We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We had a superb dinner on P. Mazzini in Bellagio at Hotel du Lac. Food was exquisite and service exceptional. Just perfect! The pastas and fish (tuna from the Med.) were prepared perfectly and were delicious. While this restaurant might appear to cater to tourists, our dinner could not have been better. Great location, too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ross_Julie_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

The perfect old-style hotel right on the quayside in this beautiful town on Lake Como. We had hoped for atmosphere and good service - we got loads of both.
The staff are warm, friendly and efficient - a broken bathroom light-bulb was changed in minutes, parking our rather large car was sorted efficiently, the Receptionist was delightful.
We loved the constant coming and going of the numerous ferries and water-taxis and the views across the lake are marvellous. There are other hotels in Bellagio, but none so well located.
Breakfast was the best of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip; we chose to eat dinner elsewhere as there is so much choice in Bellagio.
Next door to the Hotel du Lac is a lovely coffee/cake-shop - perfect for glasses of Prosecco and people-watching. Top Tip: Sit outside, but make sure you have a look inside!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Lake View room - its incomparable! If taking a car, pre-book your hotel parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slippersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in mid September after spending three nights across the lake in Varenna. Hotel seemed clean and well kept. Room and washroom were reasonably spacious and well put together. Our room unfortunately looked out onto a laneway and dining area of the adjacent building - so no view. The few available lake views at the front of the hotel are brighter and far superior.

The complementary breakfast was excellent. Didn’t dine in this hotel due to the large number of great alternatives just minutes away. Spent several hours late in the day on the roof top terrace that offers a great view of the shoreline and lake. We had the terrace all to ourselves for some time until a few other couples came up to watch the sunset.

Location of the hotel is excellent - at the heart of the Bellagio shoreline. One of the ferry terminals is just across the street from the hotel. Overall found the room rate a bit high but quite honestly I’m not sure there are any good yet inexpensive accommodations in Bellagio. Check in and check out was seamless and staff were very friendly. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Bellagio.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel over looking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FCMR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

my lasting memory of eating here was the amount of times the waiter thank us for coming.
Must say that the meal was average but the wines selected by the waiter were excellent
but thank you for coming rings in my ears

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A great hotel on the waterfront at Bellagio. Would have preferred a lake view room. Had to make do with one overlooking a narrow lane way that goes up the hill with lots of little restaurants & shops. This was quite noisy during the day however, this somehow added to the atmosphere of Bellagio. Lovely breakfasts overlooking the lake & there is a rooftop balcony that looks over Lake Como. Lots of reasonably priced restaurants around about with great food & wine. Bellagio is a must visit whilst in Lake Como we had long leisurely lunches on the waterfront & the views are to die for. Be warned this is a popular venue book early.

Room Tip: Book early for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthiawhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It is a 3 star hotel in the best location you can imagine. The rooms are fine for this level of hotel. The service is very friendly and, as everyone else has said, the location is perfect. All of the shops are right next to the hotel and the waterfront is only a few steps away.

Overall, the hotel was everything I had hoped. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grepthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Perfect location in Bellagio, opposite the passenger ferry terminus. The staff are fantastic, breakfast was good and served in their lake view restaurant. Rooms were well appointed and clean. The access to the Sports club was good. Only criticisms - its aging gracefully and the street side cafe staff are rather abrupt (or just Italian?)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £136 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing