We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst dinning experience ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mistral

Mistral
Ranked #25 of 66 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worst dinning experience ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Mistral is undoubtedly the most overstated one star Michelin restaurant in the world. The tasting menu was insipid, poorly presented and to top it all, the chef ( if you can call him that) used canned peaches for his "gran finale" What a disaster of a meal.
Avoid all all costs, it is not worth the view and the service was incredibly slow ( missed the 3rd course altogether due to an "internal snafu")

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Pidgin was cold, tuna was old, spinach was soggy, plates weren't warmed, food was simply horrible (not just average).

Location, service, music, decor was great; they just need to get a chef/kitchen staff was somewhere other than McDonalds.

Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAllister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening and exceptional dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband made a reservation at Mistral and asked for a special table because it was my birthday. We were not staying in the hotel. When we arrived they provided us with a fabulous table with a view that I will never forget. Our meal was delicious from beginning to end. We took our waitstaff's suggestions on most everything.

I have not experienced such attention and attention to detail at a restaurant in a very long time. Certainly not at home in the U.S. Thank you, Mistral, for a most memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kandd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced but beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Food was very good but not sure it deserved a Michelin star. The view cannot be overstated -- fully open to the lake and absolutely gorgeous. It feels as if you've turned back in time to a late 18th century or early 19th century luxury restaurant, with live music playing in the background (although selections were a bit cliched). Staff is sweet and eager to please if not trained up to city standards. Even with the hefty prices, we'd definitely return for a special celebration or just to take it the magnificence of Lake Como at its finest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Echo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in Bellagio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Fine dining at its finest ... Menu selection, ambiance, service, presentation, and quality are top notch ... Not enough for you ??? Then you can speak with the Executive Chef and design your own dinner around a theme, such as a preferred wine, which we did one evening ... Or some new dishes not yet on the menu as part of the seven course tasting menu, which we did on another night with our new Bellagio friends ... The Sommelier made perfect recommendations ... We lost count of the number of staff that served our table ... If you want the best that Bellagio has to offer, then Mistral is your place ...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing