We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Location.”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Location Location.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Perfectly positioned just meters from the ferry. On arrival we were greeted by a trainee who really didn't know much. Not sure about our package, couldn't tell us how the wifi worked. Found this frustrating as had been walking in the rain and just wanted to get to our room and have a shower. Room had good view but no balcony. Room was a good size but need of some up keep. Bathroom was pretty basic.We had half board . The dinner was acceptable but not exciting. Had to eat inside because everyone outside smokes. The breakfast was acceptable in a room with an excellent view. This hotel is well located in a great village but just lacked a sharp edge to make it exceptional.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a full lake view. If you can afford it get a balcony. Helps you ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    280
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
107
438
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Booked a superior lake view room with balcony. The only view of the lake is if you stood way out on the balcony. There was no lake view from the room whatsoever. When I complained, even the receptionist said, "well it's a partial lake view" that they charge full price for. In addition, the hotel lost power for 6 hours, and would not even provide candles or flashlights to get up to the room on the 6th floor. They apparently ran out. No recompense was made for either the non-lake view room, nor the loss of electricity for a good chunk of our 2 day stay. The front desk staff was useless. Receptionist did not even know how to make an international call.

Room Tip: Do not book the 250Euro lakeside room with balcony. There is no lake view unless you stand all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had a room with a fabulous view of the lake. Very small bathroom. A/C did not work well but they provided a fan. Pretty good bed. OK breakfast. Great location right across from the ferry. I would not advise driving here. Would take the car ferry from either Menaggio or Como. Hotel does provide parking for a fee. Service was above average.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kenl0098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went to Bellagio for our honeymoon and stayed at Hotel Du Lac for 3 nights. Would not agree with other reviews about the service.. we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They also speak English well. The hotel is in a great location, you step off the ferry and right through the front door. Breakfast was included and had lots of great choices. Additionally, the view from the breakfast tables were scenic. The only complaint we have about the hotel is the size and location of the room. We were unable to get a lake view, and the room was so tiny we literally had to rearrange the furniture so we could walk around. Also, we were next to a stairwell, and the heavy metal door continually slammed throughout the day which was very disturbing. We visited in late June and found this town to cater to older couples. Not sure what the other towns around Lake Como are like, but do not expect a lot of nightlife. Overall, a nice place and a good choice for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Ask to not be in room 9. Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahej97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Du Lac and had a very enjoyable stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast which was included was help yourself with plenty of choice.
Room was light and clean with a partial view of the lake, but having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lake made up for this. Air conditioning worked well and the bathroom was modern and clean. Everything worked !
Hotel is in a great location opposite the Ferry terminal.
Bellagio we found was the best place out of all the towns we visited.Eating out is reasonable priced and plenty of choice. You need to be fit to climb the many steps around the Town. Would recommend the hydrofoil down to Como and a trip up the mountain on the Funicular railway. Also Villa Melzi in Bellagio and a trip over the water to Villa Carlotta , Tremezzo. Although Lake Como is spectacularly beautiful, some of the town/villages we visited seemed to be lacking in things to see or do. Some shops are very expensive and their products are not for the ordinary tourist.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breaklikethewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel has a great location on the lakefront right across from the ferry dock. Our room was a little worn around the edges, and the bed was the hardest I've ever slept on!
A real problem was the tub-shower. It was impossible to take a shower without water flooding the bathroom floor. The room was very spacious. A nice plus was that M-F the bar on the lakefront had a two-for-one special during happy hour.

Room Tip: We were in front on the second floor, one floor above the breakfast room. This was a plus, since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thanx4help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinsville, nj
Level Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice hotel with a great location in Bellagio. Great view of Lake from rooftop terrace. The rooms that were advertized as lake view, were situated on the side so the view was only oblique. Our room was very spacious.The view was OK, but not as nice as I thought it would be. Good location right in the center of town.It is next to ferries. Hotel parking has a fee and is several blocks from totel. Also spaces are too small for a van. There is actually free parking on some side streets nearthe hotel. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing