We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic decadence of italian empire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Iconic decadence of italian empire”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

If you arrive in bellagio, for a weekend, for a sunset strip, or for a while, you're expecting the top classic standards of excellence of italian tradition. The natural beauty around is already stunning, and is easy to impresse whit few details. No, in serbelloni, the service remember me the old style lost. For The two old waiter seems very difficult to smile. The look too serius and maybe forget about what a magical place they are working everyday into. On the terrace all the stuff service is terrible. We order a Serbelloni royal, kip royal, dreaming about one 007 perfect italian drink, but we receive two flute of confused no champagne no drink for only (40 euro) - a drink that maybe i can find in the bar on the boardwalk close to the parking. The aperitivo is simply ridiculus. 4 olivs, bad quality and bad presented, a few chips of one week before, and 2 slices of bread with 2 peaces of supermarket salami. In the age of city like dubai or shangai, what means 5 stars luxury hotel? Only a big house on a beautiful island? We just arrive in bellagio late afternoon, planning to book a room there, and have a dinner at the terrazza restaurant, but after see the low profile service we decided to run away from serbelloni. I ask myself how the fb manager of a place like that can get a salary from the management. A place can get millions, is a place where everybody is happy to see few swiss and german rich turist. Nothing more. Stunning facilities bad atmosphere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    179
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
136
400
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a wonderful property located on the lakeside. The service is impeccable and everything about the place reeks of understated ageless class. Having said that the team are not snobbish and you can feel quite comfortable sitting in the wonderfully richly furnished lounge and not being made uncomfortable if you do not order something to drink! The prices in this establishment are in line with its status - very high! So be prepared to have your wallet hurting else eat and drink elsewhere. The rooms ( even the lowest priced ones at euro 440 per night) are fine and well appointed. If you cannot afford to face the lake then try get one on the side they seem to be better.
Warning - a lake view on the top floor(level 3) will only be lake view if you stand and peer over the balcony which has a high concrete wall) or if you sit on the bed.
The breakfast room is an absolute feast for the eyes and lets you imagine what it must have been like with the original inhabitants to enjoy such luxury.
The hotel's pool is one of its standout features and is the envy of the town as there are only one or two other places nearby with pools. From the hotel you can get anywhere in the village in 3 to 5 minutes - fantastic little alleys and restaurants to explore. The only single complaint for the hotel is that while wifi is free it is very very slow and weak signal - needs to be fixed and set in keeping with everything else about the place which is wonderful and a real treat. Roberto at front concierge deserves a special mention very friendly and helpful. We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirrobertflashard
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at the villa serbelloni with my wife celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary . The location is stunning , on the peninsula at the end of bellagio with uninterrupted views of lake .

We had a lake view double delux room which had a double balcony .

The room was large with a small lounge area and two sets of French doors onto the terrace .

We had bed and breakfast only , the breakfast was very good , full continental with an option of scrambled eggs ( best we have ever had ) and bacon .

The hotel public areas are very impressive and the pool area is clean with plenty of beds .

There are also beds immediately next to the lake which are also great

There is a diving board and platform in the lake which are real good fun .

The hotel bar prices were quiet expensive which is what we expected in such a quality of hotel

Overall a fantastic property , 2 minutes walk to centre of bellagio

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sirrobertflashard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

What an amazing hotel and place, this is the stuff dreams are made of .. beautiful hotel, gorgeous rooms, fantastic view, breathtaking location. Staff were amazing, helpful. Fantastic breakfast room. Great music nightly.

Room Tip: Divine hotel, breathtaking view, cobblestone town, quaint !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stelanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellent hotel! Amazing view! Very comfortable room. If you go, choose the room with a balcony and lake view! I went with my husband for our honeymoon and it was a great experience. The room and the bathroom have lots of space and it is very comfortable! As we were in our honeymoon we got a bottle of champagne and an upgrade as courtesy. The breakfast room makes you feel like if you were in that ballroom with big dresses....Every night there is live music and you an seat there, drink a glass of wine and relax after dinner. We loved everything! The location is very good also. Close to everything!

Room Tip: Choose the room with a balcony and lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaPaulaCalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

It takes more than a great location to be a five star hotel. In order to get and keep that rating you have to provide consistent quality service to your guests and provide the amenities that one would associate with a top quality hotel. Some quick examples the bathroom had only one outlet and it didn't work and even though we requested it to be fixed twice it never was and I suspect we weren't the first guests to ask for a repair. The hairdryer that the hotel provide gets so hot that you can't hold on to it with your bare hand. The air conditioner never worked and we request it to be fixed three times. I found the staff to be stuffy and not very helpful which didn't add to my stay. You can do better than the Villa Serbelloni.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msepiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

When planning our first trip to Italy, we knew we wanted to visit Lake Como but fretted about which town to stay in and which property. After much review and many changes to our itinerary, we finally decided on the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni. Wow! We were not disappointed and further, we contacted our travel agent to see if we could extend our stay on the day we arrived because it was just that fantastic!

First, the location if the best. The hotel is situated at the furthest northern part of Bellagio, at the intersection of the 3 legs of Lake Como which provides for less commuter traffic and beautiful views of the snow capped mountains to the north and the rolling hills of the Como area and the surrounding villages along the lake. The town of Bellagio is pretty much all accessible by foot; the shops, the parks, the historic church (1,000 year old!!).

Second, the service is impeccable! This is a 5-star hotel and they are very attentive to each customer but yet, it never feels pretentious. From the front desk, to the bellman and valets, to the wait staff, they are at your service and are friendly and courteous and very helpful!

Third, the hotel itself is amazing! The rooms and the decor are stunning! It's very traditional Italian flair with lots of marble, bold colors and gold trim. Beds and the linens are very comfortable and bathrooms are beautiful with great showers and bath amenities.

Fourth, the food is wonderful! I saw some reviews about a poor breakfast buffet and they must have meant some other hotel because I can't imagine where they were at. We had breakfast 4 times at the hotel and it was consistently great! This buffet has an assortment of meats (including scrambled eggs that are cooked wonderfully and bacon that was outstanding), lots of fresh and assorted cheeses, lots of fresh and deliciously sweet fruit, breads, toast...fresh croissants and breakfast rolls of every kind along with at least 5 different jams, fresh fruit juices that are amazing, and at least 4 or 5 different types of cereal. What's not to like? And dinners are outstanding and if you make reservations to eat out on the terrace, you will not be disappointed with the view, the meal or the service. The only thing I would add is that in Italy...whether here or anywhere else...it is NOT America!! Meals are intended to be served and enjoyed slowly (within reason). So, don't go thinking it's Olive Garden and you're going to be in and out for dinner in 45 minutes (you could easily do that with breakfast though, since it's a self-serve buffet). Again, the service was outstanding and if we needed for anything, we could simply ask and our request was granted quickly.

Lastly, fifth, the hotel has it's own dock. One day, we took a lake tour and the boat came and essentially picked us up right out of the back of the hotel and away we went! It's just a small added perk to this hotel. No running into town to get to the public docking area. However, if we wanted to take the ferry to one of the other villages along the lake, the docking area is a short 5-minute walk from the entrance (if not shorter).

When we come back to Lake Como (and we will), we will no longer fret about where to stay. We have found our place! Villa Serbelloni has our hearts!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room...they're all wonderful. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PegGez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and accurate description of our hotel and services. Your comments on our service, staff, the hotel, and breakfast are truly appreciated, and we are pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed every aspect of your stay. As always, we are happy to provide you with the best service, to complement the stunning surroundings of Bellagio and Lake Como. Arrivederci!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing