We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad”
Review of La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pergola
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good and bad”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here 8 years ago and it was bliss. The 'daughter-in-law' was very brusque but the rest of the staff, the old lady etc were lovely. The setting is magnificent, and just sitting on the terrace under the vines in summer is heaven itself, and we had to drag ourselves out in the morning as it was so tempting to just sit there all day. It is a great pity that the grumpiness is still evident, some local people we befriended were horrified and embarrassed that the welcome wasn't always first class. We've been back since, not to stay, but for drinks/coffee and it has always been fine for that. Having said that our visits are memorable because of the general fabulousness of the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    50
    37
    20
    33
See reviews for
23
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We are sitting at the hotel's restaurant as I write this critique. After travelling through France for two weeks and three nights on Lake Maggiore we have had the most fantastic culinary experiences one could ask for. Then we arrived here!
The inititial welcome we received from the senior lady was acceptable but nothing exciting, but from there it got worse. I requested a room with a view but was abruptly reminded that my Internet booking was for a cheap room and if we wanted a room with a lake view we'd have to extra. This was only a request and I didn't need a lecture!
Our dinner experience was as bad as it gets! If you ever decide to stay here and put up with the rudeness, don't eat here - unless your happy with bad service and even worse food.

If you don't believe me take a closer look at the other negative reviews - like we should have.

DA & JA
Bendigo Aust

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Travel is what you make it and for our money this place is absolutely special. Rooms right on and overlooking the lake in a fantastic spot. Easy parking, quiet and easy to get to. The walk over to Bellagio is over the hill, winding up and down some paths, pretty and easy, and coming back feels like coming home. If you don't like beauty, good food, great views and somewhere special, hey don't go. But our advise is you will love it. We loved the family, Granny and everyone was nice, and no they don't speak a lot of English but really they have enough.... and when it comes to it, we're in Italy, learn some Italian and they will respond... and if they don't, don't take offense, smile, enjoy, be part of the family. The food is good, we loved the fish and tried local dishes, as you should. And drink it up, life doesn't get much better. Really, don't give the "terrible service", or "rude" comments too much room because in Italy it is all about family. For goodness sake introduce yourself, especially to Nona, share a cigarette, feed the ducks, stroke the cats, have a coffee, relax, unwind and spare a thought for the family.... treat them like family and they'll feed you like family.... what could be better.

Room Tip: Lake view or side lake view, but even at the back is fine if they have nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livornoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed here about 12 years ago and thought it was a great place- great location, views of lake, easy parking, reasonable cost, good food, convenient and yes the owners aren't the friendliest but who cares with all the other advantages. Staying there this time was much the same although the younger family members are now running the hotel. They are helpful when asked and it's quite humorous to read everyone's comments about their "unfriendly" manner. We did find a young girl (who I don't think was a family member) delightful to deal with and she very helpful and friendly.
I did find the hike over the hill to Bellagio a lot more difficult, age I suppose, but the hotel people rang us a taxi which was great and only 10 euro between 3 of us. Well worth it!!
Don't let the "unfriendly" comments put you off!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the lake are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The staff and management were the rudest people we have ever come across in the hospitality industry worldwide! Someone really needs to address the lack of service with this hotel. If this family who runs this hotel has some problems, they need to sort this out and start providing basic service to clients or else they will never receive good comments, repeat clients or recommendations. I just wished I had addressed our issues with the staff when we were there, but we thought maybe it was just us they didn't like or were having a bad week. But we were a group of friends across 3 rooms, and we all experienced the same bad attitudes, and now I read the 'other' reviews, I can see that we were not alone on this view at all. I just wished I had read the reviews properly before booking. The staff and management never smiled or talked to you as if YOU were a customer, in fact you were more likely to receive bad looks of disgust, they were always sullen and walked around the place as if you were not wanted and constantly in their way. Had it not been for the fact we were there for a wedding, we would have packed up and left early as the attitudes were disgusting. When you travel and pay money for accommodation, food and service, you expect to be treated with some decency, but their rudeness and abuptness was plain disgraceful. Pity, for the view was nice, and if they decided to get some help for their attitudes, it would be a lovely place to stay. It is also a steep walk over the hill from Bellagio, but there are plenty of good places in Bellagio, we know as many other guets stayed in Bellagio. Skip Pescallo and stay in Bellagio. Good luck to the next guests.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REVYCHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had walked over the hill from Bellagio on the hottest day of our stay at Bellagio. The tourist office told us that the walk was lovely, and strenuous! At the end we were parched and really could have done with a drink. A couple we met on the way told us of the lack of service or amenities at the only hotel in Pescallo. We checked ourselves and they were right, the owner or receptionist rudely advised he was not serving until after 7:30 in the evening (it was now 3:30 on a hot afternoon). No amount of imploring would change his mind and we went back to Bellagio still parched. From our experience and reading other reviews it is apparent they does not need the trade.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark195902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for just one night in July, in a huge room (no. 10) with a big balcony to the side, and a window overlooking the lake. The hotel has lots of charm, but guests are treated with a strange indifference. Still, Pescallo has a dreamlike quality that is unique to the Como lake, and buzzing Bellagio is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola

Property: La Pergola
Address: Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy
La Pergola Hotel Bellagio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing