We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal attention cooking instruction and an insider view of a gourmet restaurant”

Private Cooking Lesson with chef Luigi Gandola
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking Lessons Private Cooking Lesson with chef Luigi Gandola.10.00 am: Meet chef Luigi in your hotel lobby in Bellagio or from Bellagio ferro station and transfer by private vehicle to his restaurant the “Salice Blu”.Enjoy a cup of coffee with Luigi before visiting his Herb Garden (with its 40 different aromatic herbs) behind the restaurant’s kitchens.The cooking lesson begins at 10.30 and you can assist Chef Luigi in making home made pasta, risotto and ravioli using fresh local products from the market. Enjoy these delicacies for lunch.Following lunch, Chef Luigi will give you a diploma as well as an English translation of the recepies.Apron With Himalaia sign And. Little present of italian foodTransfer back to your hotel at 2pm. ( time can change)
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Personal attention cooking instruction and an insider view of a gourmet restaurant”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It began when Chef Luigi personally addressed our inquiry, picked us up from the ferry and drove us to Il Salice Blu, the family restaurant started by his father and uncle. The class begins with a tour of the garden, includes lessons in stuffing zucchini flowers, pasta making, risotto, and a wonderful chocolate desert. The kitchen staff help along the way cumulating in a magnificent lunch with wine and the personal attention of Chef Luigi. Chef Luigi is well on the way to become an international success. Enjoy this while you can!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very entertaining group activity”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

8 of us had a private cooking class with Chef Luigi in the restaurant kitchen for my birthday. The class was a nice mixture of preparing things ourselves (different kinds of pasta, risotto, gnocchi) and watching Chef Luigi prepare (creams and custards for dessert). Chef Luigi was cheeky and very funny, keeping us all entertained and happy.

The restaurant is in a gorgeous location, and sitting out on the terrace eating our substantial lunch after the class was a real treat. Definitely a worthwhile activity, and a lot of fun for a group.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AustralianJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a terrific time at Salice Blu - the cooking lesson was great. There were only 3 of us so we were in the restaurant kitchen rather than in the cooking school room. Luigi kept us busy with pasta, gnocchi, apple tarts and risotto. My husband went to a class last year with our daughter, and said he'd happily go back again next year. It is priced at the high end but we enjoyed every bit of it. Lovely to eat the food afterwards - if cooking doesn't appeal I'd certainly recommend the restaurant!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“some cooking tips and a big bill”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Looking for something fun do to with our kids we took a private lunch lesson with CHef Luigi for 3 adults and the 3 teens.

Yes ,he has a small garden but over looks to what appears to be a junk yard , it was still interesting and fun. The so called pasta lavoratory / kitchen is in the basement, passing thru a type of night club. It is clean , his friendly kitchen staff are part of the show and the uniforms impecable.

The reason why the lesson is all about making and decorating pasta is he doesnt have a working kitchen were the lesson is conductued. The staff runs around some where else in the building to cook the fresh pasta. The sauces are not made by you and that is shame. The one dish he cooked in front of us was a risotto, done on the burner of a portable grill.

If you are not interested in making fresh pasta at home do not waist your time or money on this course. If you are it is a good usefull experience. He is good at it and very technical , you would learn a few tips. The pasta is excellent , very good , specially the gnocchi but he kills it on the presentation. Less is better!

The delicious rissotto with fresh zucchini flowers from his garden was served on a piece of baked pasta imitating a dish. Baked pasta is like eating card board, no good. Too fancy not even at Villa Este the plates are that ornate.

Once they brought the fancy plate of only carbohydrates we were left alone on the table. We had to pour our own wine. Service was not as fancy as the plates. There were delicious plates of fish passing by for the locals having lunch. Chef Luigi was not interest in us as much as he was on his regular customers having lunch. He added 35 euros extra to our bill for his cooking book and that was just the icing to the cake. We thanked him, paid and left ...never to come back or suggest anybody to go there for a cooking class.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank TATE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooking with Chef Luigi Gandola!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

From start to finish, it was a superb experience. As I was running late for my weekend class, considered normal in Italy, Chef Luigi was setting up his kitchen for another busy day at Salice Blu. When I arrived, a glass of refreshing prosecco, pasta dough, pots and pans were waiting for me. The dishes we prepared were colorful, delicious and had a great presentation.
Chef Luigi is a true expert in local cuisine and uses the freshest ingredients from his garden. For many years, he used to cook for celebs at Villa D'Este hotel, including the one and only, George Clooney. Highly recommend to experience cooking with the Master.
Happy cooking!

Helpful?
1 Thank Eden792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Private Cooking Lesson with chef Luigi Gandola also viewed

 

Been to Private Cooking Lesson with chef Luigi Gandola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing