We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location, didn't love the hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Positives:
Parts of the hotel are beautiful (grounds, pool, dinning room, etc)
Negatives:
Rooms are old, Hotel needs a lot of TLC.
Most of the staff were not friendly (Felt as if I was putting them out) .
Expected more from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

I read a bunch of reviews on this place and had mixed feelings about coming. But my hesitation proved completely ridiculous. The location is the best in Lake Como. Right next to all restaurants and shops in Bellagio. Bellagio is the heart of Lake Como.

This hotel is a converted old villa and utterly gorgeous. The reliefs on the ceilings and the breakfast room are stunning. Rooms are unbelievable. Beautiful, great towels, modern, big and great views. Perfect.

I'm an experienced traveler and this place is absolutely worth it. Don't stay anywhere else in Lake Como. Several people recommended this place, including natives of Italy. Pool area is pretty. Indoor pool is incredible. Steam room had eucalyptus scent. Lounges are large and beautiful. Staff us knowledgable and friendly. Turndown service is good. There is a place to swim in Lake Como-- a dock and diving board.

Breakfast is horrible but that is the only bad thing I have to say about this place. I hear the restaurant is not a good value. But there are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.

Love it. Wish I could live here. If you're coming to Italy, don't miss the most beautiful town in the world.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

There are times when single individuals dominate the perception of a hotel, and this is one of those times. The head concierge, Luciano is an impeccable and sophisticated professional who has been in his position for many years; a holdover from a time of grace and service you just don't commonly see nowadays. When you first enter the lobby, it is the concierge desk that is prominently in front; the reception desk has been relegated to a back room. Need a private boat immediately? No problem. Need a dinner reservation? Luciano walks you outside to ensure you head in the right direction. The concierge staff care deeply that you feel important and are having the best time possible.

The hotel experience is exactly what it advertises itself to be and why you come to Lake Como; an aristocratic, rambling country villa with spectacular lakeside and mountain views that has been around a long time like aged vintage wine. Paint is thick, wood paneling and doors are not perfectly planed to give more of a relaxed, country look. Carved ceilings are done in a warm, honeycomb pattern or painted with country patterns along with comfy cane chairs charmingly mismatched in the lobby sitting room and bar. Pieces of roughly-carved over-gilt gold mirrors and sconces emphasize the country estate theme. Couristan-like persian carpet in the room was green. Exteriors maintain a slightly weathered look, and the grounds are full of flowers. Exceptions to the rule is the buffet breakfast spread out in the opulent ballroom.

Value-wise, this is a great place to stay in Bellagio, convenient to town yet having its own self-contained ambiance. Aside from the outstanding, world class concierge team however, I would say that attitude and service does not exude that impeccable training, efficiency and "caring" attitude you would expect from a 5-star establishment.. There was wireless access from the lobby only.

If you drive, getting to the hotel is a tricky; you have to navigate what I initially thought were pedestrian-only alleyways in Bellagio but are not! In addition, I drove up the western side of the middle peninsula to get to Bellagio, and although beautiful driving through countless narrow village streets, having to squeak by or even back up when large buses or trucks were coming was a bit more than I bargained for: opt to drive up the eastern side of the peninsula which has less villages, or take the car ferries from the outer lake shore to Bellagio.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Villa Serbelloni is probably located in one of the most amazing sceneries in Lake Como. The hotel is grandiose and the food is excellent at all the hotels restaurants (even though very overpriced).

What could be an unforgettable stay turns out to be very disappointing because of the service, not so much at the restaurants, but more on the rest of the staff who is actually quite rude and careless. During my stay, I was unfortunately not the only one complaining about this issue.

Fix the service issue, lower a bit the restaurant prices, then it would be paradise!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoastedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My wife and I got married at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni in May 2011. Our review will therefore, naturally, encompass our overall experience of hosting our wedding at the hotel, as well as our 2 night stay. We had been coordinating with Stefania for almost a year, and she was phenomenal. She was attentive, not pushy in any way, and accomodating to our personal requests for the big day. We stayed in one of the suites with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was very spacious, with a clear tone of grandeur (high ceilings, crown moulding etc). The food at our reception was amazing and many of our guests were raving about how good the food was, particularly the ravioli and the beef!! The entire day was perfect and the staff at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni provided service that made our day go smoothly and without any hiccups. The hotel even has its own personal pier for boats taking people to and from the hotel which we used for our cruise after the wedding. Like its name suggests, the hotel is definitely very "grand". I would acknowledge that if we were staying here as our main hotel for our stay in Bellagio, it may have been on the pricier end of things!! But for our grand occasion, the hotel and its wonderful staff were exactly what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griswalds007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

An amazing stay, I cannot think of anything negative to say about the hotel itself, the location and staff commitment have got to be the best. The food was superb and it started off as the perfect holiday. However, when a convention arrived the beautiful calm atmoshere changed to a manic one, breakouts around the pool, people on laptops in the magnificent lounge and annoying phonetalk in the restaurant. Also the dress code does not seem to apply to conventions which makes for a weird contast of suits and cutdowns.

Room Tip: Check to see if they are hosting a convention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzytravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I can't believe this hotel in not #1 in Bellagio, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Bellagio! My last review of this hotel was from the 1st time we came to Bellagio on our 20th wedding anniversary and we were given one of only 2 rooms in the hotel with a HUGE private balcony! EVERYTHING about this hotel, the location, and the staff was just magical! Yes, it's an older hotel with slightly older carpet... but who cares about carpet when you are in the most AMAZING location on earth? The setting of the hotel on the water, the gorgeous gardens, the covered patio on the edge of the lake, the POOL that you can lounge at all day and still not believe you are seeing such a spectacular view as Lake Como, it's ALL more than one place should be allowed to have! This past summer we took our 3 daughters to Bellagio b/c I couldn't stop thinking about it and talking about it and crying about it when we got back. I knew our girls would love this place like we did but I wasn't ready for them to fall in LOVE with it like we did. They had the same feelings of never wanting to leave this hotel and making new memories with them made this hotel even more special to us. Luciano and the staff at this hotel are like family and we so kind to help us an any way, even when I got sick for a couple days! We stayed in the apartments with the girls to cut down on the cost this time, but still felt we were treated just as well and it was nice to have a kitchen and some space for the girls. We have made lasting memories at this hotel and this town and it has made our girls fall in love with Italy so much so that we have made sacrifices in our life so we can travel back again this coming summer! Don't miss this jewel of a hotel and make sure you sit in the music room at night and enjoy the music and ambiance of this hotel. You will realize you are making memories you will carry with you for the rest of your life!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauralegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
773 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
11.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £394 - £657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing