We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, unfriendly and outdated mausoleum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced, unfriendly and outdated mausoleum”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The location of Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni in Bellagio is magnificent, with amazing views and access directly onto Lake Como. However, the atmosphere within the hotel was reminiscent of a museum. The staff were supercilious and the service was indifferent. Breakfast was mediocre for a five star hotel and many items carried additional charges.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suzielegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    189
    65
    29
    24
See reviews for
137
422
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
so.cal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have reviewed this hotel before...but I keep coming back! The first time I set eyes on this hotel, I was in LOVE. It has such a majestic presence in Bellagio and the views from the hotel are spectacular. I have been back every year since that 1st time and even had a DREAM of hosting events here, which came true last September. I am so thrilled to have hosted a woman's "Creative Retreat" here last year and show others how beautiful this place is. I have to say that the hotel and the staff organized everything so professionally, down to every little detail. The ladies were treated to a week of pure enjoyment and I'm happy to say I'm going to be doing this event for years to come at this hotel! This is a hotel (and location) you don't forget. I've had such great response from the ladies who came to the first event and now have so many more wanting to come to future events here. You just don't find classic elegance like this hotel anymore. You truly feel like you are stepping back in time as you stroll the grounds of this place and imagine Winston Churchill walking these same steps... Yes, it's not a modern hotel and may not have everything you are used to coming from the U.S. But that's the charm. Step back in time, forget about fast internet, enjoy listening to music in their grand parlor at night and enjoy this hotel and all it's charm. Even if you don't end up staying here, I highly suggest enjoying their music room at night with a cocktail and a couple hours to spare. One warning: if you do stay here, you will dream about it and want to come back again and again. I almost hate to share this little secret, but I had heard of people coming back year after year, 10 year, 15 years... and now I can't believe I'm one of them! This june will be our 6th time and I'm sure it won't be our last. This is like a 2nd home to our family (without the expense of keeping up a 2nd home abroad) and the people who work here are like family to us. Counting down the days until our next trip...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

“I’d not been to the Como area for 12 years... we decided on this classic hotel at the referral of an old family friend and are sure to someday return! What a special place, marked by lakeside glamour and old world charm. What was a more attractive feature than the famed (and wonderful, I can attest!) Villa D’Este, is that this property sits at the edge of the charming town of Bellagio. I loved that we never had to get in a car to get to dinner, to enjoy a gellato, to stroll. Recommend a minimum three-day stay and do be sure to make time for the bits & pieces I extracted for you in this review – some wonderful places to see, visit and eat.”

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Just being on Lake Como provides for a wonderful experience. Being able to stay at the Serbelloni, takes the experience to a whole new level.

The hotel is everything one would expect from a 5 Star property in such a wonderful location. The rooms, although a little tired were very clean and appointed as well as any in European grand hotels. The restaurants were all great and the food was of high class and breakfast was exceptional in terms of quality and variety. The staff were extremely friendly, pleasant and helpful all the time.

The hotel is located at one end of Bellagio offering a perfect location to walk around the town both up the hill and on the lake side and is well placed to experience all Lake Como has to offer, being very close to the ferry terminal. A definite must.

Room Tip: Get the biggest room you can afford and facing the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWiseTraveller_RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We arrived into Bellagio by water and it's the best way to enter such an amazing town. The serbelloni is a major attraction in the town and has quite a presence. The staff where friendly and the there was a certain elegance and charm to the place that showed Italian money. The rooms were dated and not 5 star at all but the experience was great and we enjoyed it. Lemoncello in the lounge is a must!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I kept waiting for Lana Turner to come around the corner draped in a mink stole. Loved loved loved the grandiosity of the Villa. Beautiful ball room, fabulous public lounges and restaurants. The grounds and gardens were lavish and well maintained. The view was unrivaled. The rooms were huge and beautifully appointed. The bathrooms were also very large with a great bathtub and separate shower. The linens and towels/bathrobes were luxurious. The bath products were of the highest quality. Breakfast was included and delicious. Lack of fresh squeezed orange juice seemed incongruous. All in all the hotel was fantastic. Service was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A wonderful hotel with a fantastic setting and professional staff. Dinner in Mistral was memorable and staff here very friendly. Once here we never wanted to leave although it is worth it to use the water taxis to see the rest of the Lake.

Room Tip: Fantastic toiletries. Junior suites on top floor were worth the extra just for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing