We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I stayed in a superior lake view room on an upper floor for 5 days in early June. The room was well appointed, good air conditioning with prompt and pleasant maid service several times a day.
This family owned hotel has an enviable lake front position which is very convenient for sightseeing . Tennis and a pool are available at another of the Leoni family properties a few blocks away. We found pricing to be very reasonable ( we booked well in advance) and the well trained, English speaking, staff a great pleasure. We sampled some great area restaurants (San Giacomo, Alle Darsene) but also enjoyed as much a simple meal with wine, streetside, in front of the hotel. On several nights, we saw the hotel owners, the Leoni family, a few tables away enjoying a meal as well.

Bellagio is a beautiful spot and, to hear the locals, a bit less tourist traveled because it isn't convenient to trains and buses as other spots on Lake Como. Bellagio does have high end shopping but we discovered several family owned local stores with great value like Rolando's shoe store and Carmen's silk store-both around the corner from the Du Lac. Certainly to us, Bellagio and the Hotel Du Lac are worth another and longer visit!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rt1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    278
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
107
436
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed three nights in a spacious superior double room at Hotel Du Lac in early June, and were delighted with every aspect of this comfortable hotel. The room was nicely furnished with a small couch and stuffed chairs and a very comfortable bed. The view can only be described as magical, looking westward across the Como reach of the lake, to the imposing green mountains on the opposite shore. The windows open onto small verandas with flower boxes, and electrically-driven green metal shades can be lowered for privacy and darkness at night. The hotel is directly opposite the boat landing, so during the days you can hear the boat destinations being called out.

The staff was uniformly pleasant, efficient, and helpful, and all spoke English. The hotel maintains covered garage spaces about a block away at 9 Euros/day. The hotel also offers a 10% discount at their restaurant, which had delicious food. We ate there one night in the covered area outside, people- and lake-watching.

We were originally planning to tour lakeside villas around the lake by car, but the somewhat harrowing drive on the narrow, twisty road from Como prompted us to just park the car for our stay, and take the boats--which is a much more fun, and entirely efficient way to see the mid-lake villas. We bought a day pass on the Mid-Lake Shuttle for 11 euros each, which allowed us to dock at Tremezzo for Villa Carlota, Lenno for Villa Barbianello, and Varenna for Villa Monastero, making for a perfectly doable lovely day of villa hopping on the lake. Hotel Du Lac is the perfect hotel in the perfect setting for seeing magical Bellagio and Lake Como.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We chose Hotel DuLac over Hotel Florence because they offered parking. When we got there we found out that the parking was a very long distance away. So we had to find our own parking place a few blocks away. When we asked for a porter to help us with our bags we were told that they do not have one. We had to drag our suitcases two blocks down uneven sidewalks/streets and when we got to the hotel, we had to carry them up several steps and get them to the room ourselves. We paid a high premium but got the best room with an awesome view. However, the room was stuffy and very hot. We were told that the airconditioning wasn't turned on. We had to open the doors to the balcony and the door to the hallway to try to get some cooling. There was constuction going on in the rooms next to us and the drilling noise did not add to the effect of the Lake! The sun came pouring into the room making the hot room even hotter. We were told that the awning was going to be replaced soon! It, indeed was. I wish we had gone to the Hotel Florence as Karen Brown's sight had suggested.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The hotel is nicely located in Bellagio, with a prime view of the lake. We spend there a few days with another family (4 children age 3-6) and we found the room acceptable for the price, although a little small and low key. The hotel was very quiet and clean, with a beautiful view from the breakfast area.
We never ate in the hotel restaurant since the central position gives immediate access to all restaurants in town. Only a couple of times we ordered room service for the kids and the service was attentive and on time.
Indeed, what really made the difference was the service. The reception was available to address any question or need, including finding two excellent babysitters for the evening for our kids and giving us recommendations on excursions, places to visit and dine. The restaurant staff was genuinely friendly and patient and made a point to be available at any time even to prepare the kids' snacks.
Overall a very pleasant experience, we absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolando030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Good breakfast, a very nice hotell in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinpeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Location, Location, Location. Set by the side of Lake Como with outstanding views we watched visitors arrive on the ferry and depart later that day. Lucky us we were staying in the Du Lac. Breakfast and evening meals were on the terrace overlooking the lake followed by drinks under the portico while celeb watching!. Bustling and 'the place to be'. Food was the best in town (and there were plenty of places to choose from) and service outstanding - we arrived very late in the evening, not really expecting to get anything to eat, but there was a ring on the mobile 'would we like something when we arrived?' and a lovely supper was ready and waiting for us.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmjayBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We've just been back from an amazing weekend at Bellagio's jem Hotel Du Lac .
Although it was a last minute(previous night) booking,they gave us a great fourth floor room with side view of the Lake Como. The staff was great and especially the girls at the restaurant-cafe. They were amazing,friendly,polite and helpful. We travel very often both for business and pleasure but Hotel Du Lac sure made an impression. Also we were amazed by the very reasonable price of the restaurant. We definatelly recoment it to everyone and we most certailny visit it again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venicemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing