We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool space, great food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina di Via Colleoni - CLOSED

La Cantina di Via Colleoni
Price range: US$23 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool space, great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stopped into this restaurant for lunch with our daughter when it started pouring rain outside. It was a little early for lunch (the staff was still eating), but we were seated and served drinks and happy to wait a few minutes for the kitchen to open.

We ordered the prix fixe "Bergamo specialties" menu (which was for a minimum of two people, even though that wasn't explicitly written anywhere) and it was fantastic. A board of polenta, cheese, and salumi was extraordinary for a first course, and the casoncelli (a sort of ravioli) were light, buttery, and delicious. The price was quite reasonable compared to many of the touristy restaurants in the area as well, and the portions hearty.

We were on our way to the airport after lunch, so my only complaint is that the staff were not as responsive as I would have liked, taking too long to take our order, being hard to flag down when we needed something, and never bringing the check (had to go to the register to pay). We never clearly specified that we were in a hurry though, and on any other day this would have been a delightful meal in a lovely space (or garden in the back if it's nice out), and one that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drewdraws2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    32
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Enjoyed a fabulous fixed price 2 course lunch plus wine, water and coffee for only Euro 15 at Cantina di Via Colleoni. We sampled the local traditional Bergamo polenta with cured meats and cheeses, then a stunning ravioli that I wish I could cook at home. Friendly service, cute ambiance; romantic yet easy going. I wholly recommend this for a taste of real Bergamo cuisine, or just for a quick but brilliant lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katielips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shresbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fixed price lunch. Great food, lovely atmosphere, fantastic value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on a very miserable day in Bergamo and were cheered by this fixed price 2 course offer (15 Euro) including a glass of very passable Valpolecella and coffee. Quirky fittings including 2 racing cycles just added to the whole thing. If this lunch is anything to go by then the a la carte promises much.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshireshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodnewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Dropped in here for a quick prosecco, saw the menu and came back for dinner. The waiters spoke great english and gave excellent advice on what to eat and drink. Excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Eccellente”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Un posto gradevole, con diversi tavoli un po' troppo vicini tra loro.
Una cucina sicuramente gradevole, superiore alle attese.
Una lista dei vini completa, ben fatta, con prezzi proporzionati.
E personale gentile, che ti ascolta e suggerisce, disponibile.
Tempi di attesa da Enoteca con cucina, qualità delle materie prime buona, cucina ben confezionata, servizio al tavolo eccellente.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lasitdelvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina di Via Colleoni also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing