We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's old, it's lovely and it is SO Italy!”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's old, it's lovely and it is SO Italy!”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here again in May of this year, I think our 4th time, and although it gets older it just gets better. Younger members of the family seem to be around a lot now and they speak perfect English, and seem to know what you might like depending on where you are from. The hotel is located overlooking the lake, just a short walk to the ferries, parking is another issue but you can pull up and unload all your things and then park and walk back. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques, the bathrooms spacious and clean as a whistle. It is quiet, the bar is fun and although we have never eaten dinner there, it is popular. The breakfast included is typical of Italy and with a lot of choices, great staff and good American coffee! If you arrive late, turn right at the front door and walk up the hill until you come to a Pizza place on the corner to your left, can't remember the name of it but it was fabulous!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake! Some rooms have large shared balconies, but they go fast so book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    169
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
69
345
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

What a peaceful and beautiful view the Hotel Florence looks on. Our room was very large with a sitting area, separate small room with a second bed that we used for our luggage and a large bathroom. The family (owners) take personal care of you from the moment you arrive till your departure. The staff in the breakfast room and bar were very helpful and pleasant to talk with. We visited in late October and found this time of the year to be very relaxing in Bellagio. I highly recommend the Hotel Florence and the lovely rooms and service they offer.

Room Tip: A room on the from of the hotel with a view over lake Como are preferable. the lower rooms have terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Room 204 at the Florence Hotel, Air Conditioned, private Balcony one floor above lobby and street level opened onto the plaza overlooking sunset views of Lake Como and the Swiss Alps. Quiet at night, peaceful in the evenings and mornings.

Location perfect; steps away from the ferry, great restaurants within 2-3 city blocks. Suggest: Silvio , a nearby fish restaurant on the lake which provides a private car to / from city plaza.

Breakfast was great, good cappuccino, fruit and pastries every morning.

WiFi worked in room as it was located above the lobby.

No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 204. Room 204 at the Florence Hotel, Air Conditioned, private Balcony one floor above l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Florence during August 2011. The hotel's location almost immediately opposite the ferry terminal was extremely convenient for getting around Lake Como and for strolling up and down the stepped alleyways that comprise much of the town of Bellagio.

The hotel building itself was tastefully decorated and atmospheric, a very pleasant change from a more typical corporate-feeling chain hotel. A comfortable lounge area on the first floor is provided for quietly sitting or reading, and a simple but good breakfast is provided in the ground floor restaurant each morning for guests. The hotel's restaurant, with a lovely scenic lakeside dining area, is among the best along the Bellagio lakeshore, and we had a very tasty and enjoyable meal there on the last night of our stay.

While the shower in our room was of the hand-held type as mentioned by some other reviewers, this wasn't really a major inconvenience during our stay. Also, although it was fairly hot weather during our stay in Lake Como, with the window shutters closed the room was pleasantly cool during the day, meaning that air conditioning was unnecessary.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, providing informative suggestions of places to go in the town at night. The hotel owner, Timothy, is part of the family that has run the Hotel Florence for several generations, and was particularly welcoming. In fact, he gave us a number of complimentary drinks in the lively hotel bar one evening simply because we were guests. Timothy is widely-traveled and speaks a good number of languages including fluent English.

In summary, I would say that the Hotel Florence was one of the most enjoyable hotel stays I've had for a long time, and I would strongly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in the picturesque little town of Bellagio.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had two nights here, the area is beautiful and Bellagio has some great restaurants. Room was good with a view over a courtyard garden, number 12 little bit noisy from the kitchen below but we just kept the windows shut, no aircon but they do provide a fan. Left for an early flight so the hotel provided a breakfast the night before, which was welcome at 5 in the morning. They had good suggestions on what to see in the two days we were there.

Room Tip: View of lake if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We-love-travelling-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have written many reviews mostly all positive but I cannot do that for this hotel. Now let me preface this with saying it was clean and in a great location. For starters the staff from the bell hop to the chamber maid made you feel like they were doing you a favor. They were not rude but they were far from pleasant and helpful. Next the breakfast is the pits, I mean I have traveled all over the world and this is the worst. The rooms were nice but the bathrooms were pitifully small and the showers were never hot and if they were it went from scalding to ice cold. I would not recommend you stay at this hotel unless their is no other place to stay.

Room Tip: A shower that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mfg7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I really wanted to not say anything negative about this hotel at all, because I did truly love it. But to be absolutely honest there were a couple of small points, that did not ruin my holiday, that I knew about before and were fine really but just take it a degree away from being perfect.
Having read a review saying that room 12 was to be avoided, I was concerned when we were lead to room 12!! There was no air conditioning, which we were told about when we booked. There was a (very quiet) fan which we kept on at night, which was great, not as good as air con but made the room much more comfortable.
Another "issue" (?) with room 12 is that it is one of the rooms with a bath with a hand held shower over. I showered twice a day. I knelt in the bath, not really a problem.
The room is quite dim and I wondered about doing my make up, so I took a small mirror with me, which I found hung over the latch of the french doors perfectly, giving me enough light to do my make up. This worked really well until I dropped my mascara wand over the railings!! :-))
But they are the only possible negative points and they were not a problem for me. I would stay in room 12 again!! It is a beautiful room.
The hotel itself is just gorgeous, I think we picked the best hotel for position. So convenient for the ferry and the views are just spectacular whether just sitting outside having a prosecco or if you treat yourself in the fabulous restaurant. Book early so you can have a lakeside table. The greatest view I've ever had for dinner. (and 10% discount for cash)
The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Spotlessly clean and so charming.
It really was just a degree away from perfect.

Room Tip: Obviously lakeview and air con would be great, but I didn't have them and still loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing