We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Durbanville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We spent 5 wonderfull days at Hotel Du Lac in Bellagio in September and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The location was spot on and the hotel lovely. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we had the room only option.

The hotel is located on the water's edge right in front of the ferry stop. The village is very pretty and quaint and the best area to stay at on Lake Como.The ferry system is so regular that a car is not necessary. We took a train from Milan to Varenna and the ferry to Bellagio. Other towns to visit iareTremezzo, Mennaggio,Varenna and Como. All of them can be reached by ferry. The shopping is superb and the restaurants very good. Roberto from the Enoteca in Bellagio was a delight and we had superb wine and delicious food on two seperate occassions. I can also recommend La Punta at the little harbour with lovely views over the lake. We were all sorry to leave but made a promise to return soon.Very good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessOfDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    286
    60
    26
    9
See reviews for
109
448
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Hotel is opposite the ferry landing stage in Bellagio on Lake Como and has a wonderful position overlooking the lake and the surrounding mountains. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was bright, clean, well fitted with an enormous double bed. The dining room is on the first floor with great views to the lake and the breakfast was fine. Eating in Bellagio is expensive but it is worth looking in the back alleys where good food is served at a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platoCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel is directly across the street from the ferry landing which makes the lakeside rooms somewhat noisy as people congregate below. Other than that, great. Bellagio is a great town for a Como stay. We had excellent service from front desk staff. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larryray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

First let me say that while in Bellagio (where the hotel is located) we took a boat trip which stopped at various other little villages, and in my opinion Ballagio is THE PLACE, in general, to be! *Beware the extremely winding mtn. road you must travel to get there...or there is a car ferry that you can take from Como to avoid the scary drive. The cobbblestone, narrow streets are fun to walk. Lots of shops & local grocery stores.

I can find no fault with the hotel. We paid 195 Euros for a double, fantastic lake view room that was clean and very spacious, with a mini bar. The bathroom was very spacious also & had toiletries provided. Seems the hotel has a pool, but we did not use it. The breakfast was very nice and was included in the price of the room. You can see the lake from the breakfast room. The front desk people spoke English, and they were very pleasant. The lake view restaurant in front of the hotel has a nice menu and is very convenient. Parking was 9 Euros a night. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.......but the view of the lake from the bedroom is what made it so special, so I would definately try to get a room with a view!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Everything about the hotel is great...except the staff who run it.

Beautiful views, nice location, pretty setting for breakfast, clean rooms...just don't expect to get anything but slow and often rude service at the front desk. They weren't able to offer much in terms of what to do around the lake, often would enjoy long personal conversations (which was pretty annoying after the lengthy journey just to get to Bellagio. To cap it off, they tried to give us someone else's (much higher) bill at the end and argued with us for 20 minutes about it until we pointed out it was the WRONG ROOM.

There are plenty of great places in this area: don't blow your $$ here if you're looking for any guidance or help from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliver17NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I have been to Bellagio several times and normally stay in apartments but this time took a lakeside hotel but wish we had booked an apartment as normal.....

Positives - The hotel is in a great location and there is a young female receptionist who was really helpful. There is free wifi (with a card from the hotel) in the reception
Downside - the room was very dated and small.
The bathroom was not as clean as I would expect, probably due to the age of it. Just a bit black around the edges.
Breakfast was poor. I had a banana the first day and avoided it the 2nd day. Even the coffee was poor according to my other half.

Guests are able to use a sports club which looked nice but it was a wet weekend so no chance to go

If you do go to Bellagio check out Barchetta for dinner - I have been a few times and never dissapointed. Oh and the underground wine bar down near the camera shop atthe car ferry

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We have just returned from a beautiful 6 day stay at Hotel Du Lac in Bellagio. This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Our room was on the top floor with stunning views over Lake Como to the moutains. The staff were fantastic, particularly Graziano and Aurora, the facilities were excellent, however a pool would have been great in the heat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
725 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
867 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing