. Bergamo Città Alta is a place of great charm and beauty and this hotel is well located for anybody wishing to explore it, though due to the steep climb to the Gourmet entrance I suspect that most visitors using a wheelchair would probably prefer the San Lorenzo, that is closer to the main square and not up a hill.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

So what if the hotel seems outdated? When you chose an hotel, you want a clean room, a fair price, you want WI-FI, you want a quiet place in a walking distance from the heart of antique Bergamo, you want nice, friendly and helpful staff, and we got it all here. In addition you get a very nice restaurant, a picturesque backyard with a splendid view on the old city. You just have to be either lucky to find a free room, or make a reservation long before.

Room Tip: See the rooms first, then decide. No elevators, we didn't see one, but didn't need it. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipper_il_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel only a night, as we landed in Bergamo and the following day we drove to Florence. We wanted a hotel in the Upper City and we found what we were looking for. The hotel is just few meters from the old city, and is located in a very quiet position. The staff is very friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was very big, clean, but the furnitures were very dated (almost from 60's). Brown was the predominant color both in the room and bathroom..
In conclusion, it is not a so-called design hotel, but it is good for one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppet, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The rooms are as outdated as described in the other reviews but that doesn't really matter. What did matter was the fact that we didn't sleep at all since the mattresses were placed over a hardboard which was sagging in the middle so that the mattresses ended in an angle of about 30 degrees towards the middle. Too close for comfort, even for a happily married couple!

The food is nice, the service friendly but 130 euro is way too much!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergamo hotels

Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

More of a restaurant with rooms, and very well placed for exploring the old town. This is no luxury hotel, but it doesn't claim to be, and the prices are fair, both for the room and in the restaurant. The room and bathroom were rather dated, but clean and functional, and we had a superb meal despite arriving rather late. Overall, we found Il Gourmet quite charming.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curryking99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
Hotel Piazza Vecchia
#19 of 33 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.4 mi away
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
I Fiori di Marianna B&B
#17 of 33 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#8 of 33 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GombitHotel
GombitHotel
#10 of 33 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior San Marco Hotel
1.2 mi away
Arli Hotel
Arli Hotel
#11 of 33 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Gourmet

Property: Hotel Il Gourmet
Address: Via San Vigilio 1, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Bergamo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Gourmet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Gourmet" Hotel has ten rooms and one suite overall. The rooms, located on two floors, have a magnificent view and are 9 double rooms and 1 single room. The suite, completely independent, has 2 double rooms, a dining area and a terrace (solarium) that the Client is free to use. All the rooms have air conditioned and independent heating, mini bar, satellite TV and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Il Gourmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gourmet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing