We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Stop Over”
Review of La Valletta Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Valletta Relais
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super Stop Over”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Selected from previous reviews and not disappointed. Located on a hillside with great views, 5 minutes by car to the old town of Bergamo, two restaurants within 5 minutes walk of hotel, Shaded terrace for breakfast. Great setting accessed by a winding road up from the main road. Secure parking available in the grounds. Bergamo is a wonderful old town and would take a whole week to explore everything.. Fabulous Here is what we liked:
owners could not have been nicer or more helpful Good fun.
breakfast was delicious -try their cooked eggs
the villa was cosy, clean and interesting
room was large and comfortable -we had a superior room
bathroom was very roomy and the shower was great
having breakfast on the veranda
the setting and the walks
the fine wines and beer from the bar

The only down side for us was the length of time it took travelling from the west- the Como area. We were on motorbikes and hit the rush hour going home on a Friday. No offence meant but Italian drivers ,particularly those on scooters etc, are ,mad' It took us two hours to travel 20 miles.
All worth it in the end tho. Loved it.

Room Tip: Because of the place being fully booked we started off with a standard room for one night and a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    67
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
183
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile


Just stayed 1 night but very memorable.. Bergamo is a beautiful city .. And our hosts were fantastic .. They recommended Mimi for a quick lunch .. Perfect .. And Franco's as a local good priced meal .. Both delivered perfectly.

Location is a very pleasant 15 min walk .. Into the old village .. There is a free shuttle service at selected times.. We used this for dinner in the evening.

Tourist advise was excellent and offered with great detail.

Breakfast included on the balcony and rooms pleasant and large in size

We really enjoyed our stay.. Too short . It is a beautiful city

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is an ideal place to explore Milan, the Lake Region, Venice, and the rest of northern Italy. We stayed in a suite for four, with a private terrace and a beautiful view of Bergamo. The hotel is impeccably run, and Mario and his wife go out of his way to make the stay relaxing and comfortable. This includes a delicious breakfast served on the porch and a free shuttle to Bergamo old town. This place definitely deserves its high ranking on Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancuroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a great place to stay. We needed a hotel that was both close to the old city and the airport, La Valletta turned out to be a fabulous find tucked away in a green oasis just 20 mins walk from the old city. Mario and his charming wife have thought of everything, there is great attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble. Mario drove us into town, booked restaurants and even asked us if we would like our eggs boiled for 3, 5 or 9 minutes! We had a personal reply from him when we booked via a search engine saying that he was looking forward to welcoming us, a nice touch. We upgraded to a suite with a terrace which had great views across the valley. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked again for our return journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

recently stayed at this charming hotel as part of my birthday 'treat' We had already heard that Mario and his lovely wife 'went the extra mile'. nothing was too much trouble for them They even made a reservation for us at a local restaurant. Mario runs a free shuttle service into the local town. This is a much-needed service as taxis are scarce. He also returned us to Bergamo Airport for a very fair price. I cant recommend this hotel highly enough and hopefully we will be returning in the very near future

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Arrival and Location:
This lovely B&B is located on a hill somewhat outside Bergamo. Coming from the East, our satnav guided us to a little road with lots and repeated sings that it wasn't open for traffic. Considering ourselves “residents” we bravely ignored those signs, and the road took us uphill – whilst getting narrower and narrower to the point that oncoming traffic would have been a real problem. The hotel is then easily missed from that direction, as you won't see the gate and the small sign. So if you are coming up the Via Castagneta, look out for a 90° left bend with some cars parking and a bus stop in the corner, then look back, and you'll see the gate.
The place is probably 2km away from the entrance to the historical Citta Alta. You can either walk or rent one of their bikes – which might be somewhat dangerous on that narrow road with bidirectional (Italian!) traffic – or use the hotel owners' very reliable free shuttle service – a 9 seater minivan, and they make the trip to the Citta Alta and back at 10:30 – 15:30 – 17:00 – 19:00 and 22:00. For us that was good enough, but you can get additional rides for € 5.
The owners also provide a parking permit for some area outside the Citta Alta, but finding a slot might still be a problem.

Check in:
Extremely friendly and welcoming. Everything was explained very well on arrival.

Parking:
The hotel provides free outdoor parking on their premises.

The room:
We had booked the “suite” for three nights, with a small bedroom, a lobby / “living area” with a sofa and a coffee table, a reasonably sized bathroom with bathtub, basin, WC and bidet and a large 20 m² terrace with no special views, but the green hills and the scattered houses plus further down some views of the Citta Bassa provided a very relaxing atmosphere.
The bed is a bit on the small (short) side, and tall people will have their feet hanging over.
The curtains do not block the daylight.
The room included a fridge/minibar, a small safe deposit box – not large enough for tablet computers or DSLRs, but ok for passports, purses, phones, smaller cameras – and a somewhat old, but functioning aircon system.
There is free Wifi everywhere, signal strength and reliability were ok most of the time.

The Bathroom:
Is spacious and bright, with a bathtub only. The bathtub is not screened, so taking a shower is a bit messy, alternatively you have to do it sitting or squatting. The bathroom floor is some 10 cm lower than the living room floor, and that results in quite a trip hazard.


Breakfast:
Not included in room rate and available for € 7 per day and person. It is served – at least during the warm season – on the terrace next to the entrance. The buffet is simple and choices, in particular bread, somewhat limited. Some additional items like eggs, cappuccino etc. can be provided at no charge on request. As the breakfast is not included, we suggest to give it a go on the first morning, and then see whether you are satisfied with what's offered, or otherwise have breakfast in town after that. Alternatively you could also buy some own additional items of your liking, store them in the fridge and bring them to the table.

Summary:
This is a small family run B&B with extremely dedicated and friendly owners. Just their warm hospitality makes it worthwhile to stay there. Add the relaxing atmosphere a bit out of town and the great and reliable free shuttle service, and you'll understand why almost everybody loves it and would return – us included!
Suggestions for improvement: a larger bed, shower screens around the bathtub, and getting rid of that trip hazard – or at least making it more obvious.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suite with the large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotomate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts, so friendly and helpful! Stunning location. Great night sleep. Delicious breakfast. Just wish we had longer there. Will certainly return and would highly recommend. Views are beautiful. We stayed here with our two babies. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
1.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
1.7 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
3.0 mi away
BergHotel
BergHotel
#13 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Valletta Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valletta Relais

Property: La Valletta Relais
Address: Via Castagneta 19 | Citta' Alta, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Valletta Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Valletta Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valletta Relais Bergamo
La Valletta Relais Hotel Bergamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing