We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, Clean, and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hamacas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hamacas
Ranked #2 of 2 San Jorge B&B and Inns
Central America
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint, Clean, and Quiet”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Basic, but clean, rooms. Colorful , garden-like setting. Large open air area for breakfast or hanging out in the evening. Small tienda just across the street. A bit removed from the hustle and noise closer to the port area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZ_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before making the crossing to Isla de Ometepe. Rooms are very basic and clean. If I was to plan my trip again I would try to make the crossing the same day and not stay until the next morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manolito16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilaran
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here for one night because I was new to the area and it was recommended by a Nica friend from Rivas. The room I stayed in was small and cell like. The bathroom was funky and the dribble of water might be used to get wet under. This was not a modern or attractive room. I saw many cars in the parking lot but not because they were staying in the hotel but because they went to Ometepe on foot leaving the cars to be guarded in the hotel lot. But what really got me was the included breakfast. Inedible. Fruit that was dried out and contained the flavors of the frig they spent the night in. Gallo pinto so hard I thought the beans were rocks. Now to be fair maybe that same morning there was about 25 people from an NGO breakfasting early so they could get on their way. Just a few feet from the sand and on the weekends a noisy party beach.

Room Tip: I only saw one room but from other reviews there must be some better rooms. Try and see several room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMonkeyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The area near the ferry was kind of trashy. But this little hotel tucked behind the trees nearby is well kept. The owners have paid attention to detail. Art and antiques make this a quaint hideaway. The grounds are neat and clean. I stayed San Jorge for a night only to view Ometepe because I've run out of time. The hotel is not on the beach but super close. i can hear the crashing waves. The beach is large but not very clean. The view is lovely though.
I've been in Nica for six weeks. The huevos rancheros I had this morning were the best yet. This is a sweet place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chizwuzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My best friend and I stayed at Hotel Hamacas 'cause we were planning to get the earlier ferry to Ometepe. It was a great decision! the hotel is very net, comfy beds and even a/c. The front desk guy was very helpful and so were the kitchen ladies. I think it's a perfect choice if you want to travel early in the morning to Ometepe or coming late back from the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This was a hard decision to make in a strange town. The bus dropped us in Rivas. Taxi cab drivers swarmed us, it was a hairy moment there for a minute.

We stayed at Hotel Hamacas, the most inexpensive hotel of our trip. We agreed (reluctantly) to let a local drive us there from Rivas in his very large SUV - we paid him and he even stopped to say hello to the local police and brag that he was carrying Americans in his car. It was crazy, but we made it.

The hotel is actually fine. The area surrounding is impoverished and walking to dinner you may feel a bit out of place. The "hotel" is set up like a long motel, all bright paint and hammocks. Rooms are basic but contain everything you need including A/C (separate rate I believe) and TV. Breakfast is freshly prepared for you and filling enough to get you going on that ferry to Ometepe.

Hotel Hamacas is just a short walk to the Ometepe ferry and a few restaurants directly on Lake Nicaragua.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sound_and_visionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled to Rivas and stayed at Hotel Hamacas. We were extremely pleased with everything about the B&B. The hosts, Coral and Romel, were so kind and helpful with recommendations on things to do and restaurants in the area. Our room was beautiful and very clean. The hotel has a perfect location going to/from Ometepe Island, Secured parking and wifi. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back to visit on our next trip to Rivas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jorge
16.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
385 reviews
13.2 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
229 reviews
12.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Southern Nights / Noches Surenas
2.7 mi away
Hotel Julieta
Hotel Julieta
#6 of 9 in Rivas
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dalinky
Hotel Dalinky
#3 of 9 in Rivas
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hamacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamacas

Property: Hotel Hamacas
Address: San Jorge Pier 100 Mts West 30 Mts Southe | 5 Kms From Rivas, San Jorge 1979, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Jorge
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Jorge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hamacas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hamacas is located a few meters from the pier of San Jorge, where you can take the ferry to the beautiful island of Ometepe. We are 35 miles of San Juan del Sur, 30 kms to the first beaches of Tola and 40 kilometers from the border of Costa Rica (Penas Blancas). Hotel Hamacas offers a cozy and quiet place, with personalized service. We have comfortable rooms in a natural setting. We offer wireless internet access, 24 hour security and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hamacas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing