We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exciting but does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing exciting but does the job”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Location is very convenient, just one block from the train station (15 min from BGY airport with 1A bus). Despite the proximity with the train station the area is not seedy at all, we were coming back late at night and it was always ok. The funiculare to Citta Alta was 20 min walking. Rooms are ok, maybe a bit worn down, but compared to price, it's still good value. Bed is comfortable, rooms spacious, bathrooms too. Breakfast was good value at EUR 6 per person, book online to get 50% discount.

Service: what can I say, they are Italians, you either love them or hate them ;-) Most of the time I love it, for me it was quite entertaining.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panican_Whyasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments, your opionion is very importan and encourage us to keep going with our efforts to always improve the quality of service.
Looking forward on welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards
Eliana VIlla - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    512
    145
    35
    13
See reviews for
96
512
78
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I haven't tried other hotels in Bergamo so I have no comparison but I'd say I have stayed at better Mercure hotels. Starting from the breakfast which was as rich as at the rest of Mercure hotels. Staff was really friendly and rooms were ok. Place is not fresh builded so in next few years it will need some renovation. What I admire - if you step away on the left there is few restaurants and
bars on 100meters distance so you can take perfect cappucino or espresso sitting on a chair in the sun checking new Vouge you bought just around the corner in a Tabak.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retzenzent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
DEar Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Mercure hotels.

Best Regards
Eliana Villa - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Went with my friend for a girlie weekend, this hotel was excellent value for money. The receptionists were very helpful and the breakfast in the mornings were great. Lots of choice for every sort of start of the day. The room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. We had a little balcony to take a breath of evening air. The hotel is in a central location and easy to find

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lizjones_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comment, they are very important to us.
Your opinion encourage us to keep going this way and always improve our quality of service.
Looking forward on welcoming you.
Best Regards
Eliana Villa - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Terrible place, who has allergy for feather duvets - it seems that hotel personnel never heard about that before and they are not able to change it to the synthetic ones. Besides that, the rooms are dark and awfully designed. Hotel is not worth for the 4 stars rating, never come back here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egle_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
sorry for the delay of my reply, I would like to thank you about your comments.
I am sorry that you had problems caused to your allergy, unfortunately we don't have any syntetic duvet, only with feather. Do you wrote about your allergy during your reservation? Please let me know, in order to be able to put in place wright measure to avoid that episode like this will happened again.
Always at your disposal.
Best Regards
Eliana Villa - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
587 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I love Mercure hotels because they are a perfect mid-range options. Having to stay in Bergamo, I chose the Palazzo Dolci, because the photo looked great. And great it was indeed: a beautiful historic building in the city centre. Inside, however, things were slightly disappointing: all very average, from the reception, to the breakfast, to the room and the bathroom. What a pity, a little more attention to details could make it a prefect choice.

Room Tip: I stayed at the back and it was quiet: the view, however, was on a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the delay of my reply and I would like to thank you for your comments.
Your opinion is very important and your suggestion very precious to help us improving our quality of service.
Thank you again for your suggestion, we are always at your disposal.
Looking forward on welcoming you.
Best Regards
Eliana Villa - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Front desk not very knowledgeable. But then the tourist info center wasn't great either. We stayed a week and ran out of things to see. Took bus and train to several others sites. Quite near both train and bus station. Pkg. deal so I don't know how good value it was. Nice bath and shower. All very clean. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Not much hot food. Oatmeal would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suecathrynpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments regarding your stay.
your opionion is very important and push us to continue working to always improve our quality of service.
Looking forward on welcoming you again.
Best Regards
Eliana Villa - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Everything as expected. The room was nice and the personnel really efficient and nice. Just a little problem with the electronic key of my room but the personnel solved quickly. Next time I'll go to Bergamo I'll stay at Mercure Hotel again.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chatel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satorra, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
sorry for the delay of my reply, I would like to thank you about your comments regarding your stay in Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci.
You opinion is very important to us and will let us know that we are doing well and keep improving the quality of our services.
Looking forward on welcoming you again.
Best Regards
Eliana Villa - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#3 of 34 in Bergamo
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Piemontese
0.5 mi away
Petronilla Hotel
Petronilla Hotel
#1 of 34 in Bergamo
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Cappello D'Oro
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior San Marco
6.0 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#16 of 34 in Bergamo
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Property: Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Address: Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII 100, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bergamo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#5 Family Hotel in Bergamo
#8 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel offering 88 rooms equipped with all comfort. The Hotel is located in the city centre of Bergamo (40 km far from Milan) opposite the "Papa Giovanni Congress Center" and near the "Donizetti Theatre", 300 meters from the railway station. The bus station with direct services to Bergamo airport is next to hotel. The Mercure hotel features a bar and facilities for disabled people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci Hotel Bergamo
Accor Bergamo Palazzo Dolci

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing