We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

As I normally only stay 4 or 5 star I was a bit dubvious of staying here, but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very basic but most importantly they are clean. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as it seemed to be more of a cafe atmosphere, however we had plenty of fab cocktails. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and very very strong coffee! The staff were very friendly without going overboard. The best thing about his hotel is it is in the middle of everything, The ferry terminal is outside, and it has a great view of the lake, with bars and restaurants within a minutes walk. The roof terrace is a bonus too, if you get tired of walking round everywhere and just feel like a chill out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 4th or 5th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Du Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2011

We splurged for a top floor, lake view room at the Hotel Du Lac in Bellagio and it was a dream. The over large picture window had a view that did not disappoint. As an added bonus, the window could be fully lowered to let in the fresh lake are and further enjoy the beauty of the lake. The staff and service were average - not great not poor but I would book again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiperwaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I was travelling with my partner and a friend. We booked a 3-bedded room at the back of the hotel via the Internet, no problem (July - about €680). We were not bothered about the views from the room, because we planned to be out most of the day and evening. But as you pass other rooms being cleaned as you go downstairs, you can see that the rooms on the front of the hotel have fabulous views. We made do with the roof terrace at night.
Room: The room was fine, not too small, kept very clean (happy, smiling chambermaids!), and had a generously sized bathroom. Extra towels were always available.
Reception: We know the area pretty well, so didn't need to ask the reception staff for much information, but every exchange was pleasant. We also saw how pleasantly they were treating othe guests. Graziano was always very helpful. We needed extra glasses, and he even brought them up to the room himself!
Breakfast: A lot of people from North America who have done reviews here say things like 'the usual European stuff' - what do they mean by this? I have stayed in plenty of hotels in North America which all serve the usual 'North American stuff' which was varied and usually good, but sometimes pretty insipid. What do you expect, you're on a different continent! The breakfast at the du Lac goes beyond the standard Italian 2 hollow rolls with butter, jam and coffee (which is also delicious, by the way, provided the rolls are fresh). Choice of rolls and bread, differnt teas, coffee of course, juice, cereals, cheese, sausage and ham, a range of pastries, fruit (not all fresh, but then that is normal here), scrambled eggs, boiled eggs if you asked, packed lunch at a charge, if you asked.
Restaurant: We ate once in the restaurant. It was excellent with charming service, and, considering the location, was not overly expensive (a balcony with a splendid view in one of the premier tourist destinations in Europe; 3 people about €80)
Accessibility and surrounding area: Brilliant. The lake ferry stops right outside the hotel. It take 15 minutes to reach Varenna or Mennagio, the Villa Carlotta or Tremezzo. Good walking wherever you are (It always goes upwards, so you always get good views). Plenty of restaurants and a good small food shops in a radius of 200 m.
A warning: There is a charming walk to Pescallo to the east of Bellagio. The lakeside restaurant at the Hotel La Pergola is enchanting. Twice now (different years) we have found it very unfriendly, with impatient unsmiling staff, and it is definitely very overpriced. They will not sell you just a glass of wine and they charged for extra bread, which, if it in only a couple of slices, most places just include in the cover charge. So, set out a bit earlier, enjoy the walk back, and go to one of the many restaurants in Bellagio where we have yet to be disappointed.
Alistair Reeves

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amsel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

On our recent trip to Italy we made Bellagio, Lake Como our first stop. The Hotel du Lac seemed to have the right price and right location (and good reviews on trip advisor). We booked the least expensive room at the hotel with a lake view. Upon arrival the receptionist was warm and helpful. We went to our room and were a little surprised at the size (very small). But the size of the room quickly was out of our minds once we opened the window and were looking directly at the beautiful lake in front of us. The views from the hotel are amazing. The room was clean and comfortable. The Breakfast buffet was lovely (includes hot food). If you are going to Lake Como to explore other towns this location is also perfect due to its across the street from the Ferry line. We would definitely stay here again. One small note - the upper floors of the hotel have been renovated - if you have the opportunity you may want to request one of those rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marpleeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We spent 5 wonderfull days at Hotel Du Lac in Bellagio in September and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The location was spot on and the hotel lovely. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we had the room only option.

The hotel is located on the water's edge right in front of the ferry stop. The village is very pretty and quaint and the best area to stay at on Lake Como.The ferry system is so regular that a car is not necessary. We took a train from Milan to Varenna and the ferry to Bellagio. Other towns to visit iareTremezzo, Mennaggio,Varenna and Como. All of them can be reached by ferry. The shopping is superb and the restaurants very good. Roberto from the Enoteca in Bellagio was a delight and we had superb wine and delicious food on two seperate occassions. I can also recommend La Punta at the little harbour with lovely views over the lake. We were all sorry to leave but made a promise to return soon.Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessOfDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Hotel is opposite the ferry landing stage in Bellagio on Lake Como and has a wonderful position overlooking the lake and the surrounding mountains. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was bright, clean, well fitted with an enormous double bed. The dining room is on the first floor with great views to the lake and the breakfast was fine. Eating in Bellagio is expensive but it is worth looking in the back alleys where good food is served at a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank platoCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel is directly across the street from the ferry landing which makes the lakeside rooms somewhat noisy as people congregate below. Other than that, great. Bellagio is a great town for a Como stay. We had excellent service from front desk staff. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larryray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £138 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing