We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt stay here again”
Review of Hotel California

Hotel California
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jorge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel California
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

It was a busy weekend, and decided to stay in San Jorge as a stop over to Ometepe Island. We wanted to stay somewhere cheapish near the port. Its only a 5-7 min walk to the port. The rooms are spacious, with a double bed and chest of drawers. There was a tv which didnt work properly. There was air conditioning. There was some hanging space. The shower looked like it was made in the 1950's! We could hear music from the beach at night. We didnt stay for breakfast. The bedroom, sheets and the bathroom were dirty. Not quite sure when they were last cleaned! Not worth the money. We would go straight to ometepe island next time.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

clean rooms-very economical-in a large garden area-i felt like i was out in the country and not in town-the women staff were very helpful and the owner-frank-who has been living in nicaragua for 12 years or more was more than helpful with his wisdom on life in nicaragua-they had the latest ferry schedules and numbers of honest taxistas so we could go into rivas or out to san juan del sur-my girlfriend-nina and i will definitely be back to visit frank and his wonderful staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazytranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed several times in Hotel California and find it quiet and peaceful. I enjoy the fact that I can walk the 5 acres of grounds when ever I need a bit of leg stretching. Just 300 meters from Lake Nicaragua and a dozen beach side restaurants and bars, there is no lack of entertainment. A good spot to leave your vehicle when taking the ferry to Ometepe Island. If you stay for a week or longer as Frank, the owner, for a discount.

Room Tip: The two rooms in the main building are bigger and cost a bit more. Sometimes you can hear the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainMonkeyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We arrived late into Managua. Frank, the owner, came to pick us up for a fee. He was really nice to talk with for the 1.5 hour trip. The next morning, Judy made us a complimentary breakfast. Vey tasty! The grounds are beautiful and Frank's dog, Otis, made us feel at home, as well. His staff gave us a ride to the port. This was a much nicer way to start our vaca, then waking up in Managua. This place is worth the money. It is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: De Imprenta Argentina | 50 mtrs. to the Lake, San Jorge, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Jorge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in San Jorge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing