We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Grand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Bellagio was our first stop on a 2 week trip in Italy. My husband wanted a special hotel as this trip was a gift for my birthday. The Villa Serbelloni sits right on Lake Como and truly has an old world charm. The views of Lake Como when sitting by the pool are simply to die for. Our room was very large (as was the bathroom) and comfortable. I've read some of the other reviews about poor service and I have to say we had excellent service our whole stay. We took the ferry across with our rental car and as soon as we pulled up to the hotel the bellman came out and took our bags. Check-in was seamless and we were shown to our room immediately. Breakfast (which is included) was outstanding. Breakfast is served in the grand dining room and the selection was unbelievable. We also had dinner at the more casual of the two restaurants, La Goletta. The food was great and the service terrific. Every evening at 8pm a trio plays in the main sitting area in the hotel. It's a lovely atmosphere and great if you want to relax, listen to music and have a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    178
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
135
398
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great views of the lake over the pretty hotel pool, unfortunately marred by the snooty waiters. If you don't look worth a million dollars they don't make the effort. (one exception is that when the sun came out, the youngest waiter rushed over to see if I wanted the umbrella opening to protect my back and neck).
However, if you can stomach/ignore the waiters, then we get to the food. Obviously the Michelin starred chef does not make poolside food, but if you can pick food which would be part of some kitchen basics (I.e. I chose homemade pasta with their tomato sauce) then they are sure to come from the main restaurant. In-house made pasta was not automatically used, so make sure you ask specifically for it, so that you get the same that they use in the restaurant. The tomato sauce, whilst clearly a base for other sauces, was absolutely delicious. I commend the chef and highly recommend this.
My husband had the ciabatta which was good, but likely made specifically for poolside eating so not as high quality. I gave him a taste of mine and he highly regretted his choice.
We didn't have wine, and ate at a lunchtime, which made the bill very reasonable. Its also in a very central convenient location in Bellagio not far from the ferry stop..

Helpful?
Thank Holiday2reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

As the highlight hotel of our honeymoon, I was so excited to arrive at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni. However, disappointing is the way i would describe it. From our check in, we thought something was a bit off. We arrived by ferry, on a very very rainy day, and without an umbrella. Told our room wouldn't be ready for another hour, we were sent off back into the rain for a coffee without being offered an umbrella. Not the 5* service we were hoping for. The following day, we were rudely questioned at the pool for our room number, which made us feel really unwelcome. We spoke to the manager about it but he seemed blasé and we didn't receive an apology. Perhaps being in our early 30's we aren't the usual clientele- who knows. All in all, the pool area had a lovely view of the lake, and the location is amazing, but the rooms are very basic and quite dated. Only one wifi password is provided per room, and it can't work on more than one device. It didn't work for more than 30 seconds at a time for us so we gave up- seemed to be there were internet issues in the whole of Bellagio. Breakfast buffet was pretty good, although we didn't realise it was included as we weren't given an orientation on check in. It could have been "charming" if the service was up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the perfect location, on the shore of Europe's most beautiful lake. Its location is truly stunning. Bellagio, and Lake Como in general, are beautiful.

The hotel is huge, beautiful and steeped in history. Excellent facilities etc.

But, above all else, a hotel's most basic purpose is to be a place for a good night's sleep, and this is where the hotel miserably fails. Seemingly no thought whatsoever has gone into designing (or redesigning) the hotel to create a quiet environment for a good night's sleep. The corridors have marble floors, great to look at but echo and magnify every tiny sound. The bedroom doors are heavy and have no soft-closers on them, and there's no way to close them without a huge bang, not great at any time of day but especially frustrating at 6am!

Only other complaint was that there's no water cooler in the gym, and bottled water is chargeable - despite being freely provided in the bedrooms.

For the huge price that we paid to stay at the hotel, we expected better nights' sleep, as we left more tired than before our holiday! If you're anything other than a earthquake wouldn't-wake-me sleeper, I wouldn't recommend that you even consider this hotel, even despite its facilities and location.


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

There were 13 in our party ranging in age from 12-68. It was my dream trip. I wanted to show my children and grandchildren the varying lifestyles in Italy. The Serbelloni was our grand finale and it did not disappoint. The room furnishings were charming and well kept. Breakfast was served in the most beautiful or rooms. That coupled with the location and hotel furnishings made you feel like royalty. The staff (especially Mauro!!!) is very friendly and accommodating. Location in Bellagio was perfect! It sits quietly on the edge of town, just 2-3 min from the shops and the ferry. There is a workout area, pools and lounging areas that are impressive and welcoming, as well as lake swimming for the adventurers in the group. The young teenagers were treated well and with mutual respect. If I have the good fortune to return to Bellagio, the Serbelloni will be my hotel choice.

Room Tip: Room 116 is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a place to stay at least once in a lifetime. Simply magnificent and gorgeous. Do not miss the view, take your time in the Garden, enjoy the "one star" restaurant, the history. Impecable service. It seems a fairy tale, but it is Real.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Upon getting off the ferry to Ballagio, the hotel was a few short steps to our left and the gate alone inspired confidence in my boyfriend and I both. The hotel is definitely dated, but in a charming sort of way. The food in the poolside restaurant was amazing. Dinner was one of my favorites in Italy. The pool service is slow, but the pool itself and lake diving platform are great. The views from the hotel are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeTheGirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing