We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel, service was great!”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel, service was great!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms were small, but the location right on the lake is fabulous! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and made our stay wonderful! The upper deck view is why you come to Bellagio!
The restaurant was very good, and I would love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    291
    61
    28
    9
See reviews for
111
457
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Bellagio is a charming location but we stayed on a long weekend which included Monday for several countries nearby as well as Italy. So it was heavily booked out and we ended up with a room that was very poor accommodation.
This would have been a much happier review if our room was satisfactory instead of very cramped, out of date and without a view of the lake. It was depressing returning to it during our stay.

Anyone who was lucky enough to get a room with a lake view room and on one of the more spacious renovated rooms on the 4 or 5 floor would be very happy! We had room 19 which barely had room for 1 person to walk around the bed. The bathroom was tiny with nowhere to put our toiletries & I had to use the stool for this. The safe was so small could not fit an iPad in it. So we never used it.

Instructions for us arriving by car would have been useful. We drove with great uncertainty down a tiny one way street through middle of the shops and pedestrians in old town so we could drop off our bags. While the staff were very pleasant and the outlook for breakfast facing the lake was lovely; being in that back room for four nights was miserable. Especially as we could hear the room next door talking and their television at midnight.

Room Tip: Only stay if you can get a room with a lake view, unless you are a young backpacker on a tight budge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed there for several days in May 2014 in a suite with lake views.
Location was good - right opposite the ferry terminal
The room was on the 4th floor, No 45
It has an adjacent restaurant if you don't want to eat out, but you can't charge to your room.
The room was comfortable and well-serviced
The bathroom was well-ventilated and worked well overall
Location was good for sightseeing in Bellagio and for taking the boat to nearby towns.
The staff at reception were courteous and very helpful
A minor inconvenience was that only one key was available between two people

Room Tip: Research as much as possible. Read travellers' accounts & look for recent photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in room 42. I would have liked to rate 4.5 on the star rating. It was close to a 5 for me. Beautiful view of Lake Como. Room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. I feel like it was very good value given the location and the wonderful view. What took away from the 5 stars was the breakfast was average, coffee could have been stronger. Also the internet was very spotty and not reliable. The restaurant at dinner was lovely and food very good. Bellagio is a lovely town and Hotel du Lac is a hotel I can see going back to again. It definitely feels like a place that has regulars that go there every year, and after going I can see why.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creynold02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Great location at boat terminal. Room opened on lake with 180 degree view of lake and mountains. If your room has inferior view, roof garden is pleasant, and good for sunning on summer day. American and European breakfast excellent.
NB..go hiking above Menaggio .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Such a brilliant location within the best village on the lake. Short walk from ferry terminal. Breakfast was fantastic with great views overlooking the lake. Didn't get to use pool at the sporting club due to not quite being warm enough but a useful benefit to have. Rooms were a good size, only negative is rooms could do with updating.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
884 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing