We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Old-World Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni was a slice of old world paradise. It's a beautiful hotel with THE best view in all of Bellagio. Staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was served in a gorgeous dining room redolent of the Belle Epoch. The food itself was nothing to write home about but to dine in such opulence made up for what the comestibles lacked. I thoroughly enjoyed laying by the grand pool, taking in the glorious vista of the hills of Lombardy. Our bedroom was simply and elegantly appointed with a beautiful large window overlooking the lush gardens. This hotel definitely an older establishment with the pomp and pageantry that goes along with that, but that's not always a bad thing. I have no regrets about choosing this as home for my first visit to Lago di Como. It was a treat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theecstaticflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel primarily due to its location and reputation. We were not disappointed at all, and received very good service and accommodations here. The area is breathtaking, and we felt as though we were perfectly located for experiencing everything that Lake Como had to offer. You can do MUCH worse.

Room Tip: Our west facing room had a panoramic view of the mountains across the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week in October, this was our fifth time here over the past 17 years. We found the friendliness and professionalism of the staff to be outstanding, many of the staff have been at the hotel for years. My wife has food allergies and the hotel was extremely accomodating in preparing food she could eat. We will definitely return to one of our favorites places.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a direct view of the lake, 1st and 2nd floor is preferred as the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

With a beatiful Lake Como view,
The place looks old, and smells old, but well mainteined, staff always friendly, the nice breakfast we had at the reale and you must have dinner at the Golletta , my second stay in some years here and maybe the place is so friendly with the people that you forget that you are in Italy and feel home, my favorite spot in nearby Milan area.

Room Tip: Take a walk in Bellagio, and have some peacefull coffe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We visited the Hotel Villa Serbelloni in the end of September 2013. Our first impression of the Serbelloni was the wonderful bellman/doorman who greeted us, by name, with a big welcome! After a hectic week in Paris the week prior to our visit, it was wonderful to sit by the pool or on the chaises overlooking the lake and decompress. Drinks in the outdoor bar were a highlight and the service was very relaxed, but on point. The only available rooms for our stay were garden rooms...I would recommend the lake front rooms if they are available. The church bell tower was very close to all three of our rooms and woke us up very early every morning. We also heard deliveries or trash pick up in the wee hours of the morning. We did however spend very little time in the room and the location of the hotel far outweighed the quality of our room. Bellagio is a beautiful town with many shops and restaurants located within cobble stoned streets. We had considered staying in a lake front room at the Grand Hotel Tremezzo but decided the location of Bellagio was where we wanted to be. I am so glad we did! Breakfast was nothing remarkable, but it suited our needs. The concierge gave us great dinner recommendations to restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. One afternoon, we booked a boat tour with Bellagio Water Taxis and couldn't have been happier. Jennine was FABULOUS to schedule us and Luca gave us a wonderful tour of the lake.
We had beautiful weather in late September and I would not hestiate to go back to the Villa Serbelloni in the future.

Room Tip: Splurge on the lake front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiegio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was lucky to spend some summer holidays at the Grand Hotel Villa serbelloni when I was a child and they are to date my fondest memories. I actually learnt to swim in the lake when I was 6. I remember the fantastic food in the different restaurants, the Italian feel and the great service from staff, from reception to chamber maids. My favorite staff member were the barman and the piano player in the lounge, they know how to cater for kids and adults alike. It has an old charm and it is not your typical 5 star hotel (Hilton for ex) but you cannot find this type of beauty anywhere else. I would love to go back but the prices have increased drastically since I was a child, maybe in about 10 years time I could afford it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOLANetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the very end of the season - late October - and enjoyed it greatly. Close family involvement in the management over four generations really shows, this is no chain hotel. The splendid grotto-style indoor pool was great for the children after long days sightseeing, while the dinner we had in the Golletta restaurant, apparently the less formal of their two restaurants (it is decorated like the interior of an old classic yacht, with one end looking over the lake) was the best we had in Bellagio. Our room was comfortable and nicely done, also with stunning views over the lake, the hotel's setting is amazing. On the steep mountainside opposite, apparently inaccessible between faces of sheer rock, is a tiny chapel, S. Martino; we took the ferry over (to Cadenabbia) and hiked up there, well worth it, the views are spectacular. And the hotel's little diving board on a platform in the lake - where the hotel has private bathing, as well as its pools - made us want to return in the summer. Well my wife in particular, she plans to be the shingle-haired beauty in the one piece bathing suit in the 1930s posters.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank tombrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
Yes, the hotel is privately owned, no chain, and this shows the great involvement of the family in the running of the business. The Goletta restaurant is the less formal, nevertheless menu are orchestrated by the same Michelin star chef as the formal Mistral restaurant.
I’m glad you enjoyed the hikes on the mountains as well as the Hotel swimming pool.
Now you have to come back next summer to try out the diving board in the lake !!!
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
783 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £415 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing