We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay for Lake Como”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Beautiful old style hotel with modern amenities. Staff was very helpful, and the views of the lake are awesome! Hotel is in center of town. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. I'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandrewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Hotel Du Lac is a wonderful place to to stay in Bellagio. The location was in the heart of town and right across from the ferry building close to stores and restaurants. The view out our window was nothing less than spectacular showing Lake Como surrounded by the snow covered Alps...breathtaking! Our room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The Manager and his top notch staff are friendly and efficient. My husband needed copies of a PDF for work and Sylvia was right on it. She even provided a highlighter. The Manager (I'm sorry I didn't get his name) is a kind man with an easy smile. He gave us several tips on how to get around which saved us several Euro. We will be back!

Room Tip: As others have stated..ask for a view of the lake when you book your reservations. You won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soozde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location was perfect, room was spacious, staff was accommodating, and our lake view room was ideal. The lake view was requested when we made reservations---a MUST! Dinner at the hotel was very good. Plus, ideal location for ferry or water taxi.
I'm a sucker for huge tubs and soaking after a day of walking, and the bathroom did not disappoint. The breakfast was okay. I'm giving our room 3 stars only because switch plates were loose or hanging----however, huge bed, clean clean clean and comfy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel to check in only to discover that I had accidentally booked our lakefront room on the wrong dates! The front desk staff didn't miss a beat though - they called a few nearby hotels and arranged for a similar room (lakefront) at a nearby hotel for one night and booked a lakefront room for us in the Hotel du Lac for the rest of our stay. The location is outstanding and views are almost unreal. It's a classic, old hotel with a classic feel, but clean and well-appointed. The restaurant downstairs was hopping and a fun place to hang out and people-watch. We really enjoyed the pastries in the attached coffee shop too. It made our first Lake Como experience just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

First time we went to Bellagio was in 1987. Fairly undiscovered except for the Italians who summer vacationed there. It was a very good experience and we wanted to see how things had changed since being discovered.
We picked Hotel Du Lac because it was right next to the ferry landing and in the center of town activities. We arrived late (missed flight from Frankfort) but hotel staff was there waiting for us. The helped find a parking place, carried our luggage to our rooms, and generally most gracious hosts. The have a restaurant upsstairs on a balcony (not owned by hotel but owner made us feel like we were his best friends) that fed us a very good late dinner with local wines. Our rooms were large with private balcony, a/c, with electric shade to mask the ship docking and chruch bell ring on the hour. The town had excellent shopping and numerous other very good restaurants. If you are going to Bellagio we recommend this hotel (priced fairly) and very good staff to make your stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We like the private balcony rooms to sit and have coffee looking out on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We had a superb dinner on P. Mazzini in Bellagio at Hotel du Lac. Food was exquisite and service exceptional. Just perfect! The pastas and fish (tuna from the Med.) were prepared perfectly and were delicious. While this restaurant might appear to cater to tourists, our dinner could not have been better. Great location, too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ross_Julie_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The perfect old-style hotel right on the quayside in this beautiful town on Lake Como. We had hoped for atmosphere and good service - we got loads of both.
The staff are warm, friendly and efficient - a broken bathroom light-bulb was changed in minutes, parking our rather large car was sorted efficiently, the Receptionist was delightful.
We loved the constant coming and going of the numerous ferries and water-taxis and the views across the lake are marvellous. There are other hotels in Bellagio, but none so well located.
Breakfast was the best of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip; we chose to eat dinner elsewhere as there is so much choice in Bellagio.
Next door to the Hotel du Lac is a lovely coffee/cake-shop - perfect for glasses of Prosecco and people-watching. Top Tip: Sit outside, but make sure you have a look inside!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Lake View room - its incomparable! If taking a car, pre-book your hotel parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slippersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £137 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing