We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in Old World Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elegance in Old World Style”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This grand hotel set on a wonderful property overlooking magnificent serene Lake Como. The hotels is expensive but should be experienced if you can. The staff and setting bring you back to a wonderful time . The rooms are beautifully appointed and staff is exceptional. The pool is beautiful and separate fitness center is also great. Breakfast is served in a grand ballroom with 20 foot ceilings . Being in Bellagio is a memory to cherish.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view and terrace on higher floor . We had room 360
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlover033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    188
    65
    29
    24
See reviews for
137
419
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was beautiful. When we arrived, the girls that checked us in upgraded our room to one with a huge window that we opened every morning to enjoy the magnificent view of the lake. The room was beautiful and spacious with a high ceiling and antique furniture. The bathroom was huge with a shower and a tub. Linens and toiletries were provided every day. The bed was comfortable and we slept like babies every night. The concierge booked a car for us one day for a drive to Lugano and he recommended and made reservations for us at a fabulous restaurant called Al Veluu. The pool is beautiful and the views of Lake Como are one of a kind. We loved the location of the hotel in Bellagio too. All the shops and restaurants were in walking distance. We strolled through the gardens and just really enjoyed relaxing at this spectacular hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee, usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Upon arrival, my first contact was with a very "snooty" concierge. The concierge desk is directly in front of the main entrance so I walked to the desk and asked to check in. A man in a very rude tone simply said "check in is around the corner". No welcome or directing me around the corner -- only appearing that I should have known where to check in and that I was a rude interruption. Fortunately the check in was a bit friendlier but when we checked in around 3 in the afternoon, we were told our room was not ready. We were not directed to a waiting area nor were we offered water after our travel and now experiencing a wait. We patiently waited for a lengthy time and finally had to return to the desk to ask if our room was ready and it was (how long would they have left us waiting if we had not asked???)
Our room was very large, clean and well appointed. However, we had a bell tower outside our room that was annoying when it chimed early in the morning every half hour. The bed had a soft cotton fitted sheet, but the top flat sheet was a stiff scratchey poor quality linen -- I have never experienced a sheet such as this in my travels and can not imagine that anyone would be comfortable sleeping under it. The desk staff appeared surprised that we were not happy with this linen sheet, but the maids were sweet and very accommodating but did not speak much English. When we finally communicated to the maid that we preferred cotton sheets, she quickly changed the sheet. The bathroom was also large, but I question if the shower had been used in years since it had a very old plastic shower head that barely drizzled water but shot a stream straight into the overhead lights. No one could possibly have showered and rinsed soap in that tiny drizzle of water. We visited the concierge desk to report the problem with the shower and the concierge actually turned up his nose as if we were a bother. He expressed no interest or concern until we told him about the water shooting directly into the lights then he assured us it would be repaired -- and it was. On one morning, we walked into the front door and almost slipped on a puddle of water on the slick marble floor. We stopped at the concierge desk to report the hazard and were rudely told it must be a result of yesterday's rain???? No expression of concern??? Since the concierge desk is the initial contact upon entering this hotel, you would think they would at least attempt to be friendly or smile, but they were actually rude and condescending. During our stay we experienced only one person in the evening at the concierge desk who actually appeared nice.
The breakfast buffet was the highlight of our stay. It is served in an absolutely beautiful ballroom. The food was good with a varied selection including wonderful fresh fruit but the best was the cream filled croissants. Our first breakfast was on a Sunday morning and the maitre d' must have taken lessons from the concierge desk on "snootiness". However, on the following days we experienced a much nicer and more accommodating maitre d' at breakfast.
The grounds of the Villa Serbelloni are pretty but I have seen much more beautiful gardens at other hotels. Unfortunately, the attitude of the staff at this hotel will negatively affect your stay. I am willing to pay this price for a quality hotel with an outstanding staff, gorgeous grounds, and beautiful accommodations but the Villa Serbelloni is definitely not worth the price. From the moment our driver dropped us at the front door and we experienced the continual rudeness, we were disappointed with our hotel choice. FIND ANOTHER HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank all4funsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Bellagio was our first stop on a 2 week trip in Italy. My husband wanted a special hotel as this trip was a gift for my birthday. The Villa Serbelloni sits right on Lake Como and truly has an old world charm. The views of Lake Como when sitting by the pool are simply to die for. Our room was very large (as was the bathroom) and comfortable. I've read some of the other reviews about poor service and I have to say we had excellent service our whole stay. We took the ferry across with our rental car and as soon as we pulled up to the hotel the bellman came out and took our bags. Check-in was seamless and we were shown to our room immediately. Breakfast (which is included) was outstanding. Breakfast is served in the grand dining room and the selection was unbelievable. We also had dinner at the more casual of the two restaurants, La Goletta. The food was great and the service terrific. Every evening at 8pm a trio plays in the main sitting area in the hotel. It's a lovely atmosphere and great if you want to relax, listen to music and have a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great views of the lake over the pretty hotel pool, unfortunately marred by the snooty waiters. If you don't look worth a million dollars they don't make the effort. (one exception is that when the sun came out, the youngest waiter rushed over to see if I wanted the umbrella opening to protect my back and neck).
However, if you can stomach/ignore the waiters, then we get to the food. Obviously the Michelin starred chef does not make poolside food, but if you can pick food which would be part of some kitchen basics (I.e. I chose homemade pasta with their tomato sauce) then they are sure to come from the main restaurant. In-house made pasta was not automatically used, so make sure you ask specifically for it, so that you get the same that they use in the restaurant. The tomato sauce, whilst clearly a base for other sauces, was absolutely delicious. I commend the chef and highly recommend this.
My husband had the ciabatta which was good, but likely made specifically for poolside eating so not as high quality. I gave him a taste of mine and he highly regretted his choice.
We didn't have wine, and ate at a lunchtime, which made the bill very reasonable. Its also in a very central convenient location in Bellagio not far from the ferry stop..

Helpful?
Thank Holiday2reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As the highlight hotel of our honeymoon, I was so excited to arrive at the Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni. However, disappointing is the way i would describe it. From our check in, we thought something was a bit off. We arrived by ferry, on a very very rainy day, and without an umbrella. Told our room wouldn't be ready for another hour, we were sent off back into the rain for a coffee without being offered an umbrella. Not the 5* service we were hoping for. The following day, we were rudely questioned at the pool for our room number, which made us feel really unwelcome. We spoke to the manager about it but he seemed blasé and we didn't receive an apology. Perhaps being in our early 30's we aren't the usual clientele- who knows. All in all, the pool area had a lovely view of the lake, and the location is amazing, but the rooms are very basic and quite dated. Only one wifi password is provided per room, and it can't work on more than one device. It didn't work for more than 30 seconds at a time for us so we gave up- seemed to be there were internet issues in the whole of Bellagio. Breakfast buffet was pretty good, although we didn't realise it was included as we weren't given an orientation on check in. It could have been "charming" if the service was up to scratch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the perfect location, on the shore of Europe's most beautiful lake. Its location is truly stunning. Bellagio, and Lake Como in general, are beautiful.

The hotel is huge, beautiful and steeped in history. Excellent facilities etc.

But, above all else, a hotel's most basic purpose is to be a place for a good night's sleep, and this is where the hotel miserably fails. Seemingly no thought whatsoever has gone into designing (or redesigning) the hotel to create a quiet environment for a good night's sleep. The corridors have marble floors, great to look at but echo and magnify every tiny sound. The bedroom doors are heavy and have no soft-closers on them, and there's no way to close them without a huge bang, not great at any time of day but especially frustrating at 6am!

Only other complaint was that there's no water cooler in the gym, and bottled water is chargeable - despite being freely provided in the bedrooms.

For the huge price that we paid to stay at the hotel, we expected better nights' sleep, as we left more tired than before our holiday! If you're anything other than a earthquake wouldn't-wake-me sleeper, I wouldn't recommend that you even consider this hotel, even despite its facilities and location.


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
762 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing