We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Florence
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Du Lac(Bellagio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Centrale(Bellagio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellagio(Bellagio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pergola(Bellagio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
367
181
48
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
181
48
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comolakeside restaurantold world charmperfect locationbeautiful hotelwater pressurepeople watchingreception deska lake view roombreakfast roomour night stayour honeymoonlovely roomglass of winetop floorloved this hotelspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in room 310 and had the best view of Lake Como. The staff as wonderfully nice and even provided me with a "real" blowdryer versus the hotel furnished one. Each room is decorated uniquely. The hotel's restaurant is probably the best in Bellagio and the complimentary breakfast was so impressive that we didnt even need lunch. We're already planning our trip back!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room, it's worth the slight upcharge
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

It was difficult finding a triple room for our stay in Bellagio for 2 nights. The only hotel that I could find availability was the Hotel Florence and being that it got such high reviews and the photos looked so lovely, I decided to go ahead and reserve it.

Unfortunately, the room that I booked didn't have air-conditioning and that was made clear on my reservation. This I thought would have been a problem, but that was not the case. The nights were cool and with the french doors open we had a nice breeze. Our room number was 12 and this is the room to avoid. The room itself was pretty with some nice antique furnishings, however this room was situated on the side of the building. with no view at all. In the early morning you could hear the wait staff from breakfast making capucchino and rattling of dishes, pots and pans. Our room door had a knob that I wasn't sure was going to stay attached to thedoor.....not a very safe feeling.

Now for the best part . After we checked into our room we noticed that our bathroom didn't have a shower head, but rather a hand held shower head. When we left for dinner that night we decided to ask at the front desk what the story was with that.....did all the rooms have hand held shower heads? The young man working at the front desk told us that all the rooms in the hotel were like this. That the hotel was 200 years old and that it was part of the Italian culture. That we shouldn't expect to have here what we have at home. He also said that all hotels in Europe are like this. Funny thing is, this was the end of our 2 week stay in Italy and this was the only hotel we stayed at that had a hand held shower. And we have traveled in other parts of Europe and never encoutered this. On this trip we also visited Siena and we also stayed at a 200 year old hotel with a regular shower head. We read here on Tripadvisor another review where a guest complained about the same thing and we also saw as maids were cleaning rooms that other rooms had regular showers. We were only there for 2 nights so it wasn't a big deal. But the fact that an employee would lie to a guest and make us feel like we were some spoiled guests was upsetting. Sorry, but this should have been indicated on my booking reservation just like the no air conditioning was indicated. This young man made it sound like the Hotel Florence is preserved like it was 200 years ago. So then why offer internet access in the lobby and have a flat screen tv in the room and a blow dryer in the bathroom? Probably, to make your guests comfortable. So Hotel Florence, install normal shower heads so that your patrons don't have to sit in a bath tub holding a shower head over their heads like they are 3 years old. These were the instructions given to us by this young man at the front desk on how to use the hand held shower head. Afterall, the Hotel Florence is not a budget hotel with budget prices.

Now for the positives: The hotel is in a great location. Just a few hundred feet away from the ferry. Breakfast was very good and the waitress there was very kind and efficient. Their restaurant across the street right on Lake Como is lovely.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank mary1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Hotel Florence is fantastic. The staff are so very friendly and helpful.
We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. We booked a junior suite which was a large room (must of been over 20' sq) with a further smaller day room/extra bed and also the bathroom was as big as some hotel rooms! Ive stayed in. The view of the lake from our room was magical and I would strongly recommend a room with a view.The decor was freshly done. Not a mark or blemish anywhere. But this was also the same throughout the hotel.The breakfast room was lovely, with very happy staff.
The restaurant on the other size of the road by the lake was perfect. Again the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotels location on the other side of the road from the lake was perfect. The boat station was 1 minute walk which was ideal and noise wise nothing was a problem.
Bellagio is a beautiful town, with lots of gorgeous shops and cafes/restaurants.
The hotel arranged a car to pick us up from the airport which was a brilliant service. The last few miles are very windy though!
The 10% discount for cash settlement is a bargain as it includes retaurant bills as well. If you ever consider travellers cheques then dont! No where in Bellagio accepts them and they really are not worth the paper they are written on there!
My only concern with the hotel was that is no air con, but this wasnt an issue due to the big french doors we opened to let the fresh lake breeze in.
We will definately return to Bellagio and the Hotel Florence

Room Tip: Book a room with a view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dazzle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our room was very quaint and the view from our terrace was lovely. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. Would definitely recommend the Hotel Florence to friends and family!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEH555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The only downside to staying at Hotel Florence is the lack of airconditioning. It's very hot in the summer. However - it would be a perfecdt winter break hotel. The hotel is warm, cosy, full of charm - you can feel the history in the building. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was a bit small but adequate. Service in the hotel was great - helpful staff. Breakfast was very good. The emphasis seems to be on quality rather than quantity - the selection was limited but the standard of the food was extremely high. Delicious freshly baked croissants hot from the oven, fruit salad etc, and great coffee served in your own individual pot.

From what I saw Bellagio is the prettiest of the villages on Lake Como, and Hotel Florence is one of the nicest hotels. Bellagio is very expensive though so take plenty of money and don't expect good service or help outside of the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Florence to friends travelling to Lake Como.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dohadiverdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews