We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand gesture from a Grand Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I can't believe I didn't leave a review sooner, I thought I had! We spent an unforgettable 3 nights at the Villa Serbelloni last July for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and truly felt we were in a magical hotel in a magical town. Upon arrival, they showed us to our room and I wasn't expecting much. We had planned a 3 week trip around Europe and this hotel was a splurge. We chose the standard room at the least expensive rate, which was still around $800 per night! But I had heard from TA that the rooms were small and we are used to Italian hotels being very sparse. So needless to say upon entering the room with the hotel clerk, I was not surprised to see a small room with little furniture. But then she opened the double shutters and revealed a view to "Die for"... only to then show us a DOOR she opened from our room onto a BALCONY with that view! This was no small balcony...this was ONE OF ONLY TWO balconies in the whole hotel like this! With a table and chairs, chase lounges and a huge banister with urns! That's when I started to cry... Yes, this was a dream come true and they were kind enough to upgrade us to this room all on their own! That is a GREAT hotel and they went above and beyond what a normal hotel would do! We have come to LOVE this hotel and LOVE Bellagio and are on our way back to this hotel as we speak! Only this time, we are bringing the whole family and staying for a week! This hotel will also be the site of our family reunion (Hubby's 1/2 Italian) and we are doing research for that when we are there this summer. This reviews on TA for this hotel speak of the rooms being small or sparse... That is not what you come to this hotel for. You come for the VIEW, the location, the beauty, the grounds, the restaurants, the pool, the a/c, the covered deck by the water, and you come here to fall in LOVE with Bellagio! THANK YOU Villa Serbelloni... see you in a few days!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

Absolutely idyllic setting, surroundings, service, food. A boat trip and train journey away from Monza. Sat on the terrace with a G&T, watched a seaplane land on the lake (Como) taxi up, climb up to the terrace to be bought a Pimms and The Times (without ordering) sit there for about 45 mins, get back in his plane and disappear. That, my friends is the high life.

Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
1  Thank JohnD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

A real disappointment mostly with the rooms. We had a junior suite and were expecting five star comforts. Instead we got a very spartan room with a very small bathroom but charged five star prices. It was very clean with Etro supplies in the bathroom but as a five star hotel it fell down badly. It reminded me of a seaside hotel in Blackpool circa 1970. There were two restaurants, one where jacket and tie required the other less formal but not child friendly. We went out of the hotel to find something to eat. Would not recommend.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank kiera21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

A family tradition that never get's old. Splurge, it is a true gem.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed in Milan and went to Bellagio for a day trip. Easy journey, train to Lake Como and then a wonderful boat tip to Bellagio. We had a memorable lunch at the Villa, on the polside terrace, overlooking the lake. The menu was extensive and the the quaity of the food was delicious. The most exciting part was my partners ice cream- made fresh at the table, yes made at the table. All in all an excellent lunch and a memory to stroe forever. I would like to return and stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at Villa Serbelloni while visiting Bellagio for a wedding. If you are staying in Bellagio, this is the nicest hotel to be found. The villa is located on the banks of Lake Como. The pool has the most amazing view of the lake and the surrounding landscape. Order a glass of wine and sip slowly as you take in the scenery. Like so many European hotels, the rooms are a bit sparse. Not exactly "grand" as the name implies. Slightly more Miss Havisham style, but overall the hotel is still a winner. The common areas are quite nice. The restaurant boasts excellent cuisine and an amazing view. The extensive grounds of the property are amazing - we walked them every day. The gym was a wonderful surprise. There were many modern machines with a separate studio for floor exercises. Quite nice and quite unexpected for a hotel not located in a big city. There was one aspect of our stay I could have lived without: in summertime, the lake is overrun with boats. Being that the pool is so close to the lake, you are often subjected to the unpleasant smell of diesel fumes. I guess Italy doesn't have the same emissions regulations we are used to here in the US. I've been around boats my whole life and have never been struck with the overbearing smell of gasoline. Still, although it was an unfortunate aspect of our trip, I am guessing it is only a real issue during summertime. Since we don't travel all the way to Europe to spend our entire vacation by the pool (we can do that here in the US), it was not enough to prevent us from staying there again if we were to visit Bellagio.

Bellagio is a lovely, small town that is navigable only on foot. Be prepared to climb hills and stairs. Unless you are physically impaired, you should not complain, just suck it up and walk, walk, walk. You will find many lovely shops (look for silk scarves and ties at amazing prices) and simple, excellent cuisine. The Lake Como area is absolutely gorgeous. There is not much to do in the Bellagio area, so I would not recommend staying here for more than 4 days. You can visit the Borromean Islands and, most importantly, Villa Balbianello. This was the location of the wedding we attended. One word.....spectacular. Many films have been made here, including Casino Royale (James Bond), Star Wars, etc. Whatever you do, do not miss this attraction.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Bellagio is a delicious city. Being there and staying at this hotel was the cherry on the cake.
The location is perfect, very calm. Nice swimming pool and very pleasant garden.
Service ok, not more.
I had booked a suite and we were in the "new" part of the hotel (looks like recently renewed)....big and very nice room but the corridor looked like a hospital one.
The hotel sometimes look like a labyrinth (ask for the internet room)
Breakfast room is too small and so very noisy (what I don't really like in the morning)
Avoid the "molecular" menu of the restaurant, not worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
791 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £414 - £973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing