We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bello Bellagio”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times, and it never disappoints. Is it plush and 5 star - no, but it is warm, friendly and in the best location on the lake. Because Bellagio is in the middle of the lake, you can easily travel up or down - Varenna and Menaggio are lovely little nearby towns and only a few minutes away on the boat. The boats leave from outside the hotel door - and you have the choice between a 'slow boat' or the fast ferry. Bellagio is built into a hill, and the shops and some of the restaurants are up a steep climb. Como is a lovely town at the bottom of the lake with an all day market on a Saturday - great for bargains and lovely Italian shoes, jewellery and clothes. We usually are half board at the hotel, because its such great value - you can eat on the veranda and the views have to be seen to be believed. However there is also a good selection of restaurants in the hotel which suits all budgets. The restaurant attached to the Albergo Firenze is also lovely - fish seems to be a speciality, and the views are also amazing. If you want, the hotel will arrange a collection from Milan airports - c €120 each way which is expensive, but driving on the lake is not for the faint hearted!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of rooms with balconies and these need to be booked WELL in advance. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank villadeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel was strongly recommended by our travel agent who booked us a lake front room with a balcony. Views were wonderful from the room and the restaurant and roof garden. There is however quite a lot of road noise, starting at dawn. The room was a little tired but comfortable. WiFi was reliably received only when sitting on the toilet.

The staff were superb and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newerfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed a this hotel for two nights on a recent trip. It's a real find. The family that runs this hotel has done so for over a hundred years, I think, and they have it down. The rooms do vary in size, but ours was a ballroom with two windows overlooking the lake. The bathroom was more than adequate. I have never seen whiter walls, curtains and bed linens. They serve an excellent breakfast, which you can eat on a lovely balcony looking onto the lake. They also have a rooftop deck with is a great place to hang before dinner and enjoy a cocktail with a killer view. I highly recommend approaching Bellagio by ferry from Cadenabbia. It's a kick to see the hotel waiting for you as you sail into view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake; also if they have a room with two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RehobothTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We started our 12 day italian holiday in Bellagio. After a long flight from the states we were tired and hot. We loved seeing the hotel right by the boat station, and so beautiful! The reception staff was so helpful, we were trying to catch our boat tour and she helped us out by calling and letting them know we had arrived! The room had an amazing view of the lake!! Great stay for our first night! Breakfast was wonderful on the balcony with the incredible views!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Upon arrival you see the hotel is seriously lacking a needed update. The walk to the room brings down your expectation of the room so you are not shocked when you get there. The roof garden and second floor restaurant though make-up the shortfalls. You have a perfect view of the lake and street from both and breakfast, which provided a pleasant spread of food, allowed for the second floor view to be enjoyed every morning. The service at the restaurant outside was quite slow but that just provided more time at a table with a great view.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeenThereAlready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just home to Ireland after spending a wonderful 5 days in Bellagio staying in the du lac. This hotel is right in the centre of bellagio looking onto the beautiful lake como. We were there for a family wedding and they were helpful in every way possible, even giving us early breakfast before we left for the airport this morning. The rooms were outstanding, everyday we came back to a spotless room. We felt extremely comfortable here, the reception staff were excellent and so friendly. But the cleaning staff really were the best we've ever come across! Hope to be back again in the future!

Room Tip: Each room was lovely some of our family had lake views which were beautiful, ours looked over a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Hotel Du Lac is a reasonably good hotel but is very over priced. The staff are friendly and the rooms quite good. Lake View rooms have great view of e ferries etc. Breakfast was quite average. Walls are quite thin and I had to ask the couple next door to turn the TV volume down at midnight. WiFi reception in our room was very poor and didn't work often.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickylee207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
941 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £134 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing