We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Lake Como”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We returned to stay again here in June 2014. I am pleased to report that it seems to just get better and better. The hotel has unsurpassed views of the lake, the food is magnificent (Mistral is a must try), gardens resplendent and service unfalteringly obliging. Special mention must go to Stefania the manager of the hotel, who cannot do enough for the guests and bends over backwards to make people feel welcome and at home, as does her assistant Antonio. Special thanks to Omar at breakfast who was also wonderful. We will definitely be back. I can hardly wait.

Room Tip: These are the views from the rooms on the water, and at the magic poolside location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 273TimO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Tim,
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am pleased to hear that you have so enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I hope that, in the future, our performance continues to improve for each visit. I will happily pass on your kind words to our staff, who work so hard to provide impeccable service.
We hope to see you again soon at the Serbelloni!! Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

It is probably thanks to Tripadvisor that we stayed at the Serbelloni (or, as our incidental acquaintances from Canada jokingly referred to it, the “Sir Baloney”) as everything else seemed to be booked out when we made the short-term decision to visit Lake Como at the Pentecost weekend. When we arrived we were prepared to face the inconvenient conditions that had been referred to on Tripadvisor. Yes, indeed: we had already seen nicer bathrooms and more qualified staff before, but the magnificently renovated historic building of the Serbelloni made up for it all.

The original Neo-Renaissance villa of an Italian aristocrat was converted into a luxury hotel by an inventive Swiss businessman in the second half of the 19th century. Staying in a room with a 5 meter high stucco ceiling, we felt set back into the Belle Epoque. The building is decorated with frescos everywhere and breakfast is served in the amazing old ballroom. We were surrounded by historic furniture all around, all of it nicely renovated. One rarely sees such a perfect example of an old grand hotel. We also loved the private beach. It is a pity that motor boats are allowed on the lake, we found them quite disturbing. All in all, the Serbelloni was the perfect choice for the weekend: something uniquely different.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suisse_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your stay with us. We are proud to maintain the classical, Old World atmosphere original to the property, built in 1815, and are happy to hear that you so enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon in Bellagio. Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. And the service and breakfast were magnificent. Our only issue was that the room had no drawer space, only an armoire. However, the staff provided a bureau (amazingly) after we mentioned the lack of drawer space. We will definitely stay here again in a future visit to Lake Como, one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Williasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including the accommodations and breakfast in our Salone Reale. We were pleased to be able to accommodate your needs for an additional armoire, and are always eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Bellagio! Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel itself is absolutely stunning and full of history. Unfortunately, my wife and I did not have a great experience. We stayed for two nights at the end of May, and, while the temperature was 80° F., the hotel refused to turn on the air conditioning for us and asked us to open our balcony doors to try to alleviate the heat and stuffiness of our room. That solution was not effective, and coupled with the fact that our balcony faced the direction of an extremely loud club/party, did not allow us to sleep at all. After complaining and pleading to be moved to another room in the hotel, they finally agreed to do so at 3am on the second night. The staff we dealt with were not helpful, had defensive and accusatory attitudes, constantly made excuses, and actually lied to us about actions they were taking to rectify the situation on two occasions. The defensive manner in which the Manager chooses to respond to negative reviews on Tripadvisor is consistent our experience with the hotel staff. We have stayed at five star hotels all over Italy, and can confidently state that the service at this hotel is the poorest we've encountered. We will not be returning to the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ch0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review. During the early part of the season, while temperatures have remained low, it is difficult on a day with an unusual spike in temperature to meet air conditioning needs, especially when the nights remain cold.
We are, however, equally confused as to what occurred during the night you were moved, as the neighboring room had complained the following morning about a constant banging on the wall next door coming from your room and, the following morning, specifically asked to be moved away from your room. We received no other noise complaints about parties taking place outside the property except from yourself and your neighbor.
Often my replies are more diplomatic than defensive and not all negative reviews lead to a lack of service or unfriendly service.
We appreciate your business, and if at all possible arrivederci !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I are lucky enough to live in what we think is a lovely house that really and truly is a "Home"
When we return to Villa Serbelloni - as we have on numerous occasions - it is like returning 'home'

It is like 'somewhere in time' - where the staff really care about the customers and for us remember us. The service in 'The Mistral' (restaurant) is second to none. They care, they are professional, they are dedicated to providing the highest standards. The bar staff are excellent. The chef(s) supreme. The food is to die for, never deviating from the highest standard of taste, appearance and delivery.
we stay in some of the best hotels in the world - AND this ranks up there for position, service, food and all round attention to detail. Am I biased?? Possibly!! Are we overstating the service?? Never!! Will we return again?? It would take death to stop us!!!! - And then I would haunt the brilliant staff solely to witness their attention to detail. Carlo, Mauro, Alessandro, Francesca, Daniele, Leonardo the hotel services team, the concierge team (although so sorry that Luciano had retired) the reception staff and the bar team as well as everyone else - all superb, But we would be very remiss not the mention Berti who is such a lovely man and so very professional. He has the experience, professionalism and dedication to make us return over and over again. So all the rest of the team have Berti to blame for that!!!!! Thank you all. Brilliant team - and in this day and age - you are unfortunately - a rarity!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have there benefits - all views are spectacular - and we have probably seen all the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Need to add more to this…
Thank you truly for your kind words. We are happy to be your home away from home!! Your kind words for our staff, and for sharing your experiences. I will happily pass on thanks to Carlo, Mauro, Alessandro, Francesca, Daniele, Leonardo, and Berti. We are happy to be of service to you, and hope to see you again very soon in Bellagio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First stayed here 5 years ago and nice to be back. Old vibe not for everyone, amazing location and views. Room was clean, bath supplies were cheap, last time good quality. Beautiful grounds and pool. Stayed 3 nights and could have stayed longer. The main staff provides excellent service, but noticed many new inexperienced staff, except at the main dining room, all professional servers. Excellent breakfast fix for a King, all fresh and stuffed ourselves. Hope to return some day

Room Tip: Ask for water view, try to go off season for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuenoOrNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review, and for staying with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, the hotel, and the breakfast in our ballroom. Because we are a seasonal hotel, we do have a number of staff that are replaced regularly, but all the heads of departments have been here for many years, some even decades, and they help to maintain the professionalism and service standards for our new staff.
I hope that it won’t be another five years before we see you again in Bellagio! Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a corner room (66) with a beautiful view of the lake/mountains out one window and a side view of the garden. You can open the window to heard the birds and breathe the air. The room is nicely furnished and bed is very comfortable. Breakfast was good and the servers attentive. Bellagio with all the shops and fantastic views is a great place to visit. Villa Serbelloni makes it even more special. You'll not want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank married96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for sharing your positive review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the accommodations, and the services you received.
I hope you will stay with us again soon. Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £414 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing