We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with terrific lake view rooms (and not so great others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with terrific lake view rooms (and not so great others”
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Stayed here last week for tail end of Italian trip. The town and lake are as beautiful as advertised. We had booked a deluxe park view room. When we arrived we were more than dissappointed. The room looked like your eccentric grandmother's house with two twin beds pushed next to each other. We upgraded to a superior king, and it was much much better. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. The staff had great eating suggestions, and the pool was great.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txstyle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    181
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
136
407
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We had a wonderful time at this unique hotel. Our room was huge and nicely decorated with high ceilings and chandelier. The lake view was lovely, too. We spent our time touring their garden and the town of Bellagio. The next day we visited the incredible Villa Melzi Garden, a world class experience.
The hotel restaurant is truly superb.
We loved the hotel and would recommend it, but be prepared for the bathrooms....(see below.)
We would return for the restaurant and the Melzi Garden experience.
The only drawback to the hotel is the bathroom with tiny shower and retro decor.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMH154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My husband arranged for us to stay here for a couple of days to celebrate my birthday - and they were two magical days. You cannot fail to be impressed when you arrive at the hotel by the beauty of the setting. And straight away the super attentive service kicked in. We had arrived a little early and they were worried that our room wasn't quite ready - we weren't bothered, we just wanted to park and lose our luggage but within a few minutes we were contacted to say we could have our room. We were given a very quick guide to the hotel and its facilities (indoor pool, outdoor pool, garden, 2 restaurants, beauty spa, fitness centre, tennis courts etc.) before being taken up to our room. And we got very lucky - we had a room right at the front of the hotel with perfect views out over Lake Como. The bedroom was beautiful and the bathroom was huge. My husband had arranged for some flowers and champagne - the spectacular bouquet was already in the room and as soon as we set foot in the room some one turned up with a perfectly chilled bottle of champagne.

We ate in the Terrace restaurant both nights and the service was fantastic - just really proper, old fashioned. perfect service. A great maitre, sommelier and a team that clearly took pride in what they did. And the food was terrific too! And again, what a view.

Through out the two days it just felt like whatever weird or wonderful request we could come up with the response was always 'of course, no problem' (such as arranging for my flowers to be boxed so I could get them home).

Having said all this, I can understand why this hotel would not be for everyone - the decor is extremely opulent which I could imagine some people may find a little too much, perhaps even stuffy. The place does have an overall old fashioned feel and to be fair most of the guests staying were older. We also wondered if we would have felt the same had we not had such a good room and view. And yes, it is expensive and I agree with some comments on here that having to pay extra at breakfast for items such as omelette seemed a little cheeky.

But for us, the experience was just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

The hotel interior was very beautiful with colorful marble everywhere. The small bedroom had hardwood floors and a huge bathroom. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
Service was excellent!! I enquired about making a dinner reservation at an outside restaurant and the desk guy immediately picked up the phone, spoke some Italian and jotted down my reservation on a card with the time and address to give to me.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Stayed several nights at the Villa Serbelloni as part of a combined business/leisure trip - my last visit was in 2000 and the Hotel has kept up remarkably well whilst preserving its original style. The same cannot be said of the town, which is now transformed into a shopping mall for wealthy tourists - still plenty of good restaurants there including family-run ones frequented by the few locals.
The Hotel is a bit difficult to reach and I would advise on using the express boat ("aliscafo") from Como rather than the bus. You have limo options, pricey but convenient.
Check-in is efficient although the front desk is located in a small rather unimpressive corner. We had a deluxe room with lake views, which in many hotels would have been tagged as a suite (separate lounge with seating for 3-4 people, very spacious overall). Traditional and elegant style, nothing trendy or modern, fairly comfortable. Good bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, all fittings ok, plenty of toiletries. Wireless internet for a fee, reliable connection overall. In terms of hotel services, there is a good spa and the manicure service is excellent. There are two restaurants one with stunning views and the other one with stunning (molecular) cuisine - you can't have both it seems. In the main restaurant, stay away from the Red house wine, which has nothing to do in that type of establishment. Breakfast was good and service efficient, unfortunately not in the best decor and the room was really noisy. The dry cleaning/laundry service was not up to impressive standards. Througout the stay, staff were helpful and they are very well mannered without being subservient or conferring a stuck-up atmosphere. The bars close fairly early but provided you comply with last orders staff don't object to you finishing yout drinks in the main lobby. All that comes at a price, since our discounted rate was still above 350€ - but our room was near the top of the price range.
Overall very good, as one would expect, with a few things missing to reach the highest standards.

  • Liked — Room, overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — breakfast room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

My wife and I stayed here on a trip Bellagio for a couple of days on a whim. It was fantasic! A great room with a view of the lake, a great gym and fantastic surroundings. You could spend all your time here and never go on the lake. Its a funny place though- full of old style rich- some being wheeled about in wheel chairs etc, but great for people watching! Most of the fellow guests seemed fairly stuffy- I had visible tattoos on show at breakfast and most of the oldies were not impressed and thought I was some sort of roughian! The major gripe I had with the place was that they charge for EVERYTHING big time. Internet access was 10 euros (why?- you have just paid £400 for the room!), drinks in the lounge of 15 euros minimum- I don't drink so it hurt a bit paying that for lemonade. I am in no way a poor man but I thought this took the mickey a little bit. I did not have a jacket- so could not dine on the terrace- but I did eat in the Mistral Restaurant- go for the molecular menu- excellent!

All in all a magical stay- worth the cash for people watching alone- but they took the mickey with the prices for extras. My advice would be to make up for it be taking all the shampoo and soap you can find with you!!

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Prices of extras
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

As soon as you get into the hotel, you can see how it is well decorated and how beautiful is the view over the lake. The rooms are spacious. There are several restaurants and they are very good. Also, the beach is nice and the breakfast is magnificent. (latte macchiato so good!) Everyone is helpful. The only thing that was disappointing is that you have to pay if you want to play tennis and you can rent rackets and only buy balls. That is too bad if you only want to play an hour.

  • Liked — the view, the caffe latte macchiato
  • Disliked — no free wifi and tennis
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gg309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing