We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only there were more places like this in other parts in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Rossa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ca' Rossa B&B
Ranked #64 of 177 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If only there were more places like this in other parts in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

My family and I spent a wonderful 6 nights in this quaint b and b. After coming home from a day of sightseeing and hordes of tourist, it was wonderful to come back to the quietness of the hotel and breathe the fresh air. An ample breakfast was available in the garden, which added to the place's charm. The clincher for me, and why I rave so much about Ca' Rossa, is that my husband had to be rushed to the hospital in an ambulance at 3am and if it weren't for Pierangela and Alfonso, who were there every step of the way, I can't imagine how it would have turned out. Pierangela cut short her vacation and drove from 2hrs away to take care of my 9yr old and my 6yr old daughters, while I was at the hospital with my husband and shuttled me back and forth. I sincerely doubt that this would have happened in America or even in a five star hotel. Both of them went above and beyond the call of duty in an effort to help us out. I truly felt that I was with family every step of the way (and the not the disfunctional kind). I can't recommend this place enough to travellers and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojolucena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

just perfect!!!!!!!we've been traveling with 7 month old baby,everything was prepared,baby bed and baby chair.amazing host lady Pierangela picked us up from the airport(its really worth to ask for it).we arrived to b&b unpacked our stuff,were served an italian coffe and she offered dropping us off the old town(you can also walk).you have an amazing view on citta alta from one side and beautyful hills from the other one.rooms are quiet, really cosy,and beds comfortable.thats perfect place to rest after all day walking and visiting downtown or old town(citta alta).breakfast is mindblowing and breathtaking;)))))))))))))i would call it brunch.(real taste of local goods-meats,cheese,fruits and much more).Pierangela is realy helpful with turist advice,where to eat,what to see..she truly took care of us..its the most wonderful b&b owner i've ever met.you will never regret of staying in bbca'rossa!!!!!!!!!!!!we are defenitely coming back soon!!!!!!!thank you Pierangela for such an incredible time!maja&kalle

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is now the 5th time we have stayed at Ca Rossa. I have now booked for next year also. Pierangela and her husband Alfonso are extremely helpful, friedly and caring. The location is ideal for peace and quiet but also in reach of fantastic restraunts. a great location to explore the lakes using the train .
A collection service from the airport for 20 euros is worth it, allows you to settle and gives you the peace of mind that you have reached your destination hassle free.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowGonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

My partner and I stayed here during our 2 weeks in Italy. We found this B+B to be one of the best we stayed in. The rooms were fresh, open + airy, very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom is detached from the room, but you have your own private bathroom. The gardens surrounding the house are exquisite and overall it is was a really lovely experience. The owner of the home is a wonderful hostess, speaks excellent English and is helpful on local area knowledge, restaurant recommendations etc We would most certainly stay here again. Breakfast was yummy + there was plenty of it. In our view - great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Ca'Rossa is situated walkning distance from the charming old city of Bergamo. But this place has all the peacefulness and charming buty of the countryside. The house has beautiful rooms and a garden that you want to spend much time in, from early morning breakfasts to nice rests in afternoon.

Pierangela, Alfonson, and their children are so nice and has welcomed us and helped us when needed in every way. For example when we got lost in dusty warm streets, and grandmother was finished, Pierangela came and brought us home with her car. For us who has stayed at their other lovely B&Bs before, meeting them again and staying with this total hospitality makes us feel "at home". And for sure this is not the last time.

Bergamo is a a very nice town and the surrounding countryside, with possibilities to walk and run is beautiful, and it's easy to get around with the local traffic to see even more of Italy.

So thank you Pierangela for everything and all wonderful memories we have from our stay with you and your family!
See you again for sure!!

/Written by three generations family Bejmer from Sweden

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Italian-Swedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Me and my wife had our 10:th year anniversary in Italy and was recommended by friends that Cá Rossa was a great place to stay at. We were there for 5 days and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The house it selves, with its location up on the hill, was a calm, quiet place away from traffic noise, really relaxing.
The room we had was a double room with a comfortable bed and a TV set we never used ;-) We rented a car and drove around in the vicinity of Lombardy and that was key for us, since we wanted to get up into the mountains, see the lakes. Lago di Como, is the place! Try Varenna and you will not be disappointed, and to see museum and football in Milan.
And last but not least, the landlord Pierangela! She helped us all the way to a great start every morning with a breakfast that had it all, nice bread, fresh fruit, Italian cheese and salami, great omelettes....She also helped us with all other arrangements that we asked for. She is a positive person that makes you feel good. So, yes, we really would like to recommend this place! /Sören and Anneli

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehssoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We arrived off a late flight to find our driver waiting for us which was great as arranged with Pierangela. Unfortunately we were meant to stay in the B&B in the centre of the old town of Bergamo for just one night but there had been a mistake made which Pierangela tried to rectify by email but I was en-route by then so didnt get the email. My advice, give a mobile number!

In Ca' Rossa we had a spacious comfortable room with an overhead fan and lovely shuttered windows looking out over the garden. The public rooms upstairs are comfy with a balcony looking out to the gardens and the old part of Bergamo further in the distance.

We had a lateish breakfast provided by Pierangelas son as apparently there was a problem with the lady who did breakfast.

We had planned to have a look round old Bergamo before returning to the airport to collect our hire car, however due to staying in the out-of-town B&B we accepted a lift back to the airport and moved on rather than returning to Bergamo. An opportunity missed we felt.

Overall we felt unlucky with this B&B, we had such high expectations, but I think a lot of the charm is provided by the hosts and we didnt have the opportunity overnight to meet them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinxscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
2.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergamo
B&B Hotel Bergamo
#12 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#6 of 34 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#1 of 61 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B La Casa di Campagna
B&B La Casa di Campagna
#1 of 177 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Executive
Hotel Executive
#17 of 34 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.5 mi away
AroomS
AroomS
#12 of 61 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Rossa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Rossa B&B

Property: Ca' Rossa B&B
Address: Via Bassani 3, 24123 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' Rossa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing