We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!”
Review of Hotel Hamacas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hamacas
Ranked #1 of 2 San Jorge B&B and Inns
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Hotel Hamacas 'cause we were planning to get the earlier ferry to Ometepe. It was a great decision! the hotel is very net, comfy beds and even a/c. The front desk guy was very helpful and so were the kitchen ladies. I think it's a perfect choice if you want to travel early in the morning to Ometepe or coming late back from the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This was a hard decision to make in a strange town. The bus dropped us in Rivas. Taxi cab drivers swarmed us, it was a hairy moment there for a minute.

We stayed at Hotel Hamacas, the most inexpensive hotel of our trip. We agreed (reluctantly) to let a local drive us there from Rivas in his very large SUV - we paid him and he even stopped to say hello to the local police and brag that he was carrying Americans in his car. It was crazy, but we made it.

The hotel is actually fine. The area surrounding is impoverished and walking to dinner you may feel a bit out of place. The "hotel" is set up like a long motel, all bright paint and hammocks. Rooms are basic but contain everything you need including A/C (separate rate I believe) and TV. Breakfast is freshly prepared for you and filling enough to get you going on that ferry to Ometepe.

Hotel Hamacas is just a short walk to the Ometepe ferry and a few restaurants directly on Lake Nicaragua.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sound_and_visionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled to Rivas and stayed at Hotel Hamacas. We were extremely pleased with everything about the B&B. The hosts, Coral and Romel, were so kind and helpful with recommendations on things to do and restaurants in the area. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The hotel has a perfect location going to/from Ometepe Island, Secured parking and wifi. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back to visit on our next trip to Rivas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbleton, Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were not sure we wanted to stay in San Jorge for the night, but circumstances made up sleep at Hotel Hamacas. A beautiful hotel, very colorful and with some quality furniture. Just a few steps to Ometepe ferry and to a interesting italian restaurant. The only drawback, we asked for a non A/C room, which was a mistake! It was unconfortably hot in the room, even with the fan working full speed and full time...Breakfeast was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Hammocks line the porch outside the bright blue, motel-style hotel. It is very clean, with modern bathrooms, a very inexpensive price, and within walking distance of the Lago Nicaragua beach & ferry. It's the place to stay if you have an early morning ferry trip planned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmas_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is a great little place to stay in San Jorge if you are visiting nearby Omatepe Island (Isla de Omatepe). Hotel Hamacas is located within 2 minutes walking of the ferry and has a few little restaurants nearby. The hotel is nice and tidy with a balcony lined with rocking chairs and hammocks/hamacas. It makes for a really comfortable stay.

I was really impressed with the service here, particularly when my husband got sick late at night. Our room was always clean and there was always someone available if you needed them.

The hotel is tucked down a little laneway, so it is very quiet and also safe & secure with gates and guards at night.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for anyone visiting nearby Omatepe

Room Tip: All rooms look fairly similar, but I think some have a double bed and others a double + single bed f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We found Hotel Hamacas in the latest Moon guide. It was only $23 including tax, no a/c, I think you can get it but it's not necessary. It's a few paces from the San Jorge beach on Lake Colcibolca, which is not gorgeous but a very authentic Nica beach. (As in, there are signs telling people not to wash their cars in the lake.) There were several restaurants with comidas tipicas.

We decided to spend a night there before taking the ferry to Ometepe in the morning; at that time the winds were high and we only wanted to travel by ferry in the a.m.

The rooms were immaculate, and it was very shady and well landscaped, for an off-the-beaten-path, cheap Nica hotel. It was charming with dogs and a parrot.

Hammocks outside every room, and there was usually a nice breeze. Very colorful decor, cable TV, reliable electricity.

Breakfast was very simple, but it was a nice outdoor breakfast and the juice was great!

There's not much do to in San Jorge, but we took a taxi to Rivas for the evening and got plenty of local flavor.

If you've got a little time, or want to experience how a lot of Nicas do the beach, spend a night or two in Hotel Las Hamacas.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincinnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jorge
16.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
407 reviews
12.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel Southern Nights / Noches Surenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Julieta
Hotel Julieta
#2 of 8 in Rivas
11 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
Hotel Ecologico Tierra Blanca
#11 of 20 in Moyogalpa
22 reviews
20.2 mi away
Buena Onda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hamacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamacas

Property: Hotel Hamacas
Address: San Jorge Pier 100 Mts West 30 Mts Southe | 5 Kms From Rivas, San Jorge 1979, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Jorge
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Jorge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hamacas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hamacas is located a few meters from the pier of San Jorge, where you can take the ferry to the beautiful island of Ometepe. We are 35 miles of San Juan del Sur, 30 kms to the first beaches of Tola and 40 kilometers from the border of Costa Rica (Penas Blancas). Hotel Hamacas offers a cozy and quiet place, with personalized service. We have comfortable rooms in a natural setting. We offer wireless internet access, 24 hour security and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hamacas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing