We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Il Ciliegio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B&B Il Ciliegio
Ranked #29 of 177 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We really liked our stay at this B&B. The bathroom families were above our expectations, and the bed was really comfortable. Filippo is a cordial and efficient host, and the breakfast was abundant and good. The only thing was that we wished the room had a small fridge for cold drinks and fruits, but not many Italian B&B offer this.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zelly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    19
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
53
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a great family room that was interconnecting with a shared bathroom. Both rooms had a lovely balcony, and the house is in a lovely quiet residential area. Filippo the host could not be more helpful, and will give you all the directions, recommendations and transport info you need. The house is approximately 20 - 30 minutes walk (fairly up hill!) to the citta alta (old city), but I think there is a bus you can usually get, that just wasn't operating while we were there. The new city is actually very pleasant too, and the funicular worth doing. I would really recommend staying here, and Bergamo is a lovely little city.

Room Tip: The family room on the first floor is great with gorgeous balconies and views. You do get some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriafull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

It is convenient to stay overnight in Bergamo if you arrive by an afternoon or evening flight. Maybe you rent a car, like we did, and I doubt you can find a better place to stay and let down your shoulders than by Filippo in B&B Ciiiegio. To find the place without too much trouble, you need some GPS (GMAP is sufficient) or a good city map. You are lucky if you hit the right way out from the first big roundabout from the airport, but Bergamo is not too big, and you will succeed quickly as long as you do not enter the Milano-Venezia autostrada.
B&B is equally covenient for the last night in Italy before flying home.
Ciliegio has a private, secure parking space and is located in a quiet villa environment. Rooms and beds are fine, and the bathrooms are excellent. However, some of the rooms share the bathroom. Open free WiFi.
If it is late and you could do with some food, you have a ten minutes walk down the road and 300 meters to the right to a simple but very good and "real Italian" pizza shop. Filippo will advise you. They have ice cream, soft drinks, beer and wine bottles, too, at very reasonable prices. It is next door to a bancomat.
It is half an hour to walk up th ehill to the old city.
In the morning, you get a very good breakfast, with jam, cheese, salami, egg, youghurt, juice.
Isn't there any negative to say? Well, the TV has hundreds of channels, but they are all Italian. If the show is not Italian, it is dubbed in Italian. You don't go to Italia to watch TV, but I must admit we would have liked to see news and weather on e.g. BBC World, DW, Sky news or CNN.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and private bath, if available. Don't forget that you pay in cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joralfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at this bed and breakfast for 4 nights in July. The pick up service from the airport is very convenient especially if arriving late. Filippo does his utmost to make everybody's stay a pleasant one. Very clean rooms and breakfast quite abundant. The location is very quiet with convenient bus stop to the city centre a few metres away. For those who do not mind walking Citta Alta is about 30mins away but can also be accessed from the city centre by public transport.
Filippo also provided the 3 day ticket besides maps and guide books.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcam327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This clean and cosy B&B is located not far from the Old City (Citta Alta), which makes it a pretty good location for Bergamo sight-seeing. The room was very clean, although slightly dark. The breakfast was very nice. The hotel has free parking, which was very convenient. What I liked most is that the owner provides a map and the book about Bergamo, which was very useful during sight-seeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissIzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our family recently stayed in Bergamo for 2 nights at Filipo's bed and breakfast. My husband and I had one room and our teenage daughters had their own room. The rooms were excellent, clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and filling (croissants, yogurt, granola, eggs, coffee, juice, cheese/meat).

Filipo was attentive to our every need and provided us with a guide book and map and the use of umbrellas. He offered suggestions for restaurants and provided us with transportation to and from the train station.

I recommend this bed and breakfast to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Fillippo was so helpful. He gave us his mobile number and came to assist us when we got lost on our way from collecting our hire car. Our room was lovely and had all we needed. Filippo recommended a very good restaurant for dinner.The breakfast was delicious and set us up well for exploring the old town, a twenty minute walk away, Filippo let us leave our car and loaned us a map and guide book. A truly great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergamo
B&B Hotel Bergamo
#12 of 34 in Bergamo
249 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#8 of 34 in Bergamo
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Alisee
Bed & Breakfast Alisee
#33 of 177 in Bergamo
50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dimora Le nove Fate
Dimora Le nove Fate
#2 of 177 in Bergamo
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
UpTown Bed and Breakfast
UpTown Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 177 in Bergamo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Ciliegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Ciliegio

Property: B&B Il Ciliegio
Address: Via Crocefisso 74, 24123 Bergamo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — B&B Il Ciliegio 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Il Ciliegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing