We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and bath and location but not the friendliest front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and bath and location but not the friendliest front desk”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, great baths with separate shower, tub and toilet room. Friendly maids who did an excellent job. The restaurant staff in the evenings was understaffed but our waiter was very pleasant and kind. He needed skates! Check your bills at the bar and front desk if you buy stamps or order drinks. Make sure the count is correct. The food was very good. The front desk was not very friendly..I gave up trying to get a hello or smile as I walked by. So if you want a clean nice room and don't expect 5 star smiles, I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We had one looking over the lake..beautiful...only a view from the window, no balcony. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatFallsHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you very much for your overall positive feedback on rooms, food and service.
I have passed on your note about the smile to our front office staff.
On your next visit they will do better !!
Thank you for your recommendation and arrivederci !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    189
    65
    29
    24
See reviews for
137
420
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crosby, Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our second visit to GH Villa Serbelloni, and it was as good as the previous year. Everything was immaculate and the staff treated guests with the utmost courtesy, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a feast, with something to suit all tastes, and the dining room décor was just stunning. Evenings in the lounge with the trio playing classical and dance music just took you back to another era. Bellagio itself is a beautiful village with cobbled, stepped streets, lots of excellent restaurants and pretty shops selling quality goods, silk and leather. There are many lovely villas to visit around Lake Como and the boat services are excellent. We would definitely return to Bellagio and to this hotel if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlover067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your second visit to Villa Serbelloni and for the words of appreciation for the staff, breakfast, live evening trio and the hotel in general. Thank you for reminding the readers of Bellagio excellent location and for the many shops, cafes and restaurant all at arm’s length from the Hotel.
See you soon in Bellagio for a third visit
Arrivederci !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Beautiful setting etc but make sure you check if there is a wedding or private party booked for when you are planning to stay. We were 'treated' to obnoxious loud and terrible music which started late on a Sunday night. As were half of Bellagio. Not good for first impressions or jetlag. Front staff were not helpful merely saying private parties can do what they wish. Great if its your party, not so much if a restful night is what you want. Not. Impressed.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience about the music if in any way this has have caused you any sort of inconvenience. We do have rules for parties and music can only play until midnight. And they did stop at midnight sharp.
On the other hand the hotel is a small community where guests should understand those special moments of happiness in everyone’s life.
Please join me in wishing the newlyweds a lot of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A gorgous hotel, beautiful murals on ceilings,breakfast was wonderful,the scenery from our room was stunning, The town itself is quaint,plenty of shops and restaurants, a truly wonderful, beautiful place,I have been twice and would defiantly go back, the views ate absolutly breathtaking

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Tracey,
Thank you for sharing with us your memories about our property, location and services.
I look forward to seeing you for a third visit
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was not staying here but checked it out for a future visit.
Lovely location.
Lovely public area
Lovely pool area.
BUT
Dirty toilets in the ladies!
Sorry I cannot stay in a hotel that cannot keep clean toilets

Room Tip: did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dude65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on location, public area and pool.
Thank you for reminding us that not everyone knows how to use a public toilet.
Although we check them regularly these things unfortunately may happen.
My apologies on their behalf.
If you change your mind you know where we are.
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chestnut hill
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We just returned from our trip to the lake district in Northern Italy, having stayed in 3 of the "grand hotels." The Grand Hotel villa Serbelloni was magical. The hotel is glorious, the rooms large and comfortable, the staff gracious. An absolute A+

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Nancy,
Thank you for your review and for the A+ on the Hotel and the comments on our staff.
Arrivederci !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Having just returned from a stay at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, I must say I am shocked to see all of the positive reviews on this website. Despite its strenuous efforts to convey a sense of luxury (images of elegant ladies printed onto the wallpaper borders, the word "luxe" imprinted on every available surface), we had no experience that could be classed as genuinely luxurious. I can only imagine that the five-dot ratings are a way of resolving the cognitive dissonance which arises when one spends over 500 euros a night for a hotel where the rooms are outdated, the service lackluster, and the atmosphere a tacky imitation of opulence.

First, to be fair: the views are spectacular. Really, the place is gorgeous, and gazing up at the hotel facade from the pool I could almost forget the troubles that awaited within. The pool staff is very kind and attentive. The lounge chairs are crowded together, and look like something you could buy at Target, but all in all we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves.

Now for what's wrong: nearly everything else. We should have known something was up when we were required to pay for a night in advance and agree to a draconian cancellation policy of 50%. We understood fairly quickly why this policy is in place: we wanted to run pretty much as soon as we stepped inside, and may have--sacrificing the money--had any other decent hotel in the area had vacancies. I will be posting pictures of our room and other areas of the hotel, but in case they don't upload properly: Despite the manager's insistence that any who criticize the decor and the atmosphere are cretins who don't understand grand old hotel style, we found the rooms to be not only antiquated but cheaply-appointed. The artwork was creepy, the furniture a strange stripey lacquered-red, the bed topped with the most peculiar half-duvets you've ever seen. Though the housekeeping was mostly quite good, one of said duvets had a bloodstain on it and was clearly not changed throughout our stay.

I can't comment on the restaurants--we didn't eat at either of them once during our stay. Why? Because on the first night, after a long drive into town, we attempted to get dinner at the poolside casual restaurant and were told there was no availability. The fact that we were hotel guests seemed not to matter, and the check-in staff had not advised us to make a reservation. Even worse, the maitre-d was evasive: he first told us that it would be a half-hour wait, and upon my insistence that he take down our names and reserve us a table, he confessed that it might actually be "more than 45 minutes." He would have been content to have us bobbing up and down between the bar and the restaurant all night, waiting for a table that clearly would never materialize.

All of this would be forgivable, or at least understandable, if we had been paying significantly less. The manager has a habit of replying to reviews like this, and has claimed repeatedly that the prices are "consistent" with other five-star hotels. That's for sure--but the experience is not. We have no problem paying a lot for a hotel, and would have paid even more at this one for a lake-view room had there been one available at the time of booking. A recent reviewer has said that it is unfair to compare the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni to a luxury chain like Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental, because it is quaint and old and "traditional" and all that jazz. Fine, but then don't charge like a luxury chain, because the Serbelloni fails on so many basic levels that no amount of charm--which, sadly, eluded us--could save it. Yelling "tradition" and "luxury" really loudly does not make them so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellieg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for visiting our property, I’m sorry to hear that you did not like the atmosphere of Villa Serbelloni.
As I have written in previous posts, I know that the old fashion charme of our hotel does not suit everyone but the majority of those guests who, year after year, keep on coming back (as in the movie with Vanessa Redgrave and Uma Thurman “A month by the Lake”).
The fact that you are shouting your opinion louder does not make you an opinion maker, hence, I am not shocked, as you are, to see so many positive reviews. When a client criticizes the decor I simply think that his opinion/taste is different from mine and, obviously, I will try to make my point. Please allow me to emphasize that I never thought of anyone as a cretin just because his ideas differ from mine.
Whether you believe it or not, the Hotel spends a lot of money every year in maintaining this belle epoque Hotel. During the closing months we replace carpets, repaint walls, replace furniture in the rooms, add new services. Over the years we have built a fitness center, 2 garages, indoor pool, beauty center, restaurants etc. The antiquated room/floor you have stayed in has been completely rebuilt and refurbished 4 years ago.
Now, if you consider the room you stayed in as antiquated just because you didn’t like the new stripy lacquered-red furniture (by the way, it is not lacquered but it’s the natural color of the Purple Heart tree inlaid with Maples tree and polished with beeswax) or the peculiar half-duvets (other clients have been asking us where to buy them) then I’m a little puzzled as to what you consider antique, classic or modern.
As a recent reviewer wrote, it is unfair to compare our Hotel to a Four Season because the philosophy behind our companies is completely different. It is like comparing a Rolls Royce to a Ferrari.
Obviously the two luxury companies serve two different categories of luxury people, each with its own luxury brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing